We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living on the Edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Living on the Edge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

There are many unique things about Gorges Lodge but the main thing is the location - overlooking the rugged beauty of the Batoka Gorge. The view of the Zambezi River winding through the gorge 200 metres below is something special to behold and the constant rushing sound of the rapids is soothing and relaxing. We were met by Debbie who is a fantastic hostess and never allowed us to want for anything. We were treated to see the resident (in the gorge) Black Eagles feed and Chris gave us a wonderfully informative talk on the eagles which we really enjoyed. We also enjoyed the traditional dancing during the evening where audience participation is encouraged.

Each unique room has the same wonderful view of the gorge and river and the furnishings and decor are really exquisite and creatively sumptuous. The bathrooms are luxurious and cleverly put together. The mattresses here are possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Lastly in the rooms - this is one lodge where they provide more than enough teas / coffees in the room for anyones taste and the well stocked mini bars will keep anyone happy - even those with a sweet tooth!!!

The service was very good and the friendliness of the staff is genuine and honest and they have an honest interest in all the guests. The food was superb and plentiful and we really enjoyed all the meals we had here - especially the beef evening meal and the evening dessert. We are looking forward to visiting Gorges Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear KevUrs,

WOW! Thank you for your fantastic review of Gorges Lodge. It was just wonderful for us to read about your amazing stay and that you had such a fabulous time. Please come back and stay with us again, we would love to host you in the near future!

Best The Gorges Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    47
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
113
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Your first gaze from the bar at Gorges Lodges will get you. This is a magnificent property featuring individual private chalets each with a stunning view. Watching the black eagles feed at sunset with manager Debbie Smith, seeing the sun rise over the Zambezi River Gorge, enjoying a candlelight dinner of Chris Esterhuizen's delicious chicken curry, mixed grill or little gem squash filled with creamed corn, no matter how many days you are staying, you want more. This is a great launch to sightseeing in Victoria Falls or just relax with the many amenities on hand.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, request the furthest from the lodge. If you want to be close to the bar, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Gorges Lodge! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay there and that you got to experience the lodge's resident pair of black eagles swoop past!

We hope we will have the pleasure to host you again in the future.

Take Care and Regards from the Team at Gorges and Imvelo Safari Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent one night here on a recent road trip and were so sorry that we had not booked for longer. Beautiful rooms (with an amazing view if you do not suffer from vertigo), very helpful staff and great food. What a lovely place.The only downside was having to go upstairs/downstairs between the bedroom and the bathroom. I hope that we can go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anne,

Many thanks for your review of Gorges Lodge - and yes, our views are stunning arent they!

We agree that it is difficult to go downstairs to use the bathroom in our double storey chalets and so in our refurbishment program scheduled for later this year we will be adding a small bathroom upstairs by the bedroom - hopefully on your next visit to Gorges you can experience this for yourself!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards from the Imvelo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here in June 2014, the rooms are brilliant. Debbie the manager is excellent and went above and beyond the call of duty. I got engaged to my fiancée and she couldn't do enough for us. The joy of the place is its tranquility and beauty. Close enough to Vic Falls to easily do any of the wonderful activities on offer but far enough away so you can enjoy the 'wild'. The road was being regraded when we were there and will be a much better drive now. Such happy staff and a joy to be there. Thanks again Debbie and team we won't forget you xxx

Room Tip: They are all really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris & Mary An... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Chris & Mary

Congratulations on your engagement! Thank you so much for choosing Gorges lodge as the location to celebrate such a special occasion! We appreciate you taking the time to review the lodge, its lovely to hear that your stay was so memorable. We hope you will come back again and perhaps celebrate an anniversary with us one day! All the best from the team at Gorges Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a study abroad trip with my school while we were visiting Victoria Falls, and I had a great time. The view is breathtaking, especially when the sun rises and sets, and the staff was very sweet and attentive. I also loved the little shop they had so that we could purchase local gifts for family and friends. I would definitely come back here. The rooms are fairly spread out, so if walking is difficult for anyone in your party, I would request a room that is close to the main lodge area. About a 20 to 30 minute drive to the Falls area, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: I rated the value and fitness center as average, because I am not sure what the actual rates for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kaitlin,

A big thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay at Gorges Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed our breathtaking views and hope you found some lovely souvenirs for everyone back home!

We acknowledge your comment about some of our rooms being a bit of a distance from the main lodge - we did this so that all the rooms could be extremely private and peaceful so that our guests could feel as though they have the amazing view all to themselves!

We do offer our guests a free return transfer to town per paying night that they stay with us so they can still visit the Falls during their stay, while still enjoying the peace and quiet of the lodge being out of town.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

The Gorges Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed two nights in April. Wish I had more time!!! The beauty is unsurpassed. Tranquil. Just perfect. Everyone was so nice. The food was unbelievable. The cottages well stocked. To sit on my porch in the morning drinking coffee and enjoying the view-wow!! I will return but next time will schedule more time for Gorges!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinderpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Gorges! We also feel that it is an absolute treasure in Zimbabwe, one of our favourite things too is having morning coffee with the Zambezi River rushing past 200m below! Please do return soon and come and enjoy more peaceful and beautiful days with us at Gorges! All the best from the Gorges team and all at Imvelo Safari Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I loved Gorges Lodge! A two night stay was not long enough! The space, peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings restored body and soul. Black eagles nesting and soaring close by our balcony were a highlight. The staff were excellent and provided first class service. Our room was very comfortable although we spent almost all our time on the balcony taking in the magnificent views. Deep down in the gorge the river was high and fast and occasional shrieks from intrepid rafters shooting the rapids added excitement. In the distance we could see mist rising over the falls. A memorable and special time. I would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Liz - thank you so much for the 5 star review! Gorges is famous for its spectacular views and vistas and we are so glad to read you experienced its magic! We will pass on your lovely comments to the team at the lodge and hope to host you again one day soon! All the best from all at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
20.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
23.8 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Property: Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing