We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Lido Beach, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel would probably classify as 2-3 star in the real world. The rooms were adequate as was the general upkeep and cleanliness. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of an African safari. It was well located in Victoria Falls and walkable to town. The hotel did have an uneven shuttle service. The taxis are really inexpensive, so that is another option for those who did not wish to walk. The staff was attentive and helpful. The food was not so good. The nearby shopping was a lot of fun. And of course Victoria Falls, wow.The Victoria Falls hotel which we visited for high tea was nearby and amazing. And if you are interested, the Rainbow had a nice pool and area which nobody used.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear pandg27

Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are looking into the issue of improving the food. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    211
    153
    37
    15
See reviews for
98
173
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

it's easy to walk to the shops from the Rainbow Hotel. the food at breakfast was fine with a good selection. food from the restaurant at lunch or dinner was fair. the room was comfortable with an ok bed, not a great bed though. the hotel seems a bit run down - the bathrooms could use some updating. some people we were with had issues with their toilet, shower, in room safe, etc. we didn't have any of these issues in our room, however. i enjoyed the 'traditional' design with the mosquito net even though we didn't need it in winter.

biggest complaint was the internet service. it didn't work in the rooms at all and was very inconsistent even in the main lobby. it could take 30 minutes or more to get on line sitting right across from the reception desk. very frustrating!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Johnelrog

Thankyou for taking your time to give us your valued feedback. We are looking into the issues that you have raised to ensure that we conform. We look forward to your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was a little unsure about having to pay the full amount at the time of booking but was happy to find all was well on arrival. The staff were fantastic in making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. They took time to give us information about the town and suggestions for how to make the most of our stay. The free bus transport to the falls was an asset, anything to avoid the throng of very persistent hawkers around the town. The restaurant was in a very pleasant setting and the staff were very attentive without being intrusive. All up a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Rainbow Hotel at Victoria Falls mid June 2013, and overall really enjoyed my stay. Staff are attentive and friendly and the hotel and surrounds are beautifully kept. I found everything very clean and the gardens are a delight. My room was comfortable and pleasant and everything worked in the bathroom. There is a problem with the dining room/restaurant though, and it was silly things which annoyed me, like running out of hot plates at the breakfast service, and being requested to 3 times before bringing more. Breakfast was also later than advertised each day which inconvenienced me due to having to be away by 7.00am each morning. I feel that there should be a MaitreD, or Manager to keep things running smoothly as the Chef was not helpful in the least when I approached him. The waiters seemed harassed and busy and could benefit from some direction. However, I will stay there again, and recommend it to people. I would describe it as mid-range, comfortable and clean, and eating out of the hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Refurbished wing top floor. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
A refreshing day to you London Lady. Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I have taken note of the issues that you have raised concerning the restaurant and will ensure that action is taken to improve service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return were you can be assured of an amazing experience!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in the Rainbow Hotel for two nights in May 2013. It is not a good hotel. The main problem is the terrible service. They seem to be totally understaffed.

The room was okay, but they did not bring us the water they promised us, and they did not clean the room until the mid-afternoon. The water from the shower covers the nearby sink and floor, because the shower curtains aren't really shower curtains--they are made of material, and the shower water goes right through them.

Our friend who was also staying there called about a problem with her safe, and they sent someone to the wrong room to fix it.

The wi-fi only works in the lobby area and pool area, not in the rooms.

It is very loud in the dining room when other people are there, and it is almost impossible to talk to your neighbor at the table.

Breakfast is very good, but the other meals are not. The service is extremely slow. One has to wait a long time for a limited number of menus, and then wait much longer for the ordered food to arrive. They need more waitstaff and more help in the kitchen.

I would certainly chose a different hotel in Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Ronald M. Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We have taken note of all the highlighted areas and are working on all the issues to ensure an improved guest experience. We sincerely apologise for such an experience and will ensure you better moments on your next return.

Thank you once again for your feedback as this will definitely assist us in improving ur service delivery.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria Falls hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We arrived in Zimbabwe and given the expensive tourist visa rate ($100 for Canadians, with no multiple entries) we opted to stayed in Victoria Falls for one night so that we could see the Falls from the Zimbabwe side before crossing over to Zambia. This hotel was better priced than most in Vic Falls and we were able to easily walk to the falls. The staff was very nice and tried very hard, but the place was slightly frayed, perhaps reflecting the recent economic challenges faced by Zimbabwe. Our room was fine, but the safe was not attached to anything. We were able to take our valuables to the front desk and they placed our items in the hotel safe.

Tip: It is worth seeing the falls from both the Zimbabwe and Zambia side – each provides a very different experience. When we visited at the end of May, the wonderful rainbows could be seen from the Zim side in the morning and the Zam side in the mid-late afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundthenextcorner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rainbow Hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Zimbabwean side. The hotel has started working on soft furnishings refurbs to give it a fresher look. I am pleased to hear that you experienced the wonderful rainbows views both in the mornings and mid afternoon, how refreshing!

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had a full week in Victoria Falls, ans split between the Safri Lodge (separate review) and the Rainbow Hotel.

This property has a good location within easy walking distance to the center of town. The room was clean, good sized, well maintained and comfortable. The towels were of the 'large and soft' type that should please most travellers, and the housekeeping did a good job in the rooms.

The included breakfast buffet was sufficient, including an egg station, and a couple dinners |I ate there were good enough, although a little slow in coming-- on the other hand there isn't a lot going on in the evening so a slow dinner sin't the worst thing that can happen.

Overall visit was very good, and I would think of using it again if I ever return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Greg, We are truly humbled that you selected our hotel and enjoyed the comfort of the hotel. Thank you for your enthusiastic review and we are delighted and certainly look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Property: Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing