We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intrepid travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intrepid travel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Awesome, fantastic, luxurious.
Close to all amenities, shopping, game drives, Victoria falls, town centre and shopping.
Good food, good layout, a real African experience.
Here you feel quite the explorer of old, as if the town and surrounds have stood still in time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Zambezi river and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrestravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Andrestravelclub

On behalf of the Elephant Hills Resort management and staff, I would like to thank you for the review of your stay with us.

It is exciting to note that you appreciated the food and the African experience we offer to our guests.

Look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    245
    90
    23
    6
See reviews for
120
153
34
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had an excellent time here. We wanted a central location to the falls, Hwange & Chobi national parks and the Elephant Hills was perfect. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with fabulous panoramic views. Some of the decor is a little dark but it was no problem to us. Our room was fine - the standard dark cane but it was clean and comfortable we were fine. It is a spacious airy place and I loved the pool and the views from it. We had early starts were out all day but it was great to have a swim on our return and have dinner. The food was absolutely fine as were the cocktails - no complaints. We had a stroll through the golf course early evening escorted by mongoose! Beautiful grounds - so relaxing and peaceful. One night we had to run as a huge Boar appeared and ran at us - it got very close - we didn't wander too far after that! We took the helicopter trip over the falls and it was amazing as you of course fly over all the Elephants and Rhino - fantastic. The tours were expensive but worth every penny. We enjoyed our stay here and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Regulartraveller01

Thank you for the review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel facilities from the rooms to the golf course, the food and beverage as well as the people during your stay.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Something was missing in this beautiful venue and the best was to describe it was that it had no soul.
The people were very kind and accomdating and one could not fault them on their willigness to assist.
The views from the hotel bar were breath taking but the interior lacked comfort, lacked warmth.
The pool area appeared deserted and cushions were made available hours after I sat there.

The hotel needs some TLC and perhaps the countries history and its existing president is to blame

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alegna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Alegna 63

Thank you for the review of your stay with us.

The Elephant Hills Resort is currently going through a refurbishment exercise that is set to achieve the modern look expected by international hotel standards and yet maintaining the true African charm and warmth we possess as a people.

We are more than willing to make any such relevant improvements regarding our product and services as a hospitality establishment, and as such will respond to comments or requests within these confines.

Look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was thoroughly impressed by the Elephant Hills. From its majestic entrance hall, the water fountain that reminds you of the proximity to the Victoria Falls. The staff are highly professional and efficient, every one of them served with a smile and was knowledgeable. I was particularly charmed by the room for it provided a scenic view of the rest of the hotel, including the poolside. The room furniture was simple, classy yet functional, providing the feel that you are at a classy establishment with a blend of nature. I was impressed by the high standard of cleanliness. Meal times were worth looking forward too - fresh and tasty meals time and again, with a lot of variety to choose from - breakfast remained the firm favorite. The location of the hotel is rather convenient - not too far off from modern amenities and at the same time, close enough for one to talk the walk for a scenic view and a might shower from the falls. I certainly plan to return, even though the internet access in my room was painfully slow, I plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jhanney

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are delighted to note that your needs were met and that you found our level of service to your satisfaction.
It is with renewed assurance that we are now able to offer better connectivity and faster access of the internet to our guests.

The Elephant Hills Resort team is more than happy to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzini, Swaziland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I brought my two girls with me on a business trip at the Elephant Hills Victoria Falls Zimbabwe. The resort was impressive - a very good hotel by any standards. the fact that it is inside a game park just makes it special - a herd of buffallows here, warthogs there, and monkeys everywhere! Me and the girls enjoyed it immensely.

Service here is very good, the lady taking care of our room was very efficient, clean and polite at all times. Room service was excellent with a variety of dishes prepared to perfection. We had it about two times and the breakfast was typical large variety English.

We stayed on the 6th floor, in a room with views of the Falls, golf course and the swimming pool. You really can't ask for any thing better by way of views! The monkeys however can be a nuisance as they sneak into the room and help themselves to sugar. This means you have to keep the sliding door closed all the time - which leaves you with a detention feeling. I was also pu off by the wifi. It would be fair to say that there is no wifi connectivity here, it's so slow and sporadic it's virtually impossible to do anything on it. I loved the gym, nice and clean with modern equipment.Elephant Hills is my place next time I am in Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the 6th floor room with views of the falls and the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabelo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Sabelo D

On behalf of the management and staff of the Elephant Hills Resort, I would like to express gratitude for the review of your stay with us.
Sometimes it really becomes a challenge with the monkeys going into guest rooms, it is important to note we are located within a national game park and this will happen more often; however there is need for co-existence. We will try and make our guest aware of the need to ensure doors are closed when they leave their rooms and are alert when seating enjoying out on the balcony.
We have also upgraded our WIFI for easy access to ensure consistent and fast connectivity for our guests. We are happy that we have tested and can confirm this has improved the connectivity since the upgrade.
Once again thank you for your comments with regards to service, staff efficiency and the food variety that you found to be excellent.
Look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is the case where the hotel name actually matches the size of the huge complex.

As other TA travellers have reported, the hotel comes across as dated and it lacks charm. The bar and restaurant area offer amazing views and the pool looked nice (I didn't go myself).

I would not have booked Elephant Hills for myself, but I stayed here one night as part of a Nomad trip.

The bed was comfortable but despite being clean and ironed, the sheet had three wholes in it. Towels were fresh. The shower started running after a guy from maintenance showed me that you have to put the water to the max before you can swop from water running from the tap to the shower.

The breakfast is continental, they prepare eggs as you like them and staff was very helpful and friendly.

They run a free shuttle to different places in town every hour till 5 PM.

Wifi was very good and worked well both in my room and in the communal areas.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Aurora Polaris

Thank you for the review you posted. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused as a result of the sheets that had holes in them; this does not in any way reflect the way we operate as an organization.
We have taken the necessary corrective measures to ensure this does not happen to any of our guests in future.
We have embarked on a refurbishment program that will see us sprucing up the image of our product and do hope that when you visit us next time we would have been able to complete this exercise. We would like to thank you for staying with us and do hope to host you in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I applaud the design together with the construction of the infrastructure of this resort and it's blending into the natural surroundings. The major challenge is the maintenance and keeping up with the times, this is evidenced by the negligence of the walkways/corridors which are built from a special black stone which need to be constantly polished but but to the contrary, this is not so as the floors look faded and gives a look of dirtiness. The rooms are furnished with old style wicker furniture and the elevators looked neglected with post cleaning wipe streak marks on the stainless steel. The food selection both buffet and a la carte is very limited in comparison to other hotels such as the Kingdom though the staff is is friendly and attentive. The resort has a good golf course where you can encounter various small wild animals. My advice is that that management should move away from "business as usual" as this resort is too good to go to waste.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodDoc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Good Doc911

Thank you for the review of your stay with us.
We would like to thank you most sincerely for your feedback. lt is through this feedback that we are able to ensure our product and service remains relevant to our valued guests.
It is our aim and goal as management that we will strive to make all our guests happy hence the desire to ensure service levels are maintained at all times.
Once again thank you and we do look forward to hosting you again in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
851 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
347 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing