We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip was a Father's Day gift to an amazing dad. I was pleasantly surprised by the ambience and rich history of the hotel. It's like stepping back into a bygone era with all the modern comforts one comes to expect from a 5 star hotel. Service is excellent and the staff are all pleasant wanting to make sure that all your needs are met. Special mention to Shaleen for organizing all our activities without a single glitch. Make a point of enjoying high tea on Stanley terrace and dinner at the Livingstone room. The live entertainment at the Jungle Junction was fantastic. As one walks through the hotel, the artwork and decor takes you back to a time of pomp and ceremony. Will definitely recommend the hotel for an experience worth remembering.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Ilhaam38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

The excellent situation and property are really not enough for a 5* hotel.
I've stayed 2 nights and had disagreement with the rooms (first one was a smoking area, second one not clean properly), with the meal (19 USD for a simple burger with frozen French fries is difficult to accept for the Frenchy I am), and with the cocktail, which was the worst I had after 2 weeks in Namibia (for 8 USD only!).
Of course, that's a very nice place and Victoria Falls are awesome, but honestly, the quality/price ratio is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rcommunod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A beautiful old hotel, well maintained to offer the best in service and charm. Very nice views from the patio dining area of the mist riding from the Falls, with the earth trembling almost anywhere you go in the town. Good menu with lots of choices for lunch. Some of the wait staff was not very attentive here. Breakfast buffet served in another area also outside but under cover. Rooms are large and immaculate, almost like a Hollywood setting with the lazy fan, huge bed and billowing mosquito netting. Watch for wild pigs, baboons and even elephants on the grounds. Right across the street from the train, which rolls out a red carpet for arrivals and departures. Reasonable gift shop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeGee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Happily, I can report there has not been much change since my last visit to this grand hotel, 2 years ago. The place is an anachronism and I can recall no other hotel on earth with the same sense of grandeur, history, and tradition. That the mists of one of the world's 7 wonders rise at the foot of the sweeping, manicured lawns is a lovely touch. The grounds are spectacular, with wild boar, baboons, and mongoose gamboling among the foliage.

Staff are friendly and helpful, arranging special services for most of our party of six. We stayed in rooms 30, 32 and 36 - but I remember somewhat posher accommodations on our last visit. Maybe it's my memory, but I do think our previous rooms were larger and better appointed. It's easy to get lost in the corridors, but that never seems an issue. Every twist and turn offers up another gem - photos of generations of Windsors being greeted on the same terraces, trophy heads, pressed foliage, delightful art. WiFi worked wonderfully, a bonus.

Food was excellent - including meals on the terrace, the breakfast buffet, and room service. It was a wonderful place to ease back into civilization after 2 weeks on safari.

Dr Colleen Braun, Calgary

Room Tip: Request a room in a renovated area - preferably with a view (though there are no bad views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The food was good (although a bit pricey). Service was mixed-some staff provided excellent service others only average. Hotel was clean and the grounds were beautiful. Our room had a great view and you could see the mist from the falls. The room was on the warm side though-they probably should have provided lighter bed covers. The hotel used mosquito netting but it only opened from one side so not very practical. Windows opened. No elevator in our building (fine for us, but might be a problem for some). From the Terrace you can see the mist from the Falls and bungee jumpers off the bridge.

We enjoyed the old world charm and the character. The hotel may not work for everyone-a couple we met at our previous stop had just stayed at the hotel and were less enamored.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

old world charm . hotel rooms are small and a let down and could do with a little bit of maintenance . service was mixed , during lunch the waiters were not good in service but for dinners they were very prompt .

you see a huge mist cloud of the falls from the hotel .

if you are staying on zimbabwe side of the fall then this hotel is probably best option available . ok to stay for one night or so .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Hotel had charm, history, pretty good service, and we had an excellent dinner in the Livingstone Dining Room. The room was small but we assumed that would be the case since it is an older hotel. The biggest issue, other than the price(s), was the ants all over our bathroom....and I mean all over. When we mentioned it at check out they said sorry and I guess I could have asked for ant spray the night before but you would think that if they knew they had a problem they would be in the room spraying.....Even after that I was glad we had the experience of staying in the historic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,265 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
1 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £223 - £725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing