We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot put into words..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cannot put into words..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I struggle to review this accommodation as I cannot possibly summarise just how wonderful it is.

Before we travelled, I was worried about the safety of the camp and Vic Falls in general. I needn't have been as guest safety is the Camp's top priority and so guests need not give it a second thought.

The staff must really love their jobs as it did not seem like they felt they were at work. They were all so happy and attentive. Basil was amazing, an excellent host with a great sense of humour. That man works 16 hour days (minimum) and he loves it. I cannot commend him enough. I did not see Petra much but I know she was working hard behind the scenes and was always welcoming when I did see her.

The other reviews have pretty much covered how amazing the accommodation is. We absolutely loved our tent (number 10) and it was incredible to wake up to the sound of the rush of water through the gorge.

Walking with Sylvester was the highlight of our trip and must not be missed.

If you are debating coming to The Elephant Camp because of the price then stop. It is worth every penny. So much is included in the price that you would have to pay extra for if you stayed else where. We are by no means rich but will be returning to The Elephant Camp, probably for 5 nights in the next couple of years (when we have saved enough money!) When we eventually moved on from the camp to our new location, we had a case of the blues because nothing could beat it.

This review does not do the Elephant Camp (or the hosts) justice, so go there and see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
191
380
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at The Elephant Camp for two nights. The camp is very beautiful and luxurious; the individual tents are large, beautifully furnished and all have individual plunge pools, soaker bathtubs and outdoor showers. This place is an oasis for those looking for an upscale experience close to Vic Falls.

For us this was the last of five camps (the other four were in Botswana) during a ten night safari. We appreciated that this is a different experience where the focus is not on wildlife viewing; instead, you are able to interact with the rescued elephants at the sanctuary next door and enjoy meeting their resident cheetah, Sylvester and of course, visit the falls where varied activities are offered (but not included).

The service was excellent; we can’t say enough of the personal attention we received. Moses took very good care of making sure we could schedule everything we wanted to do and drove us into town and back whenever we wanted to. Our daughter was given her own tent (which proved to be a bit too adventurous for her) and when management learned she had actually spent the first night on our couch they quickly arranged for a mattress to be brought over and set up in our tent for her.

The food was very good, there were plenty of delicious options for breakfast and the chef was very accommodating with a special request for dinner. The only thing we felt could be improved would be to offer a few more options for lunch.

The elephant back safari and the bushwalk with Sylvester were real highlights. Would highly recommend The Elephant Camp to those who have already seen lots of wildlife and are ready for an incredibly romantic, relaxing and luxurious treat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the Elephant Camp at the end of a Botswana safari and it was a wonderful place to end our trip.
Basil and Petra were lovely hosts and the accommodation is wonderful. I loved the option of the outdoor shower, and the rooms were generally fantastic.
The food was lovely, you get a choice of main courses with dinner and the lunch with Bobotie Pie was lovely.
A highlight was the option of walking with Sylvester.
The camp is a short drive from down town Victoria falls so you need transport to get downtown. However, all tours pick up from the location.
I would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I was in Room 5 and it was close to the main facilities and quiet. The rooms only have 1 power poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've just had 2 nights in this amazing camp, you can not believe you are in a tent, by the furnishings you would think you were in a grand hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful from the time we arrived until we left.
The rooms are big and spacious and kept very clean.
They have a resident cheetah named Sylvester, that you can be eating breakfast and he is sitting on the deck with you.
The meals were tasty and presented beautifully.

Room Tip: We had room 4, and have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The place is stunning, the tents huge and very well equipped. From there you see the spray from the falls which are several km away. Guests should have in mind that there is not much to do in Vic Falls, except from the falls themselves so 1 night is probably enough. If you stay longer, you will have the choice a few very commercial activities that you all need to organize at an extra cost as nothing is included in the lodge rate but accommodation and meals (good quality and good service). Unfortunately, coordination of activities was far from flawless and attention to details did not seem to be a priority. While the place is very luxurious, I am not convinced the whole experience is worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good afternoon,

I am glad to hear that you found our little camp stunning, and our tents huge and very well appointed. I am also enthralled that you found our food and service good as I know you run a top notch establishment yourself.

It was brought to my attention that there were glitches with the coordination of your activities - you missed the complimentary elephant interaction on your second morning, as it overlapped with the complimentary cheetah interaction. This was a mistake on our behalf for which I apologize. Fortunately you managed to meet the elephants on your last morning.

Thank you for the feedback - we will definitely use it to improve our service delivery.

Kind regards,

Bazil Roth
General Manager
The Elephant Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fantastic place to stay - Sylvester the Cheetah is a highlight as is the Elephant Safari. Petra who runs the place provides a personal touch. The food is wonderful and diverse - we had Croc for dinner!

Room Tip: Use the outdoor shower in the room; it is a fabulous experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gnesinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 1 night as part of a 5 night package arranged by wild horizons. This was 5 star and we arrived late and left the next day so 1 night was not long enough. Food and accomodation and service was excellent. The early morning game walk with Sylvester the cheetah (young children and teenagers were just loving the experience with him at this place) was well worth it and the guides were fantastic, we got to see Sylvester chasing the warthogs and also got really close up to buffalo. This place is different than some of the other game parks as there are fences around the border and we did not have time to even see the elephants, But if you want a some luxury, mix this place in with some other game parks and it gives you a great mix. I would say a minimum of 2 nights to really make use of the pool and relaxation etc.

Room Tip: Wi fi available in the main resturant and lounge area, even though its not close to Victoria Falls t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules4houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing