We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Safari”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed two days at this resort and enjoyed it very much we also took our meals there and they were superb with a very good service, Our room were a little downward from the rest of the place but we heard they would soon be renovated
The whole complex overlooks a water hole where wildlife roam freely and up to the base of the complex build on the hillside. We had a vulture feeding display that was amazing save the horrible smell from the rotten meat that was used.
It also offered a free hourly shuttle to Victoria Fall which was very convenient.
And to finish we were invited at the "Boma" for a great meal and entertainment involving guests who where given a cloak for the evening to blend in...We had a great time. I can't comment about value for money as it was part of our tour package.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelmnr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback which the team and I greatly appreciate.

Indeed we are in the process of renovating all 72 rooms, being totally refurbished and redesigned right now and all will be complete by the end of July. Everything will be more modern and much lighter and rooms will feature top-of-the-range new beds and new luxury linen.

We sincerely hope you return one day to revisit and relive your wonderful memories with us.

Regards,

Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    516
    123
    23
    12
See reviews for
361
694
166
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our first stop in a dreamt of African vacation. The lodge is more like a fist class hotel. Our accommodations were excellent. On our arrival we were greeted by some wandering baboons and a warthog. Our view of the watering hole was wonderful. One evening we counted six species of mammals, and 10 different birds. One evening we dined at the Boma Restaurant. Wow. The meal was served buffet style and consisted of a variety of game: warthog, impala, buffalo, etc, etc., plus fish, chicken, salads, vegetables, and desserts. Everything was fresh and delicious. I even sampled a Mopani worm ( I received a certificate to prove it to my grandchildren). The worm was very tasty, once you got over the idea of eating a worm (a caterpillar actually). After dinner stay for the group drumming - it was a hoot. We took a Safari into one of the Falls reserves and had the unexpected pleasure of meeting a black Rhino. The Falls were gorgeous, of course, but resulted in a disquieting question. "You're from NY, aren't you? How does Victoria Falls compare to Niagara?" Gulp... We had never been. We are rectifying that omission in a few weeks. Review to follow. While in Victoria we also took a helicopter over the falls -. Breathtaking, and a Walk with Lions which was extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mitch & Partner.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time while in Victoria Falls and thankful for your valued contribution on our hospitality, food and service. All of which we set very high standards and make every effort to maintain.

You were very lucky to have seen the rhino amongst other wildlife and bird species.

We hope to welcome you again someday

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, great food, great staff and the restaurant overlooking the waterhole is spectacular .

Freshwater pool is for the hardy, but gorgeous to look at!!

Warthogs in the grounds is a great touch.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Charlie.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate all the positive feedback and comments.

We hope to welcome you again someday, until then stay well

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I am here now on a conference trip and must say. This is the most stunning place, friendly service, unbelievable food, lots of activities!!! The sundowners on the Zambezi river is a must. Once in a lifetime experience

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mandie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mandi,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our resort.

We hope to see you back in Victoria Falls in the not too distant future...

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled here on a friends weekend, what a pleasant experience to stay here. The rooms were beautiful with lovely views. Must make use of the restaurant and their african delicacies - quite a unique experience and well worth the plunge.
Recommended for a stay to the area!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Allison,

Many thanks for your kind and complimentary review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and we hope the rest of your journey back home was just as good.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were booked into the Safari Lodge for 2 nights. We were first given a room that had not been renovated and there was not a view of the watering hole. Upon hearing our disappointment, our porter, Thomas, asked the front desk for another room. We were then given a room at the other end of the lodge, close to the Safari Club.
That room was perfect! It had been renovated and had a great view of the watering hole. We saw loads of animals daily and even monkeys on the Balcony!
The lodge is away from the city center but has a shuttle that takes you into town and the Falls area.
The open air restaurant over looks the watering hole, we were provided a wildlife show at every meal.
We did have a false fire alarm on the last night and the phone in the room was not working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post review on your stay with us at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. I am pleased to hear that our staff member Thomas was able to assist and have you moved to a more comfortable recently refurbished room.

We do understand that the monkey's can be a big problem and we do try and keep them away from the lodge but sometimes they are difficult to scare away. We sincerely apologize for the false fire alarm and telephone not working on your last night. Both technical faults have since been rectified, and checked to be in perfect working order.

We hope to see you back in Victoria Falls in the not too distant future...but until then, stay well

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Loved staying here. The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly. Breakfast is buffet style with a large selection of meats, cheese, baked goods, and juices. You can also order eggs which they will bring to you.

This lodge is in the middle of a reserve. It has an electric fence to provide security for its guests. They also have a watering hole for wild game and it was really fun looking out on the elephants, giraffes, cape buffalo, and other wildlife that came to the water. The lodge also feeds the vultures and it was amazing watching the birds circle and be fed.

I would recommend bringing binoculars to observe the animals even closer. It does have a spa, but I did not use it.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the main building to see the watering hole better from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uptownantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings to the uptownantiques from St. Loius.

Thank you for your kind and positive review following your stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit

We sincerely hope to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
405 reviews
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
853 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing