We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gerties Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gerties Lodge”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent two nights in Vic Falls at Gerties. What a pleasant surprise. The rooms were clean and airy. The linen was crisp and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Gardens are well maintained. Value for money, I would strongly recommend to anybody travelling to Vic Falls. Certainly better than overpriced alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

we enjoyed the space of the lodge as we have two boys who stayed downstairs (we were upstairs) and who could swim in the pool that was just outside the room. breakfast was good and the staff are helpful. only downside is the need to take a taxi in to town for the childrens dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

More than adequate accommodation with helpful pleasant staff. It's a short journey from the town centre but within easy walking distance. Taxi services were easy to use and the drivers all know where to find Gerties. We stayed 5 days - good value for money relative to other over priced accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinCapeT0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Gerties Lodge is a great little place to stay very tranquil and relaxing. The gardens that immediately surround the lodge are beautiful. This is the perfect place to stay in Victoria Falls if you don't like the large busy touristy type lodges. Lilian and her staff were very welcoming and friendly. Lilian took time to help my and friends and I with our activities in Victoria Falls. The evening meals served to us were superb much better tasting than Mama Africa and Boma. The chef is an excellent cook.
I would fully recommend staying at Gerties Lodge if you are planning to go to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan_Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This lodge is more like staying at a guesthouse than a hotel. It has very nice garden that is surrounded by the guest rooms. The rooms in the front are a little nicer than the ones in the back. Rooms are basic, but comfortable. Rooms also include a very nice breakfast, served in the open air dining area at the front of the lodge. The lodge is located in a quiet residential area of town, and expect about a 25-30min walk into town, 30-40 min walk to the falls and about 1 hour walk to the Zambian side of the falls. The staff are friendly (in the evening we talked and watched TV together) and were very helpful with tips and information about visiting the falls. They also have on site laundry service. No internet. TV only available in common area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Expected a little less dated experiance.... The family room did not live up to my expectations, the matresses on the bed were terrible; leaving me with an excrutiating 'bad back' for 3 week and the lowered ceilings and dated soft furnishing left us feeling claustrophobic. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and provided us with a good breakfast and cheerful smiles.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mormad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

15-18 April 2011 -
Lillian has this place running smoothly. We had a 2-level 6-bed thatched rondaval with a small lounge for the two of us. Bedrooms were large but basic with a double and 2 singles in one and 2 singles in another. The bathroom and shower were average. Very rustic surrounds with a swimming pool. Our first night we saw a herd of Elephant at 3AM walking down the road - Lillian said this is unusual. Brighton is an excellent cook and the staff were wonderful. Our driver James (afrolove@yoafrica[dot]com) was wonderful and very helpful. Slow dial Up Internet access available although not tried. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_duncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pamusha Lodge
Pamusha Lodge
#7 of 36 in Victoria Falls
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lokuthula Lodges
Lokuthula Lodges
#3 of 36 in Victoria Falls
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls

Property: Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls
Address: 597 Nguhwuma Cresent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing