We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Parkland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful colonial hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Beautiful facility, well maintained with incredible service and staff. Excellent restaurants.We were greeted by "doolie" in his colonial style coat and pith helmet and a huge smile. jthe rooms are spacious and well appointed, the bedding and bathrooms are very well done and comfortable. the restaurant were very good, and service was excellent. Wilbert took great care of our group and the entire staff was friendly at all times of the day and night. our room steward james was very attentive. all in all an excellent experience and we would return if i n the area. the hotel is very scenic with and incredible view of the bridge and the falls. wild life roams the grounds in the form of wart hogs, monkeys and birds .

Room Tip: just ask if you need a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    631
    165
    61
    32
See reviews for
390
1,199
138
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Whilst this grand hotel is probably past its full glory, we loved it , we felt at home here and was very comfortable. The staff were superb, extremely helpful and very friendly, the breaki banquet at the jungle restaurant was unbelievable, both in atmosphere and selection of foods.The gardens were extremely well maintained and even though there were wart hogs around constantly it was spotless. It is not modern by any means but that was not high on our priority, it kept was very clean and it was always very welcoming to get back from tea to the bed sheets turned back and a chocolate on the pillow each night. We grew to love the people there and their desire to help and make sure we were comfortable was overwhelming.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double bed if you want one, we got a twin and it was two single!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judybain09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

First, thanks to Africa Adventure Company for putting together such a great trip and for booking us into the Vic Falls Hotel.

This is a beautiful property with great views of the bridge and is conveniently located close to the center of the town. It is a historic property, dating back to 1904, and they have done a great job of maintaining that special feeling. They are in the process of renovating the rooms but keeping the colonial feeling. Unfortunately, our room had not yet been renovated and did show its age. Nevertheless, the amenities were quite nice and everything was in working order (except for the safe which did work after many attempts).

The service was attentive and made you feel secure while at the hotel. Feeling secure and cared for is a good thing, especially here in Zimbabwe, where poverty and unemployment are a real concern. The staff at the hotel were excellent.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding (one of the best I have experienced at a hotel) and the evening dinner at Jungle Junction was tremendous. We had gone to The Boma the night prior, and while fun in a juvenile way, Jungle Junction's entertainment was far more authentic and the quality of the food far surpassed what was offered at The Boma. I highly recommend dinner at Jungle Junction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Let me start this review by saying we booked our entire trip through Go 2 Africa. They were invaluable at offering advice and suggestions, answering questions and addressing our concerns. Every part of our trip was seamless and stress-free, and the recommendations they made were spot-on.

The Victoria Falls Hotel makes you feel as if you are entering another era. And, yet, it offered free and fast wi-fi! The setting is pretty: the common areas are spacious and open, the courtyard has interesting and beautiful plants (and, in the evening, you will be serenaded by the loudest bullfrogs you've ever heard, totally adds to the charm and atmosphere!). The outdoor patio in the back of the hotel overlooks the Falls - although you cannot see the Falls, you can see the mist rising up, as well as the bridge that connects Zimbabwe and Zambia. The setting is peaceful, with beautiful landscaping and monkeys playing high in the trees on the property. Having afternoon tea on the back patio and overlooking the Falls was simply unforgettable.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also clean and in good working order. The rooms were nicely decorated, but not at all contemporarty - the decor is in keeping with the age of the hotel.

The staff was very attentive - when we arrived we were given cold drinks and wet towels to cool off while we were checking in. We ate are all of our meals at the hotel - the food was not great, but not bad either. There is really no reason to leave the property, after you have visited the Falls. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon around 1, toured the Falls in the afternoon, and left the next day. We did our tour of the Falls with a guide (arranged by Go 2 Africa) and I would recommend using a guide. There were a lot of people hanging out in the area outside of the Victoria Falls Hotel, and in the parking lot near the entrance to Victoria Falls Park. I would have felt unsafe without a guide to accompany us.

You don't need more than one night at Victoria Falls - we enjoyed the relaxing setting of the hotel and would not hesitate to recommed the Victoria Falls Hotel!

Room Tip: Book your trip to Africa through Go 2 Africa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beagle1lab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon and we would go back for a longer stay next time. If you want modern rooms with all the gadgets then the Victoria Falls is NOT for you (although it does have free internet access with 3 computers to use). However if you want something steeped in history then this is the place. Our room was spotlessly clean and contained lovely old wood furniture. The ice bucket and tray were solid silver! OK - the fridge (empty) was unusable & needed removing and destroying and the plumbing of the toilet was a little noisy but that is what gave it such charm. Having your early morning tea or coffee delivered on a tray with silver tea pots is far better than making it yourself with a plastic kettle. We had booked half board (to avoid having to pay anything by credit card) and were told either restaurant was included. We ate in The "find dining" Livingstone on the first night and it was fantastic - like going back in time - amazing food, first class service and a pianist in the background. Yes - you have to dress reasonably smartly (long sleeves for men) but it was worth it. The 2nd night we had to eat in the open air hot buffet Jungle Junction as the Livingstone is closed on a Monday. This was OK - but for just $9 more for the food the Livingstone beats it hands down. As for the service - the staff everywhere cannot do enough for you and as other reviews have mentioned the arrival and greeting is very nice with cold towels and a cool lemonade. Take plenty of one dollar US bills for tipping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie9898210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Make sure you do have a VISA card, and cash is helpful too.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking rear lawn are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Victoria Falls Hotel is more than 100 years old and we felt this. The hotel is located in front of the bridge in front of the water falls that we can't see. However our room was not facing this but was in the back facing the "patio interior" and this means it was very cold (yes in winter time it's could). The breakfast outside the main building was good but also very cold in the morning. The terrace was good well located and the best place to have the high tea and the lunch. So for me the hotel is very nice outside but not so confortable inside. The staff was kind.As advise don´t go to see the Victoria Water Falls in June, too much water to much spray you don´t see anything.wait for July / August

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Property: The Victoria Falls Hotel
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing