We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Falls Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$953
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
US$1,154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$274
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$316
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$298
US$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$122
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$196
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
US$231
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$505
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveller rating
1,611
727
188
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,611
727
188
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle junctionlivingstone roomhigh teagrand old ladystanley terracelivingstone restauranthistoric hotelold world charmcolonial timesstep back in timebygone eragrand dameterrace restaurantpublic roomsrovos railcolonial styledeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,433 - 1,438 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The setting is beautiful with lovely grounds. Our hotel room was small with a small bathroom. And, the halls and public rooms that were enclosed smelled musty. The terrace dining area was very attractive and had pleasant food. The dollar is the currency in Zimbabwe and the prices too were equal to American costs. Given that we had just come from South Africa where everything is very cheap, this was a big shock.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 delightful days, in January 2014. Our room in this grand old place was lovely, with the requested 'falls view'. This appeared to be a good time of year to be there as there was lots of water going over the falls...We were made very welcome by all the staff. Meals were delicious, especially the buffet breakfast! Be sure to take a walk around the grounds. They are extensive and well kept. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a 'falls view' room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethAnn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived here for a 2-nighter in a realistic frame of mind given the region's recent past - but even that did not prepare us for what we experienced. First impressions of our room were pretty much as expected, a generally tatty state of decor, furnishings and plumbing - but wow, a fantastic view. So we were happy - for a few hours until the air con failed in the early early evening. A maintenance guy came up quickly enough but after consultations with the duty manager he decided they would have to changed the whole unit. So off the monster came from the wall, up to our room came an equally vintage unit, into the wall it went and - nothing. Not a puff. Would we mind leaving our stuff in the room but moving to somewhere else in the hotel for the night so further investigations could be made? No, we said, we would move to another room of similar standard but with our stuff, thanks. And meantime why don't you test the electrical circuit to the air con, we suggested. A tester was hastily grabbed, ie the kettle, and plugged in. Dead. No power. Circuit failure. So we had to move anyway. The only room they said was available had clearly been empty for yonks and required rapid attention by the maids and even more by the air freshener spray. It had a back yard outlook, no fridge and precious little to commend itself. Lacking any alternative we tried to make the best of it and enjoy the rest of our stay. We were given a complimentary ticket for high tea the next day as compensation for the disruption. Unfortunately the high tea turned out to be, let's say, underwhelming. But worse my wife was by then showing vivid signs of having been attacked on both legs by some sort of insect. The bites rapidly swelled up red, angry and painful. At first we thought they might have been mozzies but do mozzies only bite on parallel sides of the legs, just like how you would lie on your side in bed? The only treatment that healed them was antibiotic cream and lots of it. So overall at least we can't deny that our stay was memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smegle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We could not have chosen a better venue for a 70th birthday celebration than this" grand old lady of the Falls ", the legendary Victoria Falls Hotel.The experience started at the airport, where we were welcomed by a singing, dancing group of locals in traditional dress. Once at the hotel, we were greeted by staff with damp, ice cold cloths and cold drinks before being shown to our rooms, which were beautifully appointed, with pristine white linen, romantic mosquito netting over the beds and large ceiling fans. Staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable and Paul was spoiled with a lovely bottle of champagne in his room in honour of his 70th birthday, as well as a surprise cake after the celebratory dinner in the magnificent Livingstone Restaurant.Stunning views of the bridge, which forms the border between Zimbabwe and Zambia, and the mist rising from the Falls are clearly visible from the terrace. The Hotel epitomises the grace and elegance of a former era.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flossie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a beautiful hotel however the room we had was dated, worn and in need of a refurbishment. The AC is so noisy it's hard to sleep. There was mold on one of he pillows and the mosquito netting was full of holes and stained. We booked with friends, they had a fridge, our room didn't. Food,housekeeping and resturant staff,and front security were excellent. Front desk was a different matter. When checking out one man in the que had a problem with his bill. Instead of takng him aside and dealing with it the whole line came to a stop. Incomptent front desk staff caused me to wait 20 mnutes just to check out while a bus load of ansy tourists waited for me outside

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Abby45Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews