We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointing hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in on the 24th of December. The rooms were very neat and check in was swift. We soon noticed that their air condition was not working and the room was very hot esp since they are small. Safe boxes didnt have battery so we had ti carry our cash all the times.
Dinner was the most dissapointing. We had to wait for about an hour for rice which had rub out. The meat ran out and they didnt replenish so we had to eat tge little that was left of buffet and this was only at 730pm(cant say we were late for dinner). And the hotel was not fully booked so I wonder what happens when more people come. The waiters looked overwhelmed as they would at times overlook simple things like cuttlery
I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone and hope I will not go there again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
A refreshing day to you Sandra S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to give us valuable feedback, which always help us to improve our service delivery in the hotel. Thank you again for highlighting your dinner experience which we are currently working on.

We hope you will choose the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel the next time you are in Victoria Falls.

Regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    220
    155
    39
    15
See reviews for
102
179
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Drove up to Vic Falls from Bulawayo. Nine police road blocks in 300 miles. Zimbabwe must be either the safest country in the world or the most dangerous country in the world.

While we were checking in there was a commotion at the pool and general running around which I took to be a baboon having run off with some ladies purse. It turned out there was somebody motionless at the bottom of the pool. In fairness to the staff, not one of which could swim, they did a terrific job of fishing him out and restarting him but what it meant was that the pool was closed for the remainder of our visit.

I chose the Rainbow Hotel for old times sake. We'd stayed here about 20 years ago and it wasn't a high end option then (and certainly isn't now, with all the hotels that have opened since) but it is well located within walking distance of the town centre and the falls. I'm not sure if we got the same bedroom but we might have got the same bed. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are old and tired. No knobs on the AC unit but we had two rooms so we borrowed one from the kids.

The evening buffets were extra (we didn't book a half board rate) but they were good and inexpensive with lots of game meat options. My new favourite is kudu having waxed lyrical for years about warthog.

The onsite excursion booking lady was helpful and we plumped (not me) for elephant riding and white water rafting with Shearwater.

I last did the white water rafting 24 years ago. It was fantastic but the walk out at the end was a killer even then and, at the time, I was walking up and down hills through jungle every day for a living. 24 years on, half way up, I'd have paid somebody to shoot me.

The kids loved it though.

But then they didn't go swimming. Twice.

There is a PC with internet for free use by the guests.

The staff were universally helpful particularly the felicitously named 'Blessed'.

The hotel is kept scrupulously clean but the rooms could definitely benefit from a refurb.

The cost of entrance to the Falls will make your teeth bleed. 30USD. Each. But since it is the sole/main purpose of visit they do have you over a barrel. It is well set up an maintained though and the on-site 'Rainforest Cafe' is a lovely spot to relax and eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
A refreshing day to you jgm2

Thank you for your most valuable feedback which always helps us to improve our service delivery in the hotel. We have taken note of all the highlighted areas of which some are already work under progress. We will ensure that such will not be experienced at The Rainbow Hotel.

Regards

Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlee, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We came to Africa to go on a 3 week camping safari. Imagine our surprise when our first 2 nights before the safari were spent at the Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls. What a wonderful introduction to the friendly service in Africa. The rooms were clean, the staff helpful and the food excellent. I would recommend them to anyone that is planning a stay at Victoria Falls

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toomanybaddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
A refreshing day to you Toomanybaddogs


Thank you for giving us valuable feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we so much look forward to hosting you again on your return.

Kind regards

Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team More
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls was the last stop in a trip that took in South Africa and then Namibia and Botswana with Intrepid as their recommended hotel. The service through all areas was exceptional. The welcome warm, the front desk staff very helpful, the dining room staff very efficient, the pool clean, even the baboons were entertaining. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious and the buffet breakfasts excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rainbow Hotel and Victoria Falls, felt safe at all times, and it was just an easy walk down the road to the main part of town. We have recommended the hotel to our travel agent for passing on the clients.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sa2vicfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Arefreshing day to you Sa2vicfalls


Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to give us feedback. We are so glad that you had a lovely stay and an amaizing experience.

Hope to see you soon

Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

After a month of travel from Cape Town, through Namibia and Botswana, staying in very mixed accommodation, it was wonderful to stay at this hotel which provided a spacious clean room, air conditioning, a good sized bathroom and fluffy towels. We had a buffet evening meal here but arrived slightly late to the dining room and various dishes were empty. We thought the buffet was over-priced and not good value for money, but we understand from other members of our adventure group who had had the previous night's meal - not a buffet, that this had been much better value and offered a better choice from the menu. The breakfasts were excellent with a good variety of choice - hot or cold food. Staff were helpful and polite. The hotel was located close to the small town and Victoria Falls was within walking distance. This was a very suitable hotel for the end of a tough trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
A refreshing day to you LeicsHelen

Hope you travelled well back home after a long vacation. Thank you for giving us feedback, we are always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. Thanks again, and we hope you will choose Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel the next time you are in Victoria Falls.

Regards

Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The reception received was warm and welcoming, and the staff are outstanding! The room was spacious, with DSTV and excellent facilities.
Meals were well prepared and presented and absolutely delicious.
I would highly recommend this hotel for travellers to Victoria Falls who want value for money and excellent rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Arefreshing day to you Florence Ann C

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to give us feedback. We are so glad that you had a lovely stay and an amaizing experience.

Hope to see you soon

The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This is very not the fanciest hotel in vic falls by a long way but it is much much cheaper than most of those places. For only $75 per night for a double room for two this was great value. It is very clean, has friendly staff, beautiful pool, AC and lovely breakfast. The dinner was not so good however I would recommend visiting the actual vic falls hotel for dinner as that was fantastic as well as quite cheap in dollars. Tourism Services Zimbabwe is based in the hotel lobby & can arrange any activity you want to do also. Obviously excellent location too but need a taxi to get to the falls but only costs $5. Overall very good value decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
A refreshing day to you SXR101, We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and thank you for highlighting your dinner experience which we are currently working on.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Property: Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing