We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation in Victoria Falls”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorries Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best accommodation in Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My son, daughter and I were impressed with this lodge. Lorrie Amos and her staff were fantastic and professional. I must say the food is amazing and the atmosphere is homely. I would recommend this venue to all that visit the Victoria Falls. If you want to be in a friendly environment and enjoy the Falls this is most certainly the place to be. Well done Lorrie and thank you for your hospitality. A must...we will be back.
Geoff Tapson, Brisbane, Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 825Ge0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    27
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
30
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lorrie's Bnb made our trip. I stayed there for several weeks and could not have been happier. It really became my home away from home. The food is great, the staff is so kind and helpful, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable, and the bar is excellent. Lorrie, Clive, and George are some of the best people you'll meet-they became our family in Zim, and we will be back again just to stay there. Lorrie helped arrange weekend trips for us and told us all the great places to go in the Falls. We could not have found another place like it in the Falls, it is a truly special place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaconBianucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We really liked this place and felt very comfortable here. Lorrie is very friendly and welcoming, and goes out of her way to help – a wonderful host. She’s always there when you need her (but knows when to leave you in peace) and she is a mine of information about Vic Falls.

We really liked our room – we are a mother and daughter, and the room was set up so that we had our own separate sleeping spaces. Our room had two single beds and a double bed, a living area, bathroom and outdoor verandah. It was nicely decorated and perfectly comfortable. There is also a pool, but it was too cold to swim while we were there. The only downside was that our toilet took forever to fill up.

The breakfast is mostly do-it-yourself cereals and toast, with a simple cooked portion. We didn’t have dinner there – there are so many great options in town. The dining and bar areas could do with a revamp.

It was no problem that this place is out of town, as taxis are plentiful and only $3 to/from town.

Lorrie can book all of your activities for you, for the same price as if you ran around town booking them yourself. She is full of ideas and info. about what is good to do and what isn’t, which is very useful if you’re unsure of which ones of the many activities available you want to do.

If we ever go back to Vic Falls, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was the best value B&B in Vic Fall. After traveling by Pathfinder Coaches from Bulawayo over a 6 hour journey we arrived at 8.45 and Lorrie was kind enough to make us up some food which we were very thankful to have had after such a long trip. She was an Angel, bless her.
Next morning she arranged a cheap taxi to take us to the falls and the driver even understood my Welsh Accent.In fact he took us everywhere, to the falls, Vic Falls hotel, Big tree and the interesting Crocodile Farm.
Lorrie also organised for us to go on the Sunset cruise on the Zambezi river which she recommended, we saw the hippopotamus's in the water, had a lovely meal and sat and watched the sun go down. A lovely couple and George was such a character for a 82 year old, looked fit as a fiddle!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want a bath in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We began our Southern Africa adventure in Zimbabwe. Lorries B&B was our first stop where we stayed two nights and it was like staying with that family member you love who always makes room for you. Very comfortable and safe (gated).

Like the other reviews say, Lorrie, Clive and George are so real and welcoming...full of advice and patience if you can't make up your mind about what to do. Lorrie arranged several last minute adventures for us that turned out VERY well. They arranged for Paul (a taxi driver) to pick us up and take us various places. His prices seemed fair and he was prompt.

The bar/cafe is a great place to hang out and tell stories about the day's adventures. You will be way better off here than wandering in to town to find a drink.

Our adventures required us to get up very early so we never had the breakfasts.

The rooms are older and could use some maintenance, especially the bathrooms (however, construction endeavors are difficult in Zimbabwe). Everything worked and was clean and spacious with mosquito nets on the beds and fans overhead.

One note - WiFi only worked in the bar/lobby area.

Likes:
- The location
- The hosts
- The bar

Dislikes:
- Heat: Unfortunately it was very hot when we were there and no fan would have kept us cool. Not something our hosts could've controlled.

Bottom Line: For the price, location and hospitality I would stay at Lorrie's again. We couldn't have had a better start to our adventure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently stayed at lorries b&b for 3 nights although the facilities are a bit old they are comfortable and clean .Lorrie ,Clive and George are very friendly , and are very helpful in there local knowledge .The meals were very good home cooked style, and the bar was well stocked .Lorrie is able to arrange local tours , and transport ,and has good hints on the local taxi service. As lorries is about 2km for town ,it is a nice walk in the morning ,but after all day walking around the falls and town ,you may need a taxi ride back to Lorries in the evening.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for 2 couples or a family it is separated from the main building so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neville w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place! Lorrie did up a fantastic itinerary for us that made sure we got the experience we wanted in the time we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the banter from George you won't find at a hotel! Lorrie, Clive and George all became good friends - such is the experience at lorries. Stay for dinner and request the crocodile tail! town is a short taxi and places to eat like Boma a short walk. Lorries comes highly recommended, we have brought home unforgettable memories. Be sure to bring a spare hat to hang on the bar wall!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
503 reviews
1.1 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,141 reviews
1.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorries Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorries Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lorries Bed and Breakfast
Address: 397 Reynard Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorries B&B is a small family run bed and breakfast offering personalised service and advice. Set in a quiet tropical garden within walking distance of all that Victoria Falls has to offer ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing