We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We opened our trip with a short stay at this place. Instant relaxation. There is a beautiful view of the mist/spray rising from the Falls and you can watch clouds being created and drifting away while relaxing on the deck with a drink of your choice. There are lots of comfortable chairs out on the deck so you can really relax and enjoy a drink and watch the scenery. We saw elephants on the afternoon of our arrival and they moved over to the water hole and enjoyed a dip. The deck overlooks a very nice pool; we did not have a chance to use it but it looked very inviting.

The rooms (tents) are very luxurious and are air conditioned. There is a large deck with table, chairs and lounge chairs with cushions. Bathrooms have an indoor and outdoor shower and a huge tub along the deck window. Shampoo, conditioner, gel, soap and body lotion are provided. There is bug spray for the room and for you. One side of the room contains comfortable sofa and chairs. There is a minibar and snacks are provided.

Meals were delicious but you were served a set dish so if you had some dislikes, you need to let them know. Dining was at a private table outside on the deck. All the food was delicious and plentiful. Transfers to town are available for free (2 trips per day so 1 round-trip). The staff is friendly and non-intrusive. We saw and met the resident cheetah but did not do any of the elephant activities. Everyone I heard who did go enjoyed it. I think children would really enjoy this place.

There are lots of things to do in Victoria Falls. If you stay here make sure you allocate some time to enjoy the facilities of the lodge, including the elephant and cheetah. Although there are places in town close to the Falls and town, I liked the quiet here, and town was just a short ride away. This was definitely a great start to our trip and worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wild Horizons is the best way to travel from start to end they were there to help us out with any details or questions we had for them. Elephant camp was amazing top notch staff and accommodations. One word of advice if you are not comfortable with the odd bug or small critter this is not the place for you, as the tents are a 5 star setting. We felt like being on Fantasy Island, upon every return from an outing someone was ready to great us at the camp.

Bravo to team Elephant

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rocky_ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, but from the minute we arrived we received top class service. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The views were stunning and I was lucky enough to spend time with Sylvester and his team....I cannot recommend this place highly enough...I am already planning to return next year...you will not be disappointed!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

From the very minute you are welcomed at the airport by the wonderful staff of Wild Horizons to the time you sadly depart from Elephant Camp, you feel you are part of warm team aboard a well run ship.
Its close proximity to the airport and the town of Vic Falls makes this the perfect destination if you are looking for a luxury tented camp in the bush. The attention to detail is second to none. your luxurious en suite tent has a stocked mini bar as well as the little things such as laundry powder and a pair of scissors to open those pesky coffee sachets. All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The surprise activity walking with Sylvester the cheetah was an absolute highlight of our whole entire holiday to Vic Falls. Well done 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfrikanBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We began our trip to South Africa with a side trip to Victoria Falls. It's just lovely. We were greeted by Hilda, Moses and Calvet as we stepped out of the van. The tented guest sites were some of the most beautiful rooms you can imagine. We could see the mist from Victoria Falls. The staff was amazing. Calvet took us to the falls and also to the gorge formed by the river that runs through the falls. We loved the outdoor showers, the gratis minibar and everything about the site. The service was impeccable and the food amazing.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Elephant camp had a new management team in place when we arrived and I think they had some adjustments to make. The accomodations are lovely, very nice for a tented camp and the food is great. Instead of a telephone, they use walkie- talkie and o e night ours went off beeping loudly non stop. I l could not shut it down. awake at 5:00 am not in my plan for vacation.
The best part to the experience is the visit from pet cheetah, Sylvester!!
We were there in March and the AC was helpful, but doubt if this small system could keep the tent cool in a hot summer season. Guides were great. Be sure to get a tent close to the main building; as they are VERY far away. Take spray for mosquitoes

Room Tip: Room 5 is close and has an outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very convenient, 15 mins away from airport or Victoria Falls park entrance. Can actually see the smoke / mist of Vic Falls from the lodge balcony.

The best was the walk (USD50 per head as donation) with Ed and Sylvester (the Cheetah) in the morning. Could enjoy being in the bush and go up to the cliff to over-look the amazing view. Ed was helpful to explain the nature and Sylvester's habit.

The camp itself is added contemporary, with glass door shower, bath tub, air conditioning... we got a chance to dip into to plunge pool as weather was quite warm during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,963 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,487 reviews
5.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
907 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £575 - £835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing