We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel where seeing wildlife is the norm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed in the Lokuthula Lodges portion of the VF Safari Lodge for one week and loved every minute of it. We saw more wildlife sitting in the main hotel watching the waterhole than we did on any safari. It was truly amazing. And our lodges provided daily wildlife viewing while we were enjoying coffee right outside our doors. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. We booked all of our tours through Paddy at the tour desk and she was amazingly helpful and full of lots of suggestions. There are two restaurants on site, the hotel food is pricey but good although the service was a bit slow. The Boma over in the Lodge area is amazing and the dinner, although expensive, was worth every single penny for both the smorgasboard and the entertainment. We visited all of the other main hotels in the Vic Falls hotel and although this one is out of town, it is the best by far and they do offer a free hourly shuttle into town all day long. Seeing the wildlife is SUCH a perk. Stay here if you can, for a day or a week!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JspencerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2010

After visiting two safari lodges in S Africa, this place was a major disappointment. It looks like something out of Disneyland, tiki hut style. Service is not a word the staff has come to know. Victoria Falls a wonderful thing to see but find another hotel. We did not have one meal go smoothly, OK food but always some detail missing. Their Boma place of eating buffet/culture show is a cliche. Not staged well, other guests constantly parading in front of those viewing as the buffet was ongoing. Everything is a 15 minute shuttle ride from this place. Unless you are into the extreme sports of bunji jumping etc, two nights in the area is sufficient. Ride on the Zambezi river is terrific at sunset and the Falls. Other than that, schedule a real safari somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

It was a real safari experience.
The grounds and thatched roofs and open dining area overlooking the waterhole are absolutely wonderful.
The first night we watched a herd of elephants come in to drink while we were having dinner. "What an experience"
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms were comfortable and roomy.
The only criticism i have is the quality of the pillows.
No pillow protectors and they were stained and needed upgrading .
This is not 5 star .
The position of the safari lodge makes up for that as it is truly a safari experience. Monkeys , warthogs roam the grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My third time to Victoria Falls and second time to stay at VFSL and just as good as the first time, not disappointed, and definately my hotel of choice for staying at in Vic Falls.

Whilst VFSL doesn't have the colonial splendour of the Victoria Falls Hotel, or the view or the Falls, it more than makes up for it in other ways. The hotel is slightly out of town (they operate a safe and efficient shuttle service every hour), you get a real feel of being in the wild. The main deck of the hotel overlooks a large water hole and you never know what you might see, from large herds of buffalo, elephants drinking in the noon day sun, or giraffe just lolling by. You can then go into town and spend an afternoon at the Victoria Fall Hotel, having afternoon tea, admiring the view of the gorge/Bridge etc, all the while knowing that when you get back to your hotel, you won't be bothered by tourists walking through the lobby to take photos, or be surprised at what animals await at the waterhole.

Rooms are a little chinzy/tired but that's all part of the charm, they're clean, the turndown service puts the mosquito nets down and prepares the room for bedtime!

Restaurants are excellent, Boma is a unqiue dining experience, but the hotels own restaurant, the Ma Kuwa Kuwa, is well worth it, the quailty of the food was exceptional, especially given that you're in Zimbabwe!

Reasonable sized pool, with good limited loungers, which can prove popular, as they all overlook the waterhole.

Hotel does have internet available in a business centre, but don't expect broadband speeds or 24 hour connection (the hotel is in Zimbabwe!).

All in all, for me, the best hotel to stay at in the Falls, which combines the best of everything. Service has always been good - even when my travel agent only booked me in for 3 nights, when I was meant to be there for 4 and that's what the voucher said, the hotel worked to resolve the problem (although I did have to move rooms).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in late September 2010. I can't fault anything. The rooms were clean, staff extremely helpful, food wonderful and location amazing. It was so relaxing eating dinner at night and watching the elephants playing at the waterhole. An experience not to be forgotten. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaysruleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I had dinner one night in this fabulous location after enjoying a sundowner watching the animals at the watering hole. Dinner was amazing, food very tasty - tried the trio of starters with crocodile, ostrich and smoked salmon and warthog for maincourse - superb. Highly recommend - views amazing, service great, food presentation A1 and tasted even better. Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ultimatelime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

You will not be disappointed with the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, and I say that as a New Yorker who tends to find fault almost everywhere he stays. The public areas, pool, rooms, and staff are all generally first rate, though this is the only hotel in the area I've been to so it's difficult to compare with several other nice looking properties we saw in town. The advantage at sets the Safari Lodge apart is the view of the large watering hole on the property, which, especially during the dry season, is a huge draw for all kinds of animals all day long. You can watch the animals from many of the room balconies, from all the restaurants, from the pool, and from the bar. It's really an amazing scene - both nights we stayed here we saw a herd of elephants come up to the watering hole to drink. The property is also more secluded than some of the others, which provides an added sense of security. My only complaint - and it's not insignificant - is about some of the food. There's a very nice buffet and hot breakfast included. However, the on-site restaurant tries for upscale continental but delivers only average food. Most importantly - DO NOT got to BOMA, which is the Brazilian steakhouse-style restaurant a little ways off the property for the following reasons: 1) you will be asked to put on kitchy "local" garb on over your clothes, 2) you will be in a semi-enclosed space with multiple charcoal fires blazing away in a place where temperatures are over 100 degrees outside, 3) while some of the wild game meats are tasty, generally the food is decent at best, 4) it is ridiculously crowded with tourists, and 5) after eating, various storytellers, trinket-sellers, etc. will try to get you to part with your money, which I found pretty classless.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,556 reviews
1 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,265 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#5 of 16 in Victoria Falls
443 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £212 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing