We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
165 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The service was not good. It took forever to get it. The main course was just ok I had what was suppose to be white chocolate ice cream It tasted like coffee ice cream which I do not like so for $8 I did not eat it. It was also cold out on the terrace in the evening when we ate For the money we paid I would not recommend it
























Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ECURBLEBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    159
    53
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Livingstone... I Presume? Creative Cocktails at the Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

No visit to Victoria Falls is complete without a visit to Victoria Falls Hotel and drinks on the lovely terrace. Stanley's Terrace has a beautiful viewer the Victoria Falls Bridge and Mosi au Tunya. The view is stunning and the cocktails are delicious, creative and strong. The walk to the hotel from the Main Street is short and there are multiple baboons and other wild creatures along the way, many people were enjoying High Tea but we opted for delicious cocktails called Livingstone and Stanley in honor of the English explorer who discovered the falls and the American reporter who was commissioned to find him once he was lost to the African bush. The prices are appropriate and the atmosphere is exquisite. Spend some time here in the afternoon and enjoy the views. The hotel itself is very large with a colonial feel. We enjoyed our afternoon cocktails, but were glad we chose Ilala Lodge for our overnight accommodation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Come for views not food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The views of the falls and bridge are beautiful from the terrace. The sandwiches were nice but the cakes were dry. Basic coffee is included and a small selection of tea. The food (even the coffee) was very slow to come, but the server was friendly and attentive otherwise. We had to pay extra to receive water.

Helpful?
Thank Drpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Terrace that face the Victoria Falls Brdige”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Stanley's Terrace had a location facing he Victoria Falls Bridge. There were many tourists at the Stanley's Terrace eating lunch or having high tea. We could not make it for the high tea and lunch as we had tours everyday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seng Hing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Victoria Falls Hotel is a magnificent, world class hotel. Lunch, tea or cocktails on Stanley's Terrace are not to be missed. Take a deep breath and imagine it's 100 years earlier, enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing