We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodge.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Lynton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Return visit to Victoria Falls after many years away. Was not disappointed with VFSL, although the room décor looked a little tired, it was spotlessly clean and the room service was excellent. We had been forewarned that renovations were taking place at the time of our visit, but there was no noise or disturbance from the works and the renovations looked superb. Staff are extremely attentive and the service was second to none. Food in the restaurant was good and helpings are very generous. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Dave

Thank you for your kind and positive feedback on your return trip to Victoria Falls. We are delighted that we could make your stay at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge enjoyable. Indeed all our rooms are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, all of which should be complete by the end of July 2014.

We do hope to have you visit again, where we will ensure to exceed your expectations

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    471
    110
    22
    11
See reviews for
315
623
147
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked 3 nights at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge (VFSL) and paid a little extra to have a deluxe room that – according to the VFSL website – has “prime views of the waterhole”. Upon arrival, I noticed on the check-in form that we were given a standard room. I signaled the error and the room was immediately changed to a deluxe room. When we got the room we were a little bit surprised that the waterhole could not be seen from this room. We did not pay further notice to this and explored the lodge. What a beautiful place ! Just outside Vic Falls (connected with a perfectly operating shuttle service) and yet offering a bush experience with a truly beautiful view over the Zambezi national park with close by waterhole (kudu, crocs, buffalo, impala, vultures, marabou storks, warthog, and so on). Breakfast, lunch and diner with such beautiful view was just what we needed to end our Botswana/Zimbabwe trip. Food by the way was without doubt the best we had on our trip. Lunch and diner, both à la carte, are of outstanding quality ! Also loved the fast internet connection. Staff is super friendly. We booked our activities at the activities desk : they have a large offer and operate very efficiently. We took some game drives, helicopter view on the falls (fantastic !). The game drives were a little disappointing; although we did a tour in the private park, we did not see that many animals; but at this time of the year (May) the bush is so thick and green that is difficult to spot them.

During our first night a very noisy guest in the room next to ours kept us awake. I signaled this to the management team (Victor) the next morning. Victor handled our concern with the utmost care and moved us to the other side of the lodge where several rooms had just been completely renovated. This room was definitely a deluxe room with indeed prime view to the waterhole. Premium service, many thanks Victor ! We loved the rest of our stay and enjoyed every moment. If ever we can, we will definitely return to VFSFL. The side of the lodge were we had our first room was closed at day 2 of our stay for renovation works… I suppose that shortly all rooms will have been completely renovated, making this place even more special. Definitely worth a visit. If you stay elsewhere in Vic Falls, make sure to book a lunch or a diner at the VFSL. Almost forgot to say that at 13:00 (every day) the local vultures are fed... you have to see this. Tip : if you don’t want to be covered by dust watching the vulture spectacle, stay on the deck above and observe the vultures from a little distance… your precious digital camera will thank you for this (unless it loves dust ☺).

Room Tip: The deluxe room - with view on the waterhole - is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Stign

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are pleased you had a good time and that our senior manager Victor, was able to accommodate you in a more comfortable room to your liking

We appreciate the feedback as this can only assist us in improving our service to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon..

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed two days at this resort and enjoyed it very much we also took our meals there and they were superb with a very good service, Our room were a little downward from the rest of the place but we heard they would soon be renovated
The whole complex overlooks a water hole where wildlife roam freely and up to the base of the complex build on the hillside. We had a vulture feeding display that was amazing save the horrible smell from the rotten meat that was used.
It also offered a free hourly shuttle to Victoria Fall which was very convenient.
And to finish we were invited at the "Boma" for a great meal and entertainment involving guests who where given a cloak for the evening to blend in...We had a great time. I can't comment about value for money as it was part of our tour package.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelmnr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback which the team and I greatly appreciate.

Indeed we are in the process of renovating all 72 rooms, being totally refurbished and redesigned right now and all will be complete by the end of July. Everything will be more modern and much lighter and rooms will feature top-of-the-range new beds and new luxury linen.

We sincerely hope you return one day to revisit and relive your wonderful memories with us.

Regards,

Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our first stop in a dreamt of African vacation. The lodge is more like a fist class hotel. Our accommodations were excellent. On our arrival we were greeted by some wandering baboons and a warthog. Our view of the watering hole was wonderful. One evening we counted six species of mammals, and 10 different birds. One evening we dined at the Boma Restaurant. Wow. The meal was served buffet style and consisted of a variety of game: warthog, impala, buffalo, etc, etc., plus fish, chicken, salads, vegetables, and desserts. Everything was fresh and delicious. I even sampled a Mopani worm ( I received a certificate to prove it to my grandchildren). The worm was very tasty, once you got over the idea of eating a worm (a caterpillar actually). After dinner stay for the group drumming - it was a hoot. We took a Safari into one of the Falls reserves and had the unexpected pleasure of meeting a black Rhino. The Falls were gorgeous, of course, but resulted in a disquieting question. "You're from NY, aren't you? How does Victoria Falls compare to Niagara?" Gulp... We had never been. We are rectifying that omission in a few weeks. Review to follow. While in Victoria we also took a helicopter over the falls -. Breathtaking, and a Walk with Lions which was extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mitch & Partner.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time while in Victoria Falls and thankful for your valued contribution on our hospitality, food and service. All of which we set very high standards and make every effort to maintain.

You were very lucky to have seen the rhino amongst other wildlife and bird species.

We hope to welcome you again someday

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, great food, great staff and the restaurant overlooking the waterhole is spectacular .

Freshwater pool is for the hardy, but gorgeous to look at!!

Warthogs in the grounds is a great touch.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Charlie.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate all the positive feedback and comments.

We hope to welcome you again someday, until then stay well

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I am here now on a conference trip and must say. This is the most stunning place, friendly service, unbelievable food, lots of activities!!! The sundowners on the Zambezi river is a must. Once in a lifetime experience

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mandie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mandi,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our resort.

We hope to see you back in Victoria Falls in the not too distant future...

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled here on a friends weekend, what a pleasant experience to stay here. The rooms were beautiful with lovely views. Must make use of the restaurant and their african delicacies - quite a unique experience and well worth the plunge.
Recommended for a stay to the area!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Allison,

Many thanks for your kind and complimentary review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and we hope the rest of your journey back home was just as good.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing