We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a good experience at the Rainbow Lodge. Our rooms were very clean and the staff was quite friendly. We walked into town along the road during the day. At night I would take a cab since there can be elephants out and the road is pitch black. Kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielM1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
A refreshing day to you DanielM1515

I hope you and your family travelled well back home. Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback and we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    227
    157
    41
    16
See reviews for
104
185
59
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LANGLEY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Rainbow Hotel in Vic Falls was just perfect. The facilities, service and food were superb. Free WiFi very much appreciated. The Rainbow cost half as much as the more famous Victoria Falls Hotel but I can't imagine that any hotel could be better than the Rainbow. Most of all, I enjoyed the sincere welcome by the hotel staff and their obvious desire to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. They succeeded!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
A refreshing day to you John A Graham

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As previously mentioned on other reviews, the hotel is a budget hotel (2 stars) at best however it is clean and full of old colonial charm. The a/c in our room was obviously out of freon however Issac in maintenance gave it his best effort. We had a few routine hiccups including loss of reservation upon check-in although we had paid in advance. We had arranged for transfers to/from the airport that never showed. The hotel key card continually got deactivated; the refrigerator was as useless as the a/c. The converters that you bring never work with the old outdated outlets in the room and neither does the one they provide; that is if you are lucky enough to get one. The flies around the breakfast buffet is extremely off putting but no one seems to think it a health hazard.

As I mentioned the best thing about the hotel is the staff; if not for Patience, Letsi, Issac, Hillary and the other bellmen, porters, etc., I would have quickly moved to another hotel. The only rotten apple in this bunch is the day supervisor Mathilda. She needs to go! Upon our arrival, our reservation couldnt be located in their system despite our other friend's reservation (made at the very same time as ours) being found immediately. No worries; I patiently waited as ghe s oured their system and even showed them our prepaid confirmation. I also mentioned how I had requested a room refrigerator in order to keep medicine properly chilled. I got the crazy blank look of confusion but still a smile so I tried not to worry. However after 30 minutes of scrambling back and forth to the back office to whisper to the manager (Mathilda) and profusely apologizing, our room is finally ready however we are told the room doesnt have a refrigerator. Only after I become irate and begin demanding my monies back so I can go to another hotel then the front desk goes and gets tired and bored-looking Mathilda. Without compassion for our trials and tribulations due to their incompetence and poor computer services she tries to once again say that they dont provide refrigerators. When I tell her this was previously requested and that no email or return decline of our request and I can show her all of the prior correspondences then she reluctantly authorizes the refrigerator. However she gets the last laugh as I may as well have left it where it was as it was also useless and probably out of freon as it was so hot.

All in all this would not be a place I would knowingly choose to stay should I ever revisit Vic Falls again however I would gladly recommend their staff; everyone except Mathilda! She could really use some customer service training; she should take several lessons from Patience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
A refreshing day Patricia S,

I hope you and your mum travelled well back home. Thank you for your most valuable feedback which always helps us to improve our service delivery in the hotel. I have taken note of all the highlighted areas of which some are already work under progress. We will ensure that such will not be the experience at Rainbow Victoria Falls Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future to a refreshing hotel and amazing experiences.

Kind regards
Patience Musonza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and great staff... I don't know why but me and my partner was blessed to be given the honeymoon suit. I was so shocked. It was amazing room with a living/dining room attached. Staff always on hand to help even though they couldn't understand my Yorkshire accent...would go back in a heartbeat
Thanks for a lovely 4 days :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank devinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
A refreshing day to you Devinya.
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we so much look forward to hosting you again on your return.

Kind regards
Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Typical African old colonial style that lacks proper maintenance. Awful beds and bedding, willing staff, very average food. Hopeless bar. Nice pool.
Once was great.
Handy to town centre.
Very poor air conditioning.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
A refreshing day to you TonyandDiane,
Thank you for the valuable feedback on issues that need our attention, some of which is work in progress. We assure you that next time you come and stay with us the hotel will have greatly improved. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards
Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria Falls hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Poor beds and bedding. Inadequate air conditioning. Food average. Very old colonial hotel that is past its prime. Nice pool, poor bar. Handy to town.
Pleasant staff. There are some other lovely places to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
A refreshing day DianeinOz,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We have taken note of all the issues you have highlighted and will ensure an improved product upon your return.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future

Kind regards
Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The whole of Victoria Falls was going through a bit of a spruce up when we visited in August 2013 in time for the United Nations World Tourism Organisation General Assembly, The Rainbow Hotel included. There was painting and cleaning all round and re-tiling taking place on the upper floor outside our room during our stay but it didn't particularly inconvenience us, just meant the staff had to keep mopping up dusty footprints around the hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable though the air-conditioning unit could have done with replacing as it was really old, falling apart and the thermostat didn't seem to work. On our last morning the hot water in the room was not functioning and while it was supposed to have been looked at, it was still not working by the time we had to check out. I hate cold showers!
Beware the foyer tiles that are very shiny and slippery. We had a few slips when coming down from upstairs despite approaching them with caution!
No internet in the room but there was a computer available upstairs for us to use which was appreciated.
The meals were fine and a good breakfast each day always gets you off to sightseeing in a good mood. The buffet breakfast catered well for meat eaters and vegetarians. Most of Zimbabwe seems to have trouble catering for vegetarian main meals so don't expect anything too exciting if that's your fare.
The reception desk provided secure storage of our valuables and looked after our bags after check out until we left the hotel. All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
Its a good location, close enough to walk to the shops and the Falls. There are higher rated hotels at Victoria Falls but you will pay the price tag. I wouldn't have a problem staying at the Rainbow Victoria Falls Hotel again in future.

Room Tip: The foyer can be very noisy when groups are checking in. I'd try to get a room away from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funferall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
A refreshing day to you

We appreciate your most valued feedback. Thankyou so much for giving us your feedback on your stay and highlighting issues that need our attention, some of which work is in progress. We assure you that next time you come and stay with us the hotel will have improved a lot.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
851 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Property: Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing