We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Flaws, But Good Cheap Option In Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I spent 5 nights at Shoestrings and would recommend it to those going in with the right expectations. First, the good: Great price for Vic Falls at $11 for the dorm....good food....4 great dogs...cheap drinks....great location....nice grounds....fun party scene. The Bad: Entire place is pretty run down and not particularly clean....dorm beds uncomfortable...very loud into the night (the downside of that party scene!). Want the best of both worlds? Pay $11 to stay here and hang out at the Vic Falls Hotel. I went over there every day for a drink and the million dollar view. Enjoyed my book in the gorgeous reading rooms. Overall though, not a lot of good budget accommodation in Vic Falls, so Shoestrings (with its flaws) is a good no frills option. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked a private room here for Christmas eve and Christmas Day 2012 via hostelbookers.com
We had read some of the previous tripadvisor comments about this place and were looking forward to the fun vibe on Christmas day.
However when we arrived there was no sign of our reservation!! (not sure who is to blame. shoestrings or hostelbookers.com) The staff didn't particularly seem shocked by this mishap, there was a slight mumble of an apology and they offered us their last lodgings available which was a pretty shabby tent out the back with two beds in it. We decided to look else where.
This is a real shame as we visited Shoestrings on an evening out prior to xmas eve and there was a nice vibe with a mixed bunch there. We ate pizza from their outdoor grill kitchen which is nice. The pool does need a clean/leaf clearance too. Maybe we should have checked our booking on that night but we just assumed that as we had paid a deposit that it would all be ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sharnie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My dorm was never cleaned the full week I was there and the kitchen is the worst I have ever seen. The oven must be over 50 years old. The place is a goldmine yet cannot even afford a cleaner. It is a shame because the place does have a good vibe but but just so disgustingly dirty

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Shoestring's is a backpacker im Zimbabwe. That being said I can hardly understand the complaints about cleanliness (of the facilities) and malfunctioning internet and airconditioning. If you need starched linnen every morning you should opt for one of the more expensive options in Vic Falls. I stayed in my own tent, which was no problem, and found the communal kitchen and the showers to be absolutely average - which is not a bad thing. The staff was very friendly and helpful and sitting on the porch next to the generous pool you can have a great time. In the evenings a lot of people from within the backpacker, but also the one occasional local gathers at the bar to get a cold beer or two. I did not have much problems getting sleep since my tent was pitched up behind the main building but I can imagine that - depending on the season and where your room is located - you might need some earplugs if you have to hit the hay early.

Room Tip: ideal for bringing your own tent
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My friends and I had a great time here in the middle of our trip. We felt as though the prices for the rooms were reasonable for what we were getting. For 3 of us, we got a family room which came with its own bathroom. We never went swimming in the pool sadly as it always seemed to be full of leaves but many other visitors didn't seem to find it. It's definitely a great place to hang out during the day and especially in the evenings if you're looking for a party. If however, you're not looking to stay up late and party, this is not the place for you. It is loud, and the kitchen is actually very disgusting (we were hesitant to put anything in that fridge). Staff however, was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yesdnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

So pleased we decided to stay here as our last stop in Africa. Friendly staff - who cant do enough for you, comfortable accomodation and a wonderful festive meeting point for travelers alike. DONT stay here if you are 'package tourist' kind - this is place for the young at heart and serious travelled. If you are looking for a place to mingle with interesting locals, that is great value for money - this is the place to stay.... actually there is nothing like it in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Shoestrings is a great place to hang out, have a beer, order a delicious pizza, and meet other backpackers. However, the activity center is not great and neither is reception. Those two however are nothing to the sheer loudness of the dorms. The bar party will go till 2:30am and you will be one thin piece of wood away from it trying to cram your fingers in your ears and readjust the boards under your mattress. Go here and hang, but the dorms aren't worth it. If you're cheap and there is nowhere else (Fallstown is limited), then bring ear plugs and a sleeping pill and you just might survive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 West Dr, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brightly coloured backpackers is a short five miniute walk from town. There is 24 hour security, a lively bar, a small restaurant that makes the best pizzas in town, self-catering kitchen, a swimming pool, DSTV and two very friendly dogs. The staff are very helpful and can assist you with all activity bookings and information on onward travel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing