We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of This World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We knew we were going to stay at the VFH the minute we planned our trip to Zimbabwe. It is an institution and it certainly lived up to its name. From the minute we arrived at the hotel we felt so very welcome. Peter made sure of that. The staff was so very courteous and friendly. We loved our drinks on the Stanley Terrace (the scones for tea were delicious too), the breakfast buffet at Jungle Junction was amazing (as was Edson who looked after us so very well), and the BBQ around the pool was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the marimba band - they were excellent too. The decor and general ambience were "old-world colonial" and it was like taking a step back in time - all perfectly done and well-maintained. We couldn't fault a thing. Our rooms were lovely... and then there are the Falls themselves ... and the view. Nothing more needs to be said. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited the hotel for afternoon tea time in May of this year. Loved the elegance of sitting on the large veranda and viewing the Victoria Falls in the distance. In the late afternoon, the waiters set up the white table cloth tables for a wedding anniversary. It was very strange to see the wine glasses on long tables and four Warthogs mowing the lawns. Also,walked over to the Bungee jumping site and watched the participants. What a delightful afternoon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Memasmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Everything that we were expecting from a grand hotel dating back to the British Empire days.
We had a front room overlooking the gardens with the Falls in the distant.
Forget the 2 main restaurants. Instead, eat casually outside. A cleansing local ale, followed by a White Lady cocktail ( last enjoyed at the Peace Hotel in Shanghai) and then simple food well presented and served.
A 5 star experience

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel is amazing, with the old English style, open plan courtyard, good restaurant, hotel is well kept. Rooms are of a classic feel, with the dated English theme. The hotel has a history of its own. Well located to Vic Falls, which you can walk to . overlooks the gorge

Room Tip: Good hotel, get a room overlooking the courtyard and the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavanjugroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent the first two nights of our Africa trip at the VicFalls Hotel. The hotel was beautiful; room was lovely and comfortable; staff was friendly (and very honest - I left an envelope with $$ out - the housekeeper gave it to the manager for safe-keeping). We enjoyed our visit to the Falls and the Bungee Jumping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JudyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the Zimbabwe side, you see the water falling over the edge. The Zambia side is at the top of the falls and where you can go out on a tour to the edge. Get a double entry visa into Zimbabwe if you are going to cross over and back (I highly recommend both). The tour we did was the Livingstone Island tea. Book ahead. Meanwhile the hotel felt charming and old world - from photos to the décor, but nice. Small town nearby. larger hotel, but felt quant. About 30 minutes from airport. good service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Victoria Falls Hotel is one of those old hotels built to receive the railroad guests in the early 1900s. It was fun to have high tea on the patio overlooking the mist of the falls, although the food wasn't great.

We were in the "new" wing, and it was OK, but a very long walk to the restaurants, lobby, etc.

I would probably stay there again, but I would first check out other hotels to see if there was anything better. We were part of a tour, so no choices. It was a little worn looking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,265 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
1 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £225 - £723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing