We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
403
466
111
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
466
111
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi riverresident hippoevening entertainmentfree shuttlea la carte menudinner buffetcrocodile farmsunset cruiserooms are smalllocal wildlifemosquito nethotel is situatedlovely poolthe hotel offersbeautiful groundsbuffet styleenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Great location. Service very good. Room well appointed. No mini bar and fridges took ages to work. Food poor and so so overpriced. $85 for 2 dinner. We suffered once for dinner and never again. Breakfast $30 each so did not bother. Shearwater cafe for us in town less than half the price for 2 in town. Have a feeling this place is government run. A pity as setting was wonderful

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

A refreshing day to you Victor M

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor, we were honoured to have you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This hotel has a lovely grounds overlooking the Zambezi river with Zambia on the far shore. The cheerful staff are very helpful and catering. You can enjoy several long leisurely drinks at the bar while the river flows by. If you are lucky an elephant will stroll in for a visit while you relax. The hotel has a large lovely pool as well. The rooms are very comfortable with cool marble floors and large showers and baths.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the back row have only small river views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jelemans2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

A refreshing day to you jelemans2017

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate all the feedback on your stay at Azambezi. We will share this great review with the team. We really hope to see you back in Victoria Falls one day.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We chose this hotel because of the river-front setting and nice outdoor space and we were not disappointed! When we arrived, we didn't have much time before our scheduled sundowner cruise departed, which was fine because it departed from literally right next door...we walked back to the hotel in about 30 seconds. Each night, we loved eating at the outdoor restaurant which had live performances and good variety on the buffet. It was fun to try game meats like warthog and crocodile. For me the most important thing was that every night, as part of the turndown service, they sprayed our room with DEET mosquito repellant and set up the netting around the bed so I was ready to settle in with no fear of those pesky, malaria-carrying mosquitos.
The hotel is further from town than some of the others (and we were warned not to walk into town, especially at night bc of the animals) but it's certainly not far...it was about a 7 minute drive to the Zambian border and the entrance of the fall's park itself. Since we got bussed around for all our activities anyway, it doesn't really matter if you are right in town or a bit further out. We really preferred being on the river, a but further from town actually, especially when we saw some elephants munching on the trees right outside our room on the way to dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

A refreshing day to you Sarah S

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge and taking your time to give us feedback we so much appreciate. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful experience at A'Z. Keep in mind when you book... that you're in Africa... and that you're in a very challenged part. It's not a 4-star like one in the States. But our room was very clean - it was a great room, large and spacious and with a Zambezi view (request # 224). The employees worked hard, were welcoming and gracious. We felt very safe and appreciated.

Going into town... that's a different experience, they're a nation with a great deal of poverty. Be smart... and thoughtful. They will ask you for money, sell you whatever they can for anything you have. Bring stuff to trade- sox, t-shirts, school supplies for kids, pens, pads of paper, old shoes... it means more than money - give them food. The country uses the US $- and tourism is their only means- so they will want to sell you every experience from helicopter rides to white water rafting. Be prepared that unless you partake... there's not a great deal to do.

We chose to fish with a guide- amazing! And then we also Walked with Lions- by far my most favorite experience- and of course, seeing the Falls... was breathtaking.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FD4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

A refreshing day FD4EVR

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our refreshing hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We only stayed one night as part of our safari package but would have happily stayed longer. The room was beautiful and well equipped and the service was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the buffet dinner with entertainment from a troop of African dancers/acrobats.
It was quite a long way from the town and the falls - too far to walk, but we used the free bus which was regular and took us straight to the falls and also stopped in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClareT1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

A refreshing day to you ClareT1309

Thank you very much for your review of Azambezi! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and the facilities we have to offer.

We hope to see you back here again for another visit.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews