We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
259
48
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
48
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack eagleszambezi rivercentral victorialocal flora and faunawatch the sunrisetraditional dancinglocal villagespent two nightsamazing locationvic falls townfirst stopour honeymooncouple of nightsmain areahelicopter flightguinea fowlmosquito netting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you want a place that's isolated, a place that's surrounded by beauty, to wake up to the sounds of trickling water and tweeting birds, a place that has character, a place that's small, a place that's well run and a place that will last in the memory, then the Gorge's Lodge is the only place to stay!
The thatched chalets with verandahs on the very edge of the Zambezi Gorge were perfect, the breakfast was good, the owners were pleasant and the staff local.
Despite being 20km from the falls, transport is promptly available upon request to take guests into town and bring them back at a prearranged time. Please don't be discouraged by the lodge's distance from the falls because what appears to be a disadvantage is actually it's advantage!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thanks a million for this great review and another 5 stars! You are right of course -the fact that we are a little out of town is one of our biggest advantages - we are quiet, secluded and very exclusive. When next you are in Victoria Falls we'd love to have you back. Best wishes from the Gorges team and all of us at Imvelo Safari lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Hopkins Family & Clients - we have stayed at Gorges lodge with Family and hunting clients. All of our clients have been more than satisfied with their stay at Gorges. All have said that they were made to feel like they were a part of a family when they stayed there. Debbie & Chris and all the Staff make you feel so welcome and cannot do enough for you to make your stay more comfortable. The view of the Gorge is breathtaking. The guide Karry is very friendly and always takes excellent care of the client's when taking them in and around the Victoria Falls on tours. We really recommend client's to stay at this beautiful lodge. Well done to all at Gorges for making all of our client's stay as well as our own memorable we will continue to support the Staff at Gorges Lodge- Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for this great review and of course the 5 stars - we look forward to seeing you back here again. Best wishes from the Gorges team and Imvelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a stunning location, the rooms are lovely, the view is wonderful, the staff are really helpful and friendly, the food is great. Must go back! If you're doing a tour of Zimbabwe, this is a great place to enjoy the last couple of nights.

Room Tip: they're all lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much for your great review and the 5 stars. We are of course very happy you enjoyed your stay and particularly enjoyed your 'room tip' - "they're all lovely" :) !! A big thanks from the Gorges lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in most spectacular surroundings overlooking the Zambezie River , which lies hundreds of metres immediately below the hotel site. The view is breathtaking ,enjoyed both from the bar/ dining areas and the individual chalets. The manager was most hospitable, treating us to the sight of Black Eagles feeding at close quarters .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Alec D,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Gorges Lodge. It was a pleasure to host you, and thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.

We are thrilled that you loved the surroundings at Gorges – they are quite unique and one never tires of those spectacular views! We’re glad you enjoyed the black eagle feeding activity – one doesn’t quite realise what magnificent creatures they are until you see them up close! We hope you managed to get some good photos of them to show your friends!

Please take care of yourself and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Had an amazing time with a group of friends. A lovely welcome smile from the staff. Views breath taking, overlooking the Zambezi, great service, lovely food. I would recommend it to anyone, a lovely break away.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has double bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Lilian C,

Thank you for your preference in choosing Gorges Lodge, part of the Imvelo Safari Lodges portfolio.

We are delighted with your kind words; ‘great service’, ‘lovely food’, ‘lovely break away’– I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team at the lodge, where they would love to welcome you back with more big smiles in the future!

On behalf of the Gorges Lodge team, thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews