We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Elephant Camp as the last stop on our safari. We had experienced some great lodges but this one was simply the highlight of our trip.

Rooms/tents are very spacious, each with their own bath, indoor and outdoor shower, small pool and terrace with a view on the National Park and the impressive sprays of the Victoria Falls. The Camp is only a few minutes drive away from the town and the Falls itself.

Staff was without exception friendly and helpful to make this an unforgettable stay. Food was delicious.

If we are to come back to Victoria Falls in the future we will be returning to the Elephant Camp.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan_R282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
191
376
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a trip to five African countries and having stayed at many hotels and lodges we have to report this tented camp outside Victoria Falls is the most beautifully run, kept and comfortable abode ever !! Not to mention stunning vistas - Basil and Petra certainly know their trade and we highly recommend several nights with them - sadly we only had one but still managed a memorable dinner ,breakfast and lunch all prepared by their wonderful chefs. Richard and Annabel - suffolk UK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsySuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This lodge is a great five star experience from its luxurious, spacious rooms with outside shower, bath with picture window facing over the land and its in room beverages and food.
The greeting in arrival is warm and genuinely friendly , the food is healthy and beautifully presented. Staff are always on 01924 378947 hand to offer help and refreshment without being intrusive. The cheetah experience is one in a million as especially walking with the cheetah , a must do for all guests. We had a travel problem that Gail and Hilda were especially helpful in resolving with us. All in all a fantastic lodge , with superb staff and an overall great experience. I would highly commend Elephant Lodge .

Room Tip: All the rooms are private and good so just go with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The Elephant Camp was absolutely amazing! Best place we have ever stayed and we would go back in a heart beat. We stayed there on our honeymoon and it was fabulous. Service was unbelievable, they would honestly go out of their way to do anything for you. Food was incredible! The location of the place meant you saw animals every day! And going for a walk with Sylvester the Cheetah is a must!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Of all the hotels and tented camps we stayed in during our one month trip in Africa, the Elephant Camp was by far the best and our favorite. When people from afar hear the term "tented camp" it conjures up images of when you were a child, roughing it and sleeping on the ground. Nothing could be farther from the truth at the Elephant camp. Not only are the accommodations first class but the food is fantastic with service to match.
If you have the opportunity to visit Zimbabwe, spoil yourself for a couple nights at the Elephant Camp. The accommodation coupled with the service will become memories you will never forget.
Also - take a walk with Sylvester the cheetah through the park. It was the highlight of my wife's whole Africa trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
314 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Elephant Camp is rightly placed at the top of not just VF accommodation but a world class location. It takes from the surrounding area the inspiration to merge, not implant itself in the landscape. The meals infuse the other senses to immerse you in the experience of Victoria Falls and all it has to offer. We particularly enjoyed the common area for wifi, relaxing drinks and good conversations that is a destination place for any traveler.

The helpful staff arrange your day to be filled with activity or devoid of distractions while you relax. Breakfast might be interrupted by a visit by the resident cheetah Sylvester. Make sure you go for a walk with him as it will be a highlight of any trip. Plenty of trips and tours can be arranged ahead of time or on location. Open up a little and the staff and other guests will reward you with their tales of adventure and a few good tips.

We have very well traveled kids and they enjoyed the Elephant Camp and the staff did their best to entertain which we all appreciated. No big hotel amenities like a lap pool, kids club or fitness center but that's not why you come here. When you step off the shuttle for the first time you are welcomed like you've been away too long, even if it's your first stay.

Stay at this place and you will be happy!

Room Tip: Ask for the plunge pool. Makes a difference in enjoying the landscape in the afternoons and evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Magical place with an amazing view of the Victoria Falls' Mist. You feel completely isolated from the world, while totally surrounded by nature in the most relaxing way. The tented camp rooms are just spectacular with amazing views of the savanna. The service and the food were impeccable. One of our most amazing experiences was doing the nature walk with the Cheetah "Sylvester", this is a must for anyone staying at this place. Overall just unforgettable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,177 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
362 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
418 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing