We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury tent”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Hongkong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury tent”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We started our Africa Safari trip from Elephant camp, spent 3 amazing nights at The Elephant Camp. Everything was perfect from the delicious food, luxurious tent, extremely attentive service and the location could not be beaten!
The Cheetah experience was extra. Being so close, and being able to touch Sylvester and walk with him was - an unbelievable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    70
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
207
397
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We started our Africa Safari trip from Elephant camp, spent 3 amazing nights at The Elephant Camp. Everything was perfect from the delicious food, luxurious tent, extremely attentive service and the location could not be beaten!
The Cheetah experience was extra. Being so close, and being able to touch Sylvester and walk with him was - an unbelievable.

Room Tip: Room close to main building, so no need walk so mch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jennyshHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went to Elephant camp for our honeymoon. Great location and the scenery was a amazing. The staff were top notch too.

The rooms were very nice, however there were several ants, but I suppose that is what you get for being in a tent. Additionally, the hot water for the shower didn't last longer than 5 minutes.

Our biggest complaint was the elephant interaction. I do believe they are probably doing a good job with the orphaned elephants, however it was such a spectacle with the tourists as they threw treats at the elephants after they rode them. Something I didn't really agree with. So if you are like us, and don't believe in animals in captivity or don't want to see elephants with saddles on them, I would skip going to the elephant interaction.

One of our favorite moments was going on a village tour with Moses who worked at Elephant Camp. He was very knowledgeable and took us to a village that didn't have any other tourists. It was really interesting to learn about Zimbabwe and the villages that surround it.

For a romantic getaway, it was pretty good too. However, there are a lot of children and families, so just keep that in mind that this isn't an adult only camp.

Our overall experience was amazing and we would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms were very nice, however there were several ants, but I suppose that is what you get for be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Almann79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our South African friends had organised our amazing trip through Namibia, Botswana and Zim. All our accommodation en route had been good , but they definitely saved the best till last..
What an amazing place and experience.
Meeting Sylvester , another amazing experience. Fabulous staff and service. This is our type of camping!! Pure luxury.

Room Tip: The tents all have good views , so you will not be disappointed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 724Paulinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I went to this location for our honeymoon and it was like a dream. The suite is amazing, you have your own pool and outside shower. No one can see you for miles. However it completely safe and protected. The food is extremely tasty and the staff are wonderful. We had another couple travel with us and they enjoy it more than we did. I absolutely recommend this spot for anyone who wants a taste of 5 star safari life!! #ItsReds

Room Tip: We paid a little more to be in room 5 and 6 because it was the closest to the Lobby. Worth every pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three friends and I traveled to Southern Africa for animal safaris. We concluded our stay at The Elephant Camp. We could not have been more satisfied! The staff, location, service and food could not have been better. What an end to a perfect trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeePee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte Nc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a jewel in the heart of Africa...first cabin all the way! Service was beyond anything i might have imagined. Left a shirt on my bed and two hours later it came back washed and folded. Food was excellent Great hosts, Basil and Petra!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,286 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
299 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
396 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing