We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveller rating
386
448
104
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
448
104
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi riversunset cruisefree shuttleevening entertainmenta la carte menudinner buffetcrocodile farmrooms are smallmosquito nethotel groundslovely poolvervet monkeysbeautiful groundsthe hotel offersbuffet styleshort drivewild horizons
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 985 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We chose this hotel because of the river-front setting and nice outdoor space and we were not disappointed! When we arrived, we didn't have much time before our scheduled sundowner cruise departed, which was fine because it departed from literally right next door...we walked back to the hotel in about 30 seconds. Each night, we loved eating at the outdoor restaurant which had live performances and good variety on the buffet. It was fun to try game meats like warthog and crocodile. For me the most important thing was that every night, as part of the turndown service, they sprayed our room with DEET mosquito repellant and set up the netting around the bed so I was ready to settle in with no fear of those pesky, malaria-carrying mosquitos.
The hotel is further from town than some of the others (and we were warned not to walk into town, especially at night bc of the animals) but it's certainly not far...it was about a 7 minute drive to the Zambian border and the entrance of the fall's park itself. Since we got bussed around for all our activities anyway, it doesn't really matter if you are right in town or a bit further out. We really preferred being on the river, a but further from town actually, especially when we saw some elephants munching on the trees right outside our room on the way to dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

A refreshing day to you Sarah S

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge and taking your time to give us feedback we so much appreciate. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful experience at A'Z. Keep in mind when you book... that you're in Africa... and that you're in a very challenged part. It's not a 4-star like one in the States. But our room was very clean - it was a great room, large and spacious and with a Zambezi view (request # 224). The employees worked hard, were welcoming and gracious. We felt very safe and appreciated.

Going into town... that's a different experience, they're a nation with a great deal of poverty. Be smart... and thoughtful. They will ask you for money, sell you whatever they can for anything you have. Bring stuff to trade- sox, t-shirts, school supplies for kids, pens, pads of paper, old shoes... it means more than money - give them food. The country uses the US $- and tourism is their only means- so they will want to sell you every experience from helicopter rides to white water rafting. Be prepared that unless you partake... there's not a great deal to do.

We chose to fish with a guide- amazing! And then we also Walked with Lions- by far my most favorite experience- and of course, seeing the Falls... was breathtaking.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FD4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

A refreshing day FD4EVR

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our refreshing hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We only stayed one night as part of our safari package but would have happily stayed longer. The room was beautiful and well equipped and the service was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the buffet dinner with entertainment from a troop of African dancers/acrobats.
It was quite a long way from the town and the falls - too far to walk, but we used the free bus which was regular and took us straight to the falls and also stopped in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClareT1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

A refreshing day to you ClareT1309

Thank you very much for your review of Azambezi! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and the facilities we have to offer.

We hope to see you back here again for another visit.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful 4 night stay. Great location right on the river and only 5 minute drive to the city center. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. And the AC cranked which is a great thing since it's so hot and cold air helps to keep mosquitoes at bay in the room. When we initially checked into our room, it was infested with mosquitoes - a good 30 to 40 mosquitoes. We notified reception and they quickly sent someone to spray the room. Fortunately it worked and we had no issues after that. The staff here could not be more friendly or attentive. One employee in particular, Joseph, was extremely kind and just a lovely person. Slit if wildlife can be seen on the property as well, especially vervet monkeys, banded mongoose, and warthogs. The vervet monkeys are highly entertaining. We also enjoyed the on site restaurant, Amulonga, which is good considering we are there every day. All my meals were very good and my husband had his best meal of our 2 week stay in Africa, even better than restaurants in Cape Town. The only complaint I have is that because the restaurant is outdoors and is right by the river, there are many mosquitoes. The restaurant should have citronella candles throughout or mosquito zappers to keep the pests at bay. Often times I found myself swatting at mosquitoes throughout my meal, and that was with wearing insect repellent. Otherwise, a wonderful place and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

A refreshing day to you PatriciaT987

Many thanks for taking your time to review Azambezi River Lodge on Trip Advisor, thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel and Team, we greatly appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We loved staying here. Its located along the banks of the Zambezi River, a few kilometers from the town center. If you want to be in nature and away from town, then this is an ideal spot with monkeys, wart hogs, and even a hippo sighting on the grounds. There is a shuttle to town but last shuttle to town is at 2 pm if I recall. I wish they extended the hours longer for the shuttle. Regardless, we used it and it was helpful. he rooms were clean and comfortable. Wifi worked well for me. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant offered abundant food choices with great African dance entertainment at night. If I return to Victoria Falls, I would choose to stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArleenInHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

A refreshing day to you ArleenInHawaii

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our refreshing hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews