We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but tired and worn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good location but tired and worn.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location on the edge of the town of Victoria Falls and walking distance to the center of town and to the falls as well. It is a large hotel but it is tired and worn and badly in need of a face lift. The staff however are friendly and helpful but even their uniforms were worn and stained. The rooms are very large with individual a/c units, ours was very loud and hard to sleep with. Basic furnishings but again worn and tired looking. Nice hot shower despite the aged looking bathroom. The food was not great but we thoroughly enjoyed the male singing a'cappella group that entertained us at dinner. This is a good choice is you are looking to save some money and be walking distance to the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Cararmme

Thank you for taking your time to give us your most valued feedback. We take note of the issues you have highlighted which we are looking into.

We look forward to hosting you again, in an improved product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    221
    155
    41
    15
See reviews for
103
179
59
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

From the minute we walked in we were greeted by friendly faces, and and ice cold welcome drink. Most welcome on a hot day.
Patience , the general manager was the first to greet us at the door, and made us feel at home right away. Service was impeccable, and the room tidy, clean and pleasantly decorated. Besides it being very hot , we had a fantastic time. Within walking distance from town and the entrance to the Falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrestravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
A refreshing day to you

We are happy that your stay with us was fantastic. We always aim at extending 'Fresh smiles" to all our guests always.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It is in a decent location, and the staff are wonderful to deal with. It's very clean and nicely decorated. As many have mentioned here, the food is not great ( I wouldn't do the dinner buffet again...) However it's very secure, air conditioned rooms and quiet. It's a quiet hotel, but thats not a bad thing for us! We're a couple in our mid 20's that wanted a little relaxation after 4 days of the game reserve and it was great for what we needed.They were more than accomodating anything we asked for. I felt very safe and comfortable for our two days here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Brittany J

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. on your stay with us. We take note of the need to improve our food especially buffet which we have already started working on.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is in walking distance of the entrance to Victoria Falls Park and the downtown. The room was spacious and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. The food could be improved. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
A refreshing day to you

We appreciate your feedback and take note of issues of improvements. We are happy that your stay with us was comfortable.

We look forward to hosting you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Rainbow hotel, with a group, two nights. The rooms are nice, the staff was helpful in every way. No hair dryer available, no problem.

Breakfast buffet was very nice with ample choices. However, lunch and dinner were mediocre. Perhaps the chef should attend a culinary school. Not all foreigners would consider a bun with a dry beef patty a meal. Not all Americans eat "junk food."

The location of the Rainbow hotel is very good. It has nice surroundings and offers a swimming pool and a comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
A refreshing day to you Ingrid70

Thankyou for taking time to give feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that we are revamping our menu choice to avoid the 'junk' food and also looking into the issue of providing adequate hair driers for all rooms.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were trapped in this "hotel" for two days because it was part of a package on our African safari run by Overseas Adventure Travel. Being world travelers (up to four international trips per year) we have stayed in some run down joints but this one takes the cake. There was NO water in the bathroom between 4:00 AM and & 7:00 AM. The bed's were hard as rock and the sheets were so worn that they were piling. No air conditioning. You could see through the "towels" in the bath. Meals were served lukewarm to cold. Staff was in attentive at best. Had to chase down a waitress twice for coffee at breakfast

Room Tip: Do not stay here so you would not need a room tip. Avoid this place like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear ernrich

We sincerely thank you for your feedback which we have taken positively. It is unfortunate that we never learnt of your horrific experience with us during your stay which we could have intervened on while you were still staying with us as we are here to ensure that every guests' stay with us is as comfortable as possible and we deliver refreshing as well as amazing experiences.

I think the issue of unavailability of water to your room between the mentioned times was peculiar only to your room as we did not experience such from other guests who stayed with us then and we assure you that our maintenance team works on a program of checking each and every room to ensure that such does not happen.We also take note of other issues you have raised which we have actioned on.

We look forward to hosting you in future and assure you of an improved product as well as service delivery. Should you have further feedback kindly email to gm@rainbowvfa.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria Falls hotels

Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 8 people at the end of an African safari. The location was great, an easy walk to the center of town and the rooms were very nice. The food was only fair, the breakfast was fine but other meals were quite mediocre. There was a nice pool and even though it was winter we did use it

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank psmilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
A refreshing day to you
We appreciate your feedback. We are looking into the issue of improving the quality of food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
578 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Property: Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing