We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights visiting the falls. The hotel is beautifully located on the river. Staff were friendly and attentive. Our room was very beautiful and newly renovated. It was modern, with African touches. Our stay included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was quite good and was typical European.

Dinner was very good. One night was a la carte, the other was buffet. It had an excellent selection, including a few exotic items (curried crocodile was a favorite).

We also did the river cruise which picked us up right from the shore in front of the hotel and is also highly recommended.

The only down side is that it is a little outside of the town if you want to be closer to things. But in my opinion its easy to grab a bus in to do some shopping, and besides that there isn't much going on in the village.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAnthonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
A refreshing day to you Toronto Anthonyk

On behalf of the Management and Staff at A'Zambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate for the positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    383
    87
    30
    11
See reviews for
164
400
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It was 24 years since I last stayed at this place. It was run down and tatty then. As there will be a huge international conference on tourism in the Falls later this year,the govt splashed a huge amount into the industry to make a decent showcase. At the A'Zambezi the money was well spent. The rooms are fitted with every extra that a five star would require. The grounds are beautiful. Ask for a room facing the river. The breakfast was not so impressive as we were kept waiting for cold milk to put on our cereal and in our tea. The range of food for breakfast is ok. Good friendly service. We booked through wild horizons and got an excellent deal.

Room Tip: Facing the river is a good option. They have air con and no access to fresh air. Maybe the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
A refreshing day to you Mugme

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegsdorf
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was originally not our first choice, but this was a very good choice! THe Lodge ist located directly at the Zambesi River, warthogs and baboon visit you in the area. THe food and the servise is very good. We enjoyed our stay in the lodge very much

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
A refreshing day to you Dorothea F

Thank you for the positive review that you posted on our TripAdvisor wall we greatly appreciate and we look forward in welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The A'Zambezi River Lodge, located on the banks of the Zambezi River looking across to Zambia, was the loveliest, most peaceful place to stay - especially after ten days camping in the bush. Our three days there were absolutely wonderful! Our rooms were comfortable with balconies looking out onto flowers and trees - with baboons, warthogs and a large mongoose family all providing entertainment below. The dinners and breakfasts were delicious; the shuttle to and from the center of Victoria Falls convenient and easy to use; the pool was delicious! The management and staff were so so friendly: they couldn't do enough for us. We went tiger fishing with a wonderful guide and saw the smoke that thunders from up-river. In all, we couldn't have had a better, more luxurious time and were so so happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
A refreshing day to you Nancy - Peter G

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate. I am sure you will miss our natural lawn mowers the warthogs!!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

In February I spent three nights at the A'Zambezi River Lodge attending a workshop that was being held at the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel's new look and feel having last been here over three years ago before it was refurbished. The rooms are a tad bit cramped but well furnished with touches of good decor. The best part about the hotel is its location on the river with a great eating area in full view of the river. The swimming pool is great and the hotel grounds lend themselves to a relaxing atmosphere. The A'Zambezi does not have the atmosphere of a large-scale resort with hordes of tourists which is a plus for someone wanting a quiet time away in Victoria Falls. The breakfast is adequate and the lunches could have been better. That said all in all it provides great value with welcoming staff and is ultimately a place I could return to all things considered.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadkusam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
A refreshing day to you Nadkusam

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to review our hotel also for the great complement of the re-furbished product. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We found the room to be clean and well maintained. The grounds are maintained to a high standard. The lawn was kept short with the help of the warthoggs. The coming and going of wildlife was like being in your own game reserve. The food was good, but, the buffet could have been replenished more frequently to avoid guests having to ask for it and then waiting around whilst it arrived. like other reviewers we found the staff to be excelent, we would like to make special mention of trainee manager Shingie, who we are sure will go on to great things, Daniel on front desk who went out of his way to help and Shylet who was a pleasure to deal with. In the restraunt Eddie was outstanding. Fizhani and Matika also made our stay enjoyable. As senior citizens we found the live music in the restraunt too loud for conversation at times, but, othrwise enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101, the one we were in it is right next to reception and the noise of people coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveh66312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
A refreshing day to you Daveh66312578

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel we greatly appreciate. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you went through during your dinner time. The comments help us in bettering our service.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The A'Zambezi lodge is a beautiful lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River. The rooms were very clean and has a great modern look. The entire lodge is very well maintained and there was entertainment during dinner whilst we stayed there. All the staff is very friendly and helpful - Thanks to Gugulethu who went out of her way to help us book some tours. There is a free shuttle to and from the falls and town which is quiet nice. I would highly recommend staying here for a trip to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
A refreshing day to you Sharonb019

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel and for highly recomending us. We greatly apriciate and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
342 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Property: A'Zambezi River Lodge
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#11 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing