We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the Elephant Camp at the end of a Botswana safari and it was a wonderful place to end our trip.
Basil and Petra were lovely hosts and the accommodation is wonderful. I loved the option of the outdoor shower, and the rooms were generally fantastic.
The food was lovely, you get a choice of main courses with dinner and the lunch with Bobotie Pie was lovely.
A highlight was the option of walking with Sylvester.
The camp is a short drive from down town Victoria falls so you need transport to get downtown. However, all tours pick up from the location.
I would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I was in Room 5 and it was close to the main facilities and quiet. The rooms only have 1 power poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    70
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
206
397
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've just had 2 nights in this amazing camp, you can not believe you are in a tent, by the furnishings you would think you were in a grand hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful from the time we arrived until we left.
The rooms are big and spacious and kept very clean.
They have a resident cheetah named Sylvester, that you can be eating breakfast and he is sitting on the deck with you.
The meals were tasty and presented beautifully.

Room Tip: We had room 4, and have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The place is stunning, the tents huge and very well equipped. From there you see the spray from the falls which are several km away. Guests should have in mind that there is not much to do in Vic Falls, except from the falls themselves so 1 night is probably enough. If you stay longer, you will have the choice a few very commercial activities that you all need to organize at an extra cost as nothing is included in the lodge rate but accommodation and meals (good quality and good service). Unfortunately, coordination of activities was far from flawless and attention to details did not seem to be a priority. While the place is very luxurious, I am not convinced the whole experience is worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good afternoon,

I am glad to hear that you found our little camp stunning, and our tents huge and very well appointed. I am also enthralled that you found our food and service good as I know you run a top notch establishment yourself.

It was brought to my attention that there were glitches with the coordination of your activities - you missed the complimentary elephant interaction on your second morning, as it overlapped with the complimentary cheetah interaction. This was a mistake on our behalf for which I apologize. Fortunately you managed to meet the elephants on your last morning.

Thank you for the feedback - we will definitely use it to improve our service delivery.

Kind regards,

Bazil Roth
General Manager
The Elephant Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fantastic place to stay - Sylvester the Cheetah is a highlight as is the Elephant Safari. Petra who runs the place provides a personal touch. The food is wonderful and diverse - we had Croc for dinner!

Room Tip: Use the outdoor shower in the room; it is a fabulous experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gnesinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 1 night as part of a 5 night package arranged by wild horizons. This was 5 star and we arrived late and left the next day so 1 night was not long enough. Food and accomodation and service was excellent. The early morning game walk with Sylvester the cheetah (young children and teenagers were just loving the experience with him at this place) was well worth it and the guides were fantastic, we got to see Sylvester chasing the warthogs and also got really close up to buffalo. This place is different than some of the other game parks as there are fences around the border and we did not have time to even see the elephants, But if you want a some luxury, mix this place in with some other game parks and it gives you a great mix. I would say a minimum of 2 nights to really make use of the pool and relaxation etc.

Room Tip: Wi fi available in the main resturant and lounge area, even though its not close to Victoria Falls t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules4houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plettenberg bay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived at Elephant Camp via three upmarket lodges in Botswana. This camp had the three others easily beat. Accommodation pretty luxurious [own lounge] but perhaps just a little over the top. Food [especially mezze platter at lunch] pretty good but rather limited for choice. Our 2 grandkids had a busy schedule including whitewater rafting, a booze cruise and a helicopter flight, but Basil [the main man] fitted everything perfectly.Staff very attentive and co-operative

Room Tip: all tents are well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank derek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

While beautiful, nothing about this Camp is authentic Africa. The animals are kept away via electric fence and the silence feels sad. The elephants are working trained elephants which only added to the sadness.

Sylvester the Cheetah, a legitimate rescue was a highlight and the food, accommodations and service were great but frankly a boring place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed meeting Sylvester the Cheetah Ambassador and that that you found the accommodation, food and service to your liking.

It does however concern me that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay. I think it is important to remember that The Elephant Camp is not a safari destination, but rather an upmarket camp that is ideally situated for guests who wish to be close to all the activities in Victoria falls, but still far enough out of town to enjoy the tranquil and natural surroundings. We see the very silence that you speak of as one of our attractions.

You are quite right in saying that the elephants at the sanctuary are trained; they are however not used to do any work with. In the past (and to a lesser extent in recent times) many elephant calves have lost their families due to culling and poaching. If they showed a good chance of survival they were brought to the sanctuary with the aim to integrate them into a new family, and ultimately to release them into the Victoria Falls National Park. One such family has already been released, and we discourage any human interaction with them to allow them to live a wild and natural life. The remaining elephants are still at the sanctuary and they only interact with humans for 2 – 3 hours a day. The rest of the day they are free to roam the National Park and to do what elephants do naturally. I agree that this can be a controversial topic, but we truly believe that the welfare of these elephants is of paramount importance.

In addition to interacting with the elephants and Sylvester we also sell a myriad of other activities including – sundowner cruises, helicopter flights, high wire activities, white water rafting, upper Zambezi canoeing, horse riding, tiger fishing, village tours etc.

We always strive to meet our guests’ expectations, and it pains me that we could not meet yours. It is an opportunity missed at making memories. Thank you again for your feedback – it is very important that we have this soundboard to continuously improve ourselves.

Kind regards,

Bazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
297 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,286 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
395 reviews
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing