We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We couldn't have chosen a better hotel from which to explore the Victoria Falls. The staff at the hotel were wonderful. One of the guest services jokingly took on our last name while we were there as she decided to become an honorary member of our family. One of the security guards even took us to view the falls from some remote locations. We had a room in the old part of the hotel. I loved it. We could see the falls rising from our balcony. The great thing about the older, not yet remodeled rooms is their location in the historic and very elegant part of the hotel. The not so great thing is that you need to be patient with the shower. There are very modern rooms if you want them, but don't count on a view. I loved seeing the history of the hotel documented in the fabulous portraits of Victoria and Albert, and other senior members of the royal family. The choice of restaurants and bars is lovely. The pool is lovely. Most importantly though, you can walk to the falls. The service is absolutely fantastic. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank belindabigsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    611
    161
    61
    30
See reviews for
366
1,157
133
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter and were reasonably comfortable, however the hotel really needs an overhaul. All the staff are friendly and helpful, except for the staff in the terrace restaurant who ignored us and really didn't want to be serving you. The food is ok with an inviting menu at the terrace restaurant and fresh breakfast buffet. The evening barbecue buffet offers a large variety of food and the cultural entertainment is enjoyable. We found our room to be musty and there were a couple of cockroaches staying with us. After a few requests we were moved to another room, which was cleaner. If you book in for a spa treatment in the hotel, bring your cash because they are a separate business to the hotel. I had 2 treatments at the spa and found the therapist was quite rough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I arrived after a hectic morning of travel from Nelspruit. Starting in Zimbabwe, we used &Beyond for our travel needs. Wild Horizons did a meet/greet at airport and got us quickly organized and to hotel. We were greeted by the most amazing, geniune hotel staff with cool lemonade and cool cloths. Everyone immediately knew our names and used it consistently thru our stay. There was a bit of confusion with our reservation-but luckily had our booking voucher from &Beyond. We were shown our lovely (smallish) room on the second floor with the most excellent-amazing views of the historic bridge and the mist of the falls. We looked out straight on to the bridge. The property itself is well-laid out to make the most of the view and area. The grounds are well manicured and the setting perfect. The rooms were recently renovated - but unfortunately the bathrooms were still disappointing. My husband and I realize that Zim is under economic chaos and government issues, but this would not be considered (by us) a Leading Hotel of the World. The one thing we could not find in the room was a directory of services-0 did not work for anyone to answer the phone. After getting ready for bed, I had to re-dress to go down to the front desk to request a wake up call. I do recommend staying here just for the historic nature and proximity to the falls - can walk down a path - and the small village/shopping is close by. The 6 am view of the mist with the morning sky was breathtaking. The breakfast buffet was healthy with lots of choices and good service. Wild Horizons took us on a walking tour of the falls and then we used Falcon Tours for a sunset cruise booking and a boma dinner - all well worth the time and money. Also, took a 13 minute heli "flight of angels tour" of the falls at 8 am. Excellent view - vastness - made sense of the walking tour the day before. &Beyond had pre-booked/paid for the heli ride - but the tour company collected $12/pp for a "park entrance fee." Was a bit suprised by the additional fee, but had no choice. We did buy the very touristy falls cd and photo cd of this outing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinhead40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wow. Loved this colonial-style hotel. A short walk away from the Vic Falls, a really comfortable room, a great breakfast, fantastic cocktails on the patio, and we thoroughly recommend treating yourself to the tasting menu in the Livingstone Room restaurant one evening. A perfect ending to our Zimbabwe holiday. And the accommodation, food and drinks were all surprisingly reasonably priced compared to other places in Zimbabwe, it felt like it was genuinely good value for a unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfromthemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed 7 nights and were upgraded to a suite. We cannot praise the staff highly enough. Everyone from manager to cleaner greeted us with a broad smile and a very polite good morning/ afternoon/evening. The hotel's facilities were excellent and we had a wonderful time on our pre-booked excursions. The availability of the hotel's security guards to accompany us to and from the Falls and to the ATM at the local bank was very welcome. The food was of a high standard and beautifully served. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAWAII
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I came here to see Victoria Falls. Mosi oa Tunya......the smoke that thunders. I didn't come for the high tea or the four poster beds or the animals on the grounds ( you're in Africa......you don't need to go to a hotel to see animals). That being said, this place was pretty cool. That roar you hear 24/7 are the Falls right in your backyard. The rooms were comfortable and the food was good and reasonably priced. It's kind of a stretch that this place is part of "The leading hotels of the world" group. I've stayed at other "leading hotels" and they are vastly superior to this place. However, the Vic Falls Hotel has the location edge even though the rooms smell musty.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SURFER_DUDE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

stayed at this hotel in march,arrived just in time for the afternoon tea which was quite expensive but worth every penny,sat on the terrace with the most magnificent view of the victoria falls was priceless.the rooms were very comfortable we had a nice view of the grounds and the falls. All staff were pleasant,We saw baboons,monkeys,wild boar and mongoose which was lovley a very memorable stay,highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Property: The Victoria Falls Hotel
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing