We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights as part of an overlanding group. As such I can't comment on the costs of accommodation as I dont know. We were camping but there were rooms available. We did hear that the rooms were bad for mosquitos though. The site is very well positioned. It's not particularly quiet but then where is in Victoria Falls? There is a good bar and pool area and the prices here were reasonable. You are also very close to the shops and bars outside the complex too. We were only there a couple of days and in that time I didn't have a hot shower. Other people did though and it's a good tip to 'shop around' the different shower blocks before committing. There was a good supply of power for the everso important task of recharging various batteries. The reality is you don't come here for the facilities, you come for the proximity to the falls. It's fine for both.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John554455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We value your feedback and will definitely use it to improve our facilities. We are happy to hear that you found our bar good, prices reasonable and our location convenient. Unfortunately most trucks arrive over the weekend and almost all clients camp in one area so our ablutions get overwhelmed. We will do our best to ensure clients are advised on the available options when they check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

quite by chance we had clients with us who were flying out of the Victoria Falls and we could not find accommodation in any of the hotels so booked into the Victoria Falls Rest Camp . we were so surprised to find that our chalet was spotlessly clean with its own bathroom/ shower and kitchen. Comfortable beds and towels provided. Great fun was had by the entertaining little vervet monkeys. there is a wonderful restaurant called "Indabelly " with a marvellous large swimming pool and babies pool Inside the rest camp. food was excellent and wifi available which made everything perfect. he staff went out,of their way to make sure all was perfect. the added advantage is that the rest camp is in the middle of the Victoria Falls and one can walk most everywhere leaving your car safely parked. the price is unbelievable and real value.

Room Tip: there are fans in your bedrooms which is an added bonus as it is hot and humid there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you had a restful stay. We hope you will be able to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of a long road trip through three countries and it was great. The grounds and facilities are great and Oscar the boss is fab. It's a bit old and tired but well worth it. The attached restaurant is excellent and the site is very secure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was great and will continue doing our best to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay in Victoria Falls. It is through your feedback that we can be able to continously improve our facilities, thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent one night here in August and upgraded to a 2-room lodge after 3 weeks camping. The room was exceptionally basic with toilet and shower facilities provided in shared blocks. It did at least give us a good night's sleep and meant we weren't pestered by monkeys. The site has the advantage of being very secure. We liked the restaurant: portions were small but food was good quality and service was prompt. I recommend the wartho schnitzel which was very tender!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property, we appreciate and value your feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well well at our In-Da-Belly restaurant. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We camped here for one night. Around 5 pm the place is full of small monkeys who are after your food. They climb up the trees with tupperware from the guests! Camping is a large open space and large safari groups also camp here, so it can get very noisy. Ablution blocks are clean but old. Location is perfect close to the Falls.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are especially happy that you found our ablutions clean. We are unfortunately located in the middle of a Game park, as such it is difficult to keep the small animals away even though we have an electrified fence right round our property. We will do our best to ensure our guests are well informed about the monkeys so they can keep foodstuffs locked away when they leave their camping sites. Thank you once again for you valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

On arrival at approximately 11.30am, we had to wait reception for some time (the young ladies at the front desk seemed disinterested or distracted) before being attended to only to be told that we couldn't check in until 2.00pm. There was no room for compromise which was a little disappointing. Had lunch at the onsite restaurant while we waited. For the price, the portions were small but the food was fine and the service was good. Checked back in at 2.00pm and we were directed to our accommodation which was clean and well maintained. Unpacked and headed for the shower only to find that there was no soap and very little toilet paper. I had to ask one of the laundry staff to organise supply of said items which arrived over an hour later.
Had our evening meal at the restaurant and again, the portions were small but the food and service was good. Our stay included B&B so we were looking forward to breakfast next morning. A full cooked breakfast was most welcome but to be charged for an extra cup of coffee? Disappointing to say the least. We decided to again give the restaurant a try for dinner. Same problem with the portion sizes but the clincher came when our waiter brought the main course to the table before we had finished our starters. Fortunately I was able to report this to the lady Manageress who assured me she would speak to the staff member.
Lots of 'average' experiences during our stay, hence the rating. I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having first visited Vic Falls back in 1975, it is good to see that VF Rest Camp cottages have been well maintained over all these years. I was travelling with 3 friends, and we had a lot to do in 4 days, so we just wanted a place to sleep, shower and snack. The cottages are very good value for money, clean, super hot water, and well positioned smack in the middle of VF. It was good to have the Wi-Fi and I have no complaints about the "In da Belly Restaurant" situated within the Camp. If you don't need the comforts of a hotel, and would rather use your money on VF activities, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russianiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
507 reviews
2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Address: Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing