We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent service and great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I went there in February 2014 and received a warm welcome. The room was fairly clean with aircon. Swimming pool clean and there are facilities like foreign exchange, pharmacy, hairsalons, free shuttle to the water falls, Golf estate, tennis court etc. Great views of Zambezi river and the waterfalls. Needs some minor renovations. Perfect location with wildlife animals, monkeys will greet you in your room, must ensure that balcony door is closed if not monitored.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Golf wing has lovely view of waterfalls, you will see the smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florencema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Florencema

We appreciate your review of our resort. We do take pleasure in ensuring that our public facilities like the swimming pool are always presented to the guest in the best possible condition.

While the hotel has both regular and scheduled maintenance, we have strategic plans for major renovations which should commence soon.

We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you and your friends next time.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    224
    81
    22
    5
See reviews for
103
137
31
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

To whom it may Concern,

My Daughter and I have come for the first time to Victoria Falls and stayed in this fabulous Hotel. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and pleasantly surprised by this luxurious Hotel.
On our arrival there was n attentive and warm welcome, received a briefing and went to well appointed Rooms.On the first evening we celebrated the 70th Birthday of Bill, which was made a great experience, helped by the local entertaiment provided.Breakfast Buffet is up to International Standard and can't be faulted. Food and Beverage Outlets are of an excellent Standard as is the whole of the Hotel.
As mentioned other highlights are , Helicopter Flight over the falls, Elephant Ride, and other adventureous Activities.
Our Stay was without Fault and my thanks to the friendly and efficient Employees of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Golf Course Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armin_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Armin Lang

On behalf of the Elephant Hills Resort family, I would like to extend my sincere appreciation of the excellent review especially from a senior reviewer like yourself; as this will contribute a lot to our team for us to achieve more.

It was our pleasure to help you celebrate a momentous occasion such as the one you shared with us, as we always "dare to wow" our guests through such events. Our Food and beverage team is now even more fired up to continue meeting the International Standards you have indeed set for us through this review.

It will be a delight to host you again next time.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We were 4 couples going for the first time to Vic Falls. It was Jameson Carnival. The hotel is enormous, rustic and tells history. The staff is very very friendly. The resort is in a National Park, so, there's a lot of animals around, from monkeys to elephants. The helicopter drive to the falls...the walk in the falls ...its overwhelming...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor member

Thank you for your observations and all the positive comments about our hotel. We value these comments as they assist us in improving our operations.

The resort is indeed set within The Victoria Falls National Park and we do have wild animals that do pass through and frequent the various ponds and water sources around the expansive grounds. It is safe for our guests to enjoy the game viewing from their room balconies at a distance and closer within the 18-hole championship golf course.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Elephant Hills Resort in future.


Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel to get a true taste of Africa.

You get the best views, very nice and peaceful place. Staff also very friendly and more then happy to help. Perfect location too, it's not in the town centre but nothing more than a 5min drive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelEditor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Travel Editor999

We are delighted to hear about your positive experience when you stayed with us at the Elephant Hills Resort.

We appreciate your comments as these will go a long way in assisting those that would like to travel to the Victoria Falls.

We look forward to seeing you in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The location of Elephant Hills is amazing. Just outside Victoria Falls and overlooking the Zambezi, the spray from Victoria Falls is easily seen. The staff go out of their way to ensure that their guests are happy. The air con in our room wasn't working and within an hour another room had been made available. The food in the restaurant is good quality although the service is a little slow at times. Rooms are clean with coffee and tea making facilities and new bottled water every day. A shuttle bus is available for guests every hour throughout the day to the town and back. Guest services, reception and restaurant staff go out of their way to help. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jeanslo

We take delight in the good review of your experiences at the Elephant Hills Resort. A service centre system is in place to ensure that indeed all guest requests are dealt with satisfactorily in the shortest possible time.Thank you for your recommendations.

We take note of the slow service in our Restaurant and would like to assure you that corrective action has already been instituted to enable our services to meet our guests’ expectations.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

Kind regards

Trything Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you need a clean and safe place to stay in Victoria falls then this place ticks that box.

The breakfast is good but the lunch and dinner meals were bad. So we ended up eating out for all meals except breakfast.

The pool was clean and the pool attendants very friendly.

The not so good.
1/ the staff are friendly but not very helpful. Ask for something and 8 out of 10 times the staff would go off and you simply never see of hear from them again!
2/ the building is showing signs of wear and tear, rusty pipes, cracks in the walls, bathroom fittings that are half falling off etc. Not the end of the world but a little shabby for the price they are charging.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Charles K.

Thank you very much for the wonderful and constructive comments about our resort. We have made a note of the unacceptable quality of our lunch and dinner meals. We have since changed most of our menus to give both variety and quality which we are sure have corrected our shortcomings.

We have no excuse to make on the unhelpfulness of our staff , save to say training programs have been put in place to deal with these and other issues of pertinent nature.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I am sure this will go a long way in correcting some of the negatives as you rightly pointed out.

Once again thank you for your constructive contribution. We look ahead to hosting you again.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Arrived on 26th Dec for a 3 night stay at the resort. Was met with very friendly and helpful staff and led to our room. The room was spacious enough with a great view over the gardens of the lodge overlooking the pool.

The prices of drinks (at the bar) and room service items is rather steep ($4 for a cider) but other than that everything was great at the hotel. the staff managed to organise a river cruise for us as well as dinner at the Makuwa-Kuwa restaurant at The Victoria Falls Safari lodge for our last night in the town.

The complimentary WiFi was a welcome bonus (1 gig / device). The food at the buffet restaurant was a bit hit and miss. Some dishes such as the buffalo stew were really amazing but others not so much.

Overall a great stay and a wonderful experience at the Falls

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyashaM490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear NyashaM490

On behalf of management and staff of the Elephant hills resort, we would like to thank you for your review after your stay with us.

We take note of your comment with regards to beverage pricing. We would like to assure you that the relevant operations person has been tasked to address this specific area for us to make an informed decision. Furthermore, we are working to ensure consistency in food provision and presentation of our dishes at the buffet for the convenience of our guests.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#11 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing