We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical colonial time beauty with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

1904 established hotel is a historical colonial time beauty with fantastic location and goos staff.
The buildings are beautiful, recently redecorated. Food is excellent and the service promp, friendly and professional. The hotel is definitely worth a visit, e.g. a good place to finish a wilderness safari in Botswana.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is an expensive hotel but really luxurious with a first-class feel. The rooms were spacious and the staff incredibly polite and friendly. The food was excellent - the buffet breakfast had more choice than I've ever seen. The evening buffet was a little expensive - admittedly you get a lot of choice and could potentially go back for plate after plate of food, but I found I only wanted standard portions so it did work out fairly pricey. The evening dinner entertainment was a welcome bonus, and afternoon tea on the terrace was very nice, though nothing extraordinary. The only downside was that my friend and I, both in our early 30s, seemed to be about 30 years younger than the rest of the guests! We didn't see a single other person our age, though there were small children with their families; when we came down to breakfast one morning the greeter came to seat us and asked which table our parents were at!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smileycat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This a true grand old classic.  It has been pretty well refurbished and well fitted out.  The location is outstanding, great views and  less than ten minutes walk to the falls or less than ten minutes walk to the shops and markets.  It is lovely to sit on terrace for meals looking out down the gorge to the bridge with falls spray above the trees.  
Our room was a junior suite.  It was a huge room with great natural  light.  Only gripe was that aircon not working properly and we had to request it be fixed twice before action was taken and you definitely need aircon at Vic Falls in October.
This is really the best location at Vic Falls and given the history that oozes out of the walls of this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else.
 In terms of the falls themselves, at low water levels the Zimbabwean side is much much better than the Zambian.  The Zambian end of falls almost totally dries up at low water.
Don't miss the handicraft markets behind the banks.  When in the market area, walk passed the shops and visit the stalls towards the back for lots of fun bargaining and providing money to people who really need it.  The Tourist police here do a great job and the area appeared perfectly safe to us.
Our Best things to do at Vic Falls in order are
1. The falls walk, at a minimum do twice at different times of day
2. Helicopter trip over the Falls
3. Visiting the markets
4. Sunset boat cruise
Overall a great hotel and a great experience. We would not stay anywhere else at Vic Falls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We didn't actually stay here, but just visited it one morning. This a hotel from another era - it's like a film set. The location is beautiful and the gardens are wonderful to sit in. We stopped for drinks as it was so hot. The hotel has lots of lounges to relax in and I had a sneak preview of some of the bedrooms which were luxurious. There's a nice swimming pool and as we were leaving they were setting up a BBQ. The hotel has a nice shop and the staff we met were friendly. It's Zimbabwe, just a different Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoraceChestwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is a grand experience. Our room faced the falls and you could see the falls spay and the bridge to Zambia. Outstanding. The bedding was a little strange because they were 2 singles next to each other but with 2 seperate mosqito nets which are necessary.
The grounds are large and landscaped very nice. The evening dinner buffet is overpriced and ordinary. Breakfast and lunch were great.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlinchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Victoria Falls Hotel, as part of a Vantage Deluxe Best of Africa tour. The hotel is a classic, and both the building and grounds are beautiful. The hotel overlooks the Zambezi River gorge, just below the Victoria Falls. Our room wasn't very large, as is the case in such older (even classic) hotels, but it was clean and comfortable. Everything else was excellent. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. We also enjoyed lunch at the Terrace restaurant. Although its location seems isolated, the hotel is within walking distance of both the Ilala Lodge and The Kingdom, in case you would like to eat out. Free wireless internet is available in all rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Recently stayed two nights at the this old classic and was sadly disappointed to find an aging Queen, long past her prime. Got an upgraded suit with a terrific view but found the A/C to be very noisy and incapable of producing anywhere near the required temperature drop. Bath tub drained very slowly, leaving me standing in 8 inches of water after a shower. TV was old style heavy small screen with no clear picture on any channel. Called for extra towels and still waiting. Complained to management who showed great concern along with numerous promises but to no avail. Several other much better nearby properties but if you like the old, musty, tired look from the last century, this is the place to be.
Gary

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gwclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,965 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
655 reviews
5.3 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £239 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing