We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first experience on Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful first experience on Safari”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful venue, very friendly staff, great views, nice food selection in casual and dining area.
Went with Group of 12 people - only comment is if you have difficulty walking up and down stairs this could be a little difficult. As you enter the Reception it is wonderful to be met by a colourful concierge, great customer service, then you walk down wooden steps to landing to walk down more steps to your lovely rooms - the ensuite is as you enter, but down more steps to the beds.
Back to Reception area to walk up more steps to more formal dining/breakfast area. Great views from windowless eating areas straight to the bushland and watering hole for wild animals which is excellent to view mainly near dusk. The water pipe leaked from our ensuite from the pipe in the ceiling to one of the beds - staff most apologetic and quickly moved us to another room. Nothing was too much trouble. We returned a week later for a couple of days and we were remembered and greeted like old friends - would recommend if the steps don't bother you.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room closer to reception - but unfortunately no matter where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    516
    123
    23
    12
See reviews for
361
692
165
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very pleasant stay, with a very convenient location. The staff is very friendly., and very helpful at arranging for activities. The rooms are good, and the beds comfortable. The food is good, but the service is slow. The shuttle service is very convenient. The weather was perfect for this kind of vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the waterhole, preferably on the ground floor, so you can get a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaoJao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just got back from a wonderful stay here! We loved everything about the lodge. Our room was perfect! We had a view of the watering hole and spent a great deal of time watching and waiting for the various animals to come. We did a walk with the elephants, went to the craft market and to the falls. Wonderful experiences all! I can't say enough about the Boma! AH-MAY-ZING!!
Would highly recommend and if I could I would go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the waterhole!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Kym

Thank you for your amazing review and kind words. We do try our very best to provide personal service, and we are so thrilled you felt the genuine hospitality from our staff. Glad that you were able to just sit and relax with that wonderful vista where the wildlife go past and parade around the waterhole!

We hope to have you visit again

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulawayo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Arrived as scheduled and found that due to renovation work a change of room from the booked Deluxe Safari Lodge room we had been allocated the Safari suite which is not to my taste! No matter we were given the option of complimentary food and drink whilst the booked room was prepared within an hour. The room overlooked the water hole and is on two levels a huge bath, everything spotlessly clean. Bar 'fridge eventually unlocked as requested, couldn't fault any aspect. Shame about the service at Mukuwa Kuwa!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a pleasant stay as the staff were lovely and friendly and willing to help most times. The rooms were fine, comfortable beds and I liked that they put down your mosquito nets as part of the turn down service. The positives though is definitely the views and the almost exclusive feel it has being on the hill overlooking the lands. We saw all sorts of animals come to the watering hole and watched the feeding of the vultures at noon. The handy shuttle bus was great as it came around every 45min, free of charge to take us into town. The wifi was also reliable! What I can say though is that although breakfast was good- the bar menu and restaurant food was average to poor to be honest and definitely overpriced for what it was. I understand trying to fancy up food, but it still needs to be tasty... Cocktails were also overpriced and so was the wine. I would recommend people to stay at the Safari Lodge but perhaps look for other places to eat and drink!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the watering hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Juliana

Thank you for the great review of our lodge and for your very apt description of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.

All feedback is greatly appreciated and your comments regarding food quality have been noted, and addressed with the team.

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were recommended to stay here by a friend and our travel agent, and spent 2 nights there so we could visit the falls at the end of a long trip through Namibia and Botswana. Its a large hotel on the edge of town, with a thatched roof, and the rooms overlook a waterhole and the bush. I say "hotel" because thats what it is - a long way removed from a real safari lodge.

Right from the moment we stepped inside to the moment we left, we fell victim to a tidal wave of cock-ups. It started with the room not being ready at 2pm, then being given someone else's room key, and this continued right to the very end when the bill contained someone else's meal and the transfer bus arrived an hour before we were advised that it would. And it didn't let up all the way through our stay, with lost restaurant reservation, inedible food etc.

But we liked it there. The room was very tired with damaged decorations, holes in the mossy nets, balcony doors that didn't work, etc. But we still rather liked it there.

From the room, you could watch animals coming and going in the bush, we had a monitor lizard who climbed into our room while we were dozing (great!) and we had mongooses playing just outside. Animals came and went at the waterhole, which is visible from the bar, and a ranger feeds about 200 vultures every day at 1pm. We were warned by our friend and by reception that the room was likely to be invaded by monkeys, and to keep the balcony doors shut and things locked away - we did so, and remained monkey-free.

There was one slightly disturbing incident when a man who may have been staff came into our room "looking for his mobile phone". We wondered if he might have left with more than his mobile phone if we hadn't been there - so beware that security may be poor and use the safe.

As mentioned, the restaurant meal we had was inedible, but the food in the Buffalo Bar was really very good - and so were the staff, especially the couple of young trainees on duty.

We really did quite like it there - despite the many many things the hotel got wrong. We filled out the customer survey comprehensively and after we checked out in a hotel-caused rush, the assistant manager came up to us and said he hoped we had enjoyed our stay. Poor man - his sense of timing was terrible and he took our names and email address as we left.

When we arrived home, we received an email profusely apologising for all the things that had gone wrong, assuring us that the rooms are being renovated, and giving us a refund of our food and drinks bill. So, would I go to Victoria Falls and stay there again? Probably not - the falls are brilliant but once is enough. Would I recommend the VF Safari Lodge to you? Yes I think I would - if you're prepared to put up with their efforts. Maybe we just got unlucky with a tidal wave of errors. Its a nice spot, they dealt with us fairly, and what are the chances of being hit by lightning twice?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colinobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your very perceptive review, especially for emphasizing that we also try to get across to every potential guest. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to the standards that we set and pride ourselves with.

Efforts have been made to curtail a recurrence of short comings that you experienced, as reviews such as yours inspire us to reach for the skies in terms of service and customer delight.

We hope we'll welcome you here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay but were not pleased by the rooms, which were in need of upgrade (appears to be in process). Bathrooms somewhat tawdry, shelves in closet dusty. towels not replaced as requested. Air conditioning blows on your head (we turned the mattress around). lampshade torn. Worst experience was the fire alarm, which went off both nights as well as one evening, with no way to tell you it was a false alarm, and that in a hotel with thatched roof.
The public areas and restaurant were outstanding, including views of waterhole with animals arriving, etc. Convenient shuttle to town. This will be an excellent place again once upgraded.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are undergoing upgrades, ask for the upgraded ones. A view of the waterhole is fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
852 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing