We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the Veldt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the Veldt!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for three nights to see the Falls. Gorgeous setting overlooking waterhole. All rooms face waterhole. Very comfortable with mosquito netting. Great food in restaurant with full bar and African music and dancing. Bus service to town. Don't miss vulture feeding every day at 4.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dkreuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for your very generous review on our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome back again some day

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    494
    118
    22
    12
See reviews for
334
666
156
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was not our first choice, but it should have been! A short way out of Vic Falls town so very quiet. Also amongst wild life seen at the water hole (generally only from the bar and dining areas). Renovations were a small negative - our room was very comfortable and adequate. Food was excellent. Free shuttle bus service to all places was very handy. Friendly and helpful staff. Thank you all - except for the staff member who sounded the emergency alarm at 4 am and having us all tumbling out of bed to discover it was a mistake.

Room Tip: Pay for a room giving views over the valley and the river - and maybe a chance of seeing the waterho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Matthew

Thank you for your lovely comments on our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge as part of a Vic Falls extension to a South Africa tour. The room and bathroom were extremely dated. The biggest issue we had was that the sliding doors on the balcony were not completely sealed so that bugs and mosquitoes could get in the room. Make sure not to turn on too many lights after dusk or the bugs will find their way in. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the watering hole. We loved sitting at the bar and restaurant and watching the animals. The food at the restaurant was really good, but very expensive and expect to pay US prices. The lodge was conveniently located and only a short ride to the waterfalls. Overall, the lodge was extremely overpriced for what we got and felt they were taking advantage of a captive tourist audience. In retrospect, for the amount of money we already had paid, we should have just paid the extra fee to upgrade to the Club level.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank knsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor.


We apologize that we did not perhaps meet all your expectations. Since your visit in December 2013, you will be glad to know that we are in the process of renovating all 72 Hotel rooms, which we expect to be complete by the end of July. We're taking out the bath tubs and replacing with large walk-in rain showers; we're moving the room out 1m which we'll take out of the balcony and we're installing glass and aluminium sliding doors and curtains. The new screen doors are insect-proof and will keep the bugs out provide they are kept closed.
Everything will be more modern with a more luxurious finish.

Zimbabwe is landlocked and we must import 90% of our food and beverage to keep up to international standards. This not only attracts duty for most items but we must also add the considerable transport costs from either Harare or Bulawayo or, indeed, from outside our borders. We try to keep our prices to as reasonable as possible.

We appreciate the feedback as this can only assist us in improving our service to our guests.

Hopefully you will visit us again sometime in the future

Yours Sincerely
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was opened in 1995 and currently undergoing renovations. We were initially placed in the 'unrenovated side with no view of the waterhole'. It was very dated, shower squeezed into corner of bathroom. Very disappointed after the quality of accommodation in South Africa. We asked to moved and this occurred without any fuss.
If booking I would recommend that you stipulate you want to a room in the renovated area.

To the management - finish the renovations real quick.
The view from the bar and restaurants over the waterhole great but it was really good to sit on our balcony and watch the watering hole.


The Boma evening was really enjoyable.

It is about a 20 min walk from Victoria Falls, however, there is a shuttle bus into Victoria Falls.

Victoria Falls was fantastic and really enjoyed the 25 min helicopter ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterhole and a renovated room. Lots of stairs to walk up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roXxy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Roxxy


Thank you for your very perceptive review on Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.

The good news is that all 72 rooms are in the process of being totally refurbished and redesigned right now and all will be complete by the end of July. We're taking out the bath tubs and replacing with large walk-in rain showers with more room. Everything about the rooms will be more modern and much lighter.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening at the Boma,

We sincerely hope you will visit us again and have a feel of the new rooms.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was a little bit hesitant traveling to Zimbabwe on my own as a 26-year-old woman, but I'm so glad I did. The Victoria Falls Safari Lodge was absoutely AMAZING - one of the highlights of my whole trip to Africa. My room had a balcony overlooking the watering hole where I would just sit for hours with binoculars and watch the animals come and go. I saw buffalo, warthogs, baboons, impala, and more! The food and drinks at the hotel restuaurant and bar were great, and the service was wonderful. All of the staff was especially friendly and I especially enjoyed the man in costume at the entrance who greeted you. There's also a vulture feeding at 1 p.m. which is both thrilling and kind of gross. They also give you plenty of complimentary water bottles which is important too. The Activity Desk was also helpful in booking additional excursions around the area.

The only two cons were that (1) the food was really expensive and (2) it felt a little bit dangerous to walk back to the room in the dark with all of the animals everywhere, but it made it more exciting. I also wish they had a list of what animals you might see at the watering hole.

I would absolutely recommend staying at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on your next trip to Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Kristen

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and that you enjoyed the room and the services we provide.

Thank you for staying with us and for recommending Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your friends, this is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge for 4 nights over Easter 2014 before doing a 10-day safari tour of Zimbabwe and South Africa. From the moment I arrived, the staff treated me like a valued guest, and were always friendly and helpful. In particular, I must thank Joy for going above and beyond the call of duty to sort out the problems I was having with my tour company.
My room was well sized with an old world charm but in need of a little TLC such as repainting and replacing the balcony doors so they shut properly to keep out the resident monkeys and baboons. Most rooms have a view of the nearby waterhole.
While the lodge is a bit of a distance from town and the falls, there's a regular, free shuttle bus and the national park location means you come across a variety of wild animals while walking on the grounds. It was an awesome experience to see elephants, giraffe and impala for the first time from the restaurant overlooking the waterhole. Watching staff feed vultures was equally exciting.
I enjoyed all my meals at the lodge, particularly those at the restaurant. My compliments to the chef.
As a solo traveller I really appreciated the free wifi throughout the complex as I could keep in touch with family and friends.
Of all the places I stayed in Africa, Victoria Falls Safari Lodge was my favourite.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Andi

Thank you so very much for your kind words on Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, and rating our property as your favourite. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be always friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our vista of the African landscape and the animals at the waterhole.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Carbon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a wonderful 2-night stay here at the end of April 2014. The staff had the best customer sevice, restaurant had excellent food, and room was very nice. Best of all was the room balcony that looked over a water hole where we saw many animals including elephants, warthhogs, giraffes, and more. Very relaxing stay. Also, even though wasn't in town, the shuttle service was excellent.

Room Tip: Get to meals early to get best seats for animal viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestfriend69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Glen,

Your review of your stay with us is inspiring and so beautifully phrased - thank you very much

Please do come back for another visit soon.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,116 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing