We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay but breakfast expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from town centre but don't expect footpaths. There is a shuttle available but we didn't bother using it.

Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the garden. Have to keep the door closed when not there to keep out the baboons. The hotel is right on the edge of town so wildlife is around the grounds.

The swimming pool is lovely and the service at the bar pool is very good.

Every evening the staff knocked on the door and asked if we were happy with everything which is a nice touch. We also had a call when we first arrived to make we were comfortable and whether we had found any issues. The remote control wasn't working and we ended up with 3 staff arrive to make sure it was fixed. (It did make us smile!)

Our experience at dinner was less than ideal - although we had a really nice table to see the night time entertainment, the waiter needs training. 40 min wait for our meal - they did apologise for this. The maitre de' was very quick to make things right.

The breakfast was very expensive. We ate across the road at Inda Belly for most meals after our initial experiences. This cafe and bar is very friendly and has a great view of the Vic Falls spray. It is located in the camping ground - don't let that put you off it is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We didn't get any noise from neighbours - so not sure whether we had any...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Close to Victoria Falls. Friendly staff. Beds were very hard. Breakfast cost $25.00 US per person. Friends stayed at the Cresta Hotel and breakfast was included. Will not stay at Rainbow Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff our amazing. The food was excellent. I would recommend it. The beds are hard. But the location was perfect. Victoria falls is a five min walk. A site to see. Ask for Ben the manager he is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyboy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

A refreshing day to you Tonyboy1986

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope too see you soon. Be assured that we will congratulate our amazing staff including Ben our Front of the House Manager who were of great help during your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel.


Regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Came here with tour group at end of Botswana trip. Had arranged to stay on for a few days extra, and so glad we did. Room was pleasant and comfortable, and spotless, with housekeeping staff doing an early evening round to ensure you still had enough tea, coffee, toilet roll etc.
All staff were delightful, and could not have been more helpful.
Excellent breakfast. Ate at hotel twice in evening, but lacking in atmosphere, and food ok. Easy walking distance to other restaurants eg InDaBelly and Mama Africa.
Pool area clean and comfortable, attentive bar staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

A refreshing day to you Scott099

We appreciate your valuable feedback and your time you have taken in reviewing our hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel and we so much look forward to hosting you again on your return to Victoria Falls


Regards



The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights after my capetown vicfalls overland. The second night i had to pay, they wanted to charge me 170 dollars i managed to get it down to 120 which was very nice of them but it is overpriced. Good breakfast, expensive laundry which btw they couldnt handle cause the machine was broken

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. This hotel has your standard hotel amenities . The room was comfortable and the bathroom was complete with tub. Safe was included.AC a bit noisy. There were power plugs to charge your cameras. Breakfast was good. There was internet. Pool area with bar was very nice.
It is a 5 min walk to the middle of Victoria Falls town, 15 min to the falls walking or for $5 you can take a cab. I can recommend this hotel if you are staying at Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinotico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

A refreshing day to you Vinotico 1

Thank you for your valued feedback we so much appreciate. We are so delighted that you liked all the amenities around the hotel including the one and only Swim and Sip Pool Bar in Victoria Falls. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and improve wherever possible.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.


Regards


The Rainbow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Rainbow last week for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is extremely well situated in Victoria Falls and we were able to walk to town, the rain forest and the Victoria Falls Hotel. If we did not want to walk there was a shuttle every hour.
We found the food and drink to be very reasonable (compared to other places in Victoria Falls) although pricey when converted back to ZAR!
We met wonderful people in the hotel - Too many to mention all by name, we saw Ben the manager on a daily basis, Kerry in the Swim and Sip bar was wonderful company and a real gem, Louisa in the restaurant was great and so helpful, Dube in reception all deserve special mention!
iain c says it perfectly - a 3 star hotel with 5 star service!
If we visit the area again, it will be our hotel of choice. Thanks to all there

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and although the air conditioners are old they are not overly loud.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

A refreshing day to you Jenni P

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent service, location and fresh food offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel.

Regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
363 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £62 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing