We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, great value multiple accomodation options” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Central location, great value multiple accomodation options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rest camp is in a central location in Victoria Falls, just outside the gate you are in the main street, the town itself is a magnet for tourists and hawkers. The rest camp is a short walk from the falls. The food at the ‘inda belly’ bar/restaurant was excellent and great value, alcoholic drinks are ridiculously cheap. The wifi is sketchy, with the best reception at the bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly, always cheerful and smiling. The rest camp facilities were adequate and clean, with hot water in the showers around the clock. The permanent tents and cabins are basic, clean and comfortable. We had an amazing helicopter flight over the Falls and sunset cruise on the Zambesi.

Room Tip: permanent tents offer great value, cabins with aircon are available - if wanted just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparky268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In_Da_Belly2014, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thanks for taking time to review our accommodation. We value your feedback and will do our best to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    105
    66
    22
    12
See reviews for
40
51
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eshowe, Zululand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We camped here one night in March. There was no water but no fault of the camp, the whole of Vic Falls was without. The camp accommodated us with stored reservoir water available for use in one ablution block. Lovely poolside restaurant. Good food, good value, polite and friendly staff. Security is good with palisade fencing and patrolling guard. Camp site was clean, well shaded areas. Braai area, powerpoint, tap. The camp site was quiet when we were there but I can imagine gets noisy and busy with overlanders. We stayed after a week through the Okavango Delta so the restaurant was welcomed. Easy access to the falls and in town so walking distance to shops etc for those without their own transport. I did not see the chalets so cannot comment on those. All in all I would recommend it as a great place to stay while passing through to put your feet up by the poolside and relax with a cold beer and "Mosi oa tunya" visible as a back drop to the pool - the towering mist of Vic Falls. Don't expect luxury, but expect helpful staff to do what they can with the limited resources they have available to them after the major depression in Zim.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In_Da_Belly2014, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our accommodation. We value your feedback and we are especially pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose the Rest Camp for its reasonable price and central location, as we knew from experience that little time is spent in a hotel in Victoria Falls and a lot of time outdoors.We also wanted to save our $ for the myriad of activities on offer at the Falls and the lovely dinners at the superb and colonial Victoria Falls Hotel and the wonderful The Boma restaurant at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. We booked a 2-bedroom house which was basic but clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. The staff at the reception and tour desk were very helpful and friendly and we feel that we got value for money. A quick 5 minute walk takes you into town and to the well-stocked OK supermarket with 15 minutes to the entry to the Falls. Perfect! For trips further out, there are a number of reliable taxis available with the general fare seemingly pegged at $5. If you are just looking for a place to sleep that is basic but clean, this is a good option

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mill07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In_Da_Belly2014, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you found our prices reasonable, our location convenient, our rooms clean and comfortable, our staff helpful and friendly. We value your feedback and will do our best to ensure our guests get value for their money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
588 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

For camping, this is a great location and there was a security fence. The InDaBelly Restaurant and Bar were poolside. Friendly bartender, lots of cheeky monkeys and warthog families wandering about. Hot showers and decent enough bathrooms. But best of all, could walk everywhere and Victoria Falls is what we are here to see. Reception area was able to arrange a Zambezi River Sunset Cruise too. I had been "bush" camping and tenting at campgrounds in Botswana and so I upgraded for 2 nights here in a tent with beds and electricity and it didn't cost much extra, so all in all, I found it quite good to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In_Da_Belly2014, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property, we are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and secure. We value your feedback and will do our best to ensure our guest have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was on an overland trip and my guide told me this was a great place to stay. We had an option to camp or stay in rooms. I choose to book a room. The room looked like prison cells, were filthy and not even work $1 a night. There was rotten food everywhere and the whole room was sticky and stinky. It was raining the staff were not supportive and we had no choice but to sleep in our soaking wet tents. I would never stay here again or recommend this to anyone. The location is great but the service and rooms are horrible. The restaurant at the site has limited options and is pricey. The portions are also very small. The only good thing is that the site is waking distance to local restaurants and the falls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kulsum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In_Da_Belly2014, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We have a variety of options available in the campsite ranging from hostel/ dormitory type to more private self-catering type accommodation. We expect guests booked in dormitory type accommodation to be considerate to other users and keep the shared rooms clean as we do not have a 24 hour cleaning service. It is very unfortunate that you were booked in together with some people who were not considerate enough to throw away their left over food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria Falls hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
882 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Sprawling campsite, great pool, restaurant and bar, lots of different accommodation options. Permanent tents and luxury tents available. The lodges have two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and a dining area. They're very basic, pretty much just a concrete structure. Comfy enough but we were expecting something a little nicer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed in the luxury tent, I think there may only be one on the entire site. The tent looked out over the Victoria Falls National Park, infact as the rest camp boarders the park, the actual fence was only about 12 feet from my front door, I could see the mist from the falls in the distance. This meant there were plenty of monkeys about, apparently its even been known for elephants to pass by.
Tent was clean, not exactly luxury but had an en-suite bathroom. I was happy with the price I paid as I was on a budget and hotels in the area can be very expensive. Its around 3 mins to walk to downtown, probably 15-20 mins to walk to the main entrance of the Vic Falls National Park.
There are laundry services, a pool and a good restaurant on site. Just outside the entrance is the Wild Horizons booking office, but there is also a small activities booking office in the reception area with lots of info about excursions and activities. Its also one of the better known places in Vic Falls so you will have no trouble getting picked up for your trips.
I booked through the rest camp over the phone a few weeks before I went and they were able to find my a shuttle from the airport to the camp. A taxi from the airport to the camp would cost $30, however the hotel can help you arrange a shared shuttle minivan for less.

Room Tip: If you want a tent I would recommend the luxury tent as its en-suite. Book early as I think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
2.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Property: Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Address: No 411 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing