We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food, great view, super ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, super ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Enjoyed two lunches here - the food was quite good and particularly enjoyed the iced coffee with a scoop of ice cream! Roast beef sandwich one day and hamburger the next - with very tasty. Service was rather nonchalant and less friendly than in other places - not in keeping with the rest of the hotel staff who went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful.
The mist from the Falls rises in the distance and the atmosphere is extremely restful and no one rushes you away from the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeGee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    153
    52
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa beach, florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“High tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

While in Victoria Falls, my daughter and I had high tea on Stanley's Terrace. What a treat visiting the Victoria Falls Hotel, with its beautiful view. The tea, scones, and sandwiches were wonderful, and we had a special treat when a backpacker from Switzerland joined us for our high tea. Great food, great view, and a new friend, all for $30. This is a definite must-do, especially if you are not staying at the hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orchidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Come for the view - but the food is good too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

No complaints here. Even if the food were miserable - which it certainly was not - the view is incomparable. A great place to spend an afternoon. It was quite chilly, however - so dress for the season.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

You can see the mist from the Falls from the Terrace which makes it worthwhile to eat there. Food is good but I felt overpriced. Service was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“High Tea on the Terrace once more !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We make regular visits to Vic Falls each year and love to stay at our various favorite hotels. This visit we stayed at the Vic Falls Safari Lodge and visited our most favorite hotel for High Tea. It's beautiful, regal and oh, still just so wonderful. We were slightly disappointed in that the silver and fine china has now given way to sugar in paper sachets (last visit was classy cubes with the sugar tongs and all silverware) and other 'not so authentic' items. Please don't get me wrong, I love this place and the atmosphere. It's incredible to gaze down the Batoka gorge and enjoy tea and scones while the warthogs graze on the lawns and baboons play ! I just don't want this Grand Lady to lose her sparkle ... Competition is tough with the Royal Livingstone trying to dethrone you! Let's get you back into number one spot !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing