We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Milnerton, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed the rooms, the food, the entertainment and the friendly staff. The drinks were very, very expensive which was a shame. The rooms were comfortable with good airconditioning and a nicely appointed bathroom. The small balcony was a lovely place for a night cap. Fans in the bar and restaurant area would've been nice, it was very hot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Sally1368

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    370
    84
    29
    11
See reviews for
160
384
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the experience I had was extraordinary. The hotel was situated next to the Zambezi River which was wonderful. Alot of wildlife was nearby such as monkeys, birds, even crocodiles and hippos! The sunset along the river was plain beauty. The rooms were clean, and modern / contemporary. Except there were quite alot of insects, thats why they had the mosquito curtain for your bed. Other than that, I absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Turtle_Flo

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate the positive feedback. It is also good to note that you loved our hotel environment and that it is situated next to the Zambezi River.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Located on the banks of the Zambezi River - A'Zambezi River Lodge offers a scenic view of the Zambezi River from the comfort of one's ground floor patio. It is close to the sunset/dinner cruise pier.

Checking in and out was seamless and the staff handled queries and requests with efficiency. While waiting to be picked up for an activity - the lounge area provides a lovely view of the river and the restaurant is close-by to still enjoy a late afternoon cup of coffee before leaving for the said activity.

A'Zambezi River Lodge offers the best of both worlds; where one can experience luxury, but still have the 'bush' feeling.

My room was clean and tidy at all times and room service outstanding. One can see that the comfort of their guests is primary.

The food - especially the spinach blue cheese soup and Zimbabwean Beef is a must. The portions are size-able and value for money. All items are reasonably priced.

The staff are friendly and efficient - always ready to help.

Don't pass go - don't collect R200 ----> go straight to A'Zambezi River Lodge for a warm and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Erica S

Thank you for the positive comments it is good to note that we were the best of both sides and that you loved the view of the river, what an amazing experience.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Lodge for the three night visit to Victoria Falls and had a very pleasant experience. The staff at the reception, at the restaurant and the bar were cheerful, helpful and interested in our well-being. The river-view room was quite adequate, not large, but certainly big enough for two people and the facilities clean and well maintained.
Because our stay was via a package I don't know how it rates for cost, but, as long as it is reasonable, I would stay there again, which is probably the most important information.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Carol D

You are more than welcome to come and enjoy the amazing and refreshing experience with us again.

Please kindly feel free to contact the hotel, we will assist you in the best possible way. Our email address is reservations@azambezi.co.zw.

Thank you so much for your review we greatly appreciate and we look forward to hearing from you.

Best Wishes

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just wondering if this place is still open for business? I have made a booking and was meant to receive email verification and have not. I have tried twice more to contact them and they have not responded. I can't seem to find anything other than a toll free number for them which will not work from Australia. I have seen them comment on this page, so this is my last hope of reaching them.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Vanessa C

My sincere apologies for the hustle you went through trying to contact us. Please contact me on this e-mail guestrelations@azambezi.co.zw or contact the GM on gm@azmbezi.co.zw our reservations e-mail is reservations@azambezi.co.zw. Tel: +263-13-44561-4.. Skype alice.m.msindo

Thank you so much we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The 4 star rating adequately describe this hotel. The two story horseshoe wing around a well manicured pool area adjacent to the Zambezi river houses smallish but well appointed renovated rooms. The hotel provides shuttle service into town on an hourly basis.
The staff is friendly to a fault but does not always follow through. This is particularly true in the al fresco dining area.
The breakfast buffet provides many choices and so does the dinner buffet. I am leery of buffets under the best of circumstances and certainly with insects swarming around therefore I can comment only on the á la carte dinner menu. Our two dinner choices of croc curry and vegetable lasagne were described better in print than executed on the plate.
Having just arrived from South Africa we find the Zimbabwe offerings in general a poor price/value relationship and this is not a reflection of this hotel alone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
A refreshing day to you Walter N

Thank you for highly recommending us. We greatly appreciate and we look forward to addressing all the areas that you have highlighted we believe that feedback helps us to better our product and services.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

From an on time personal airport pickup, to a perfectly orchestrated departure. The staff here are friendly, welcoming and simply echo the beautiful surroundings of the Zambezi river.

The pool did need cleaning more often due to bugs and the vulture feelings next door are something to behold.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
A refreshing day to you Neil E

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate and value your feedback.

We have taken note of the pool area and we have worked out a plan to resolve the problem.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to A' ZAmbezi River Lodge.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Property: A'Zambezi River Lodge
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#11 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing