We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went there last night for a couple of drinks and danced till very late into the nigh. The music was gest and tv crowd very friendly. Saw big smiles everywhere and all had a great time. The Dj played a wide variety of music from pop to dance to rock to Reggae. Really amazing evening out. Nicest night spot in Vic falls

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very nice hostel in Victoria FAlls. One can choose from two hostesl, the place to be was this one. We (2 ppl) had booked a twin room (you can choose with fan or aircon, aircon isa bit more expensive) with a fan, but actually got one with both. :) Room was clean, beds were nice, bed clothing clean. There was no hot water though, but being in Vic Falls (hot anyway) i guess we survived :)

Breakfast is not included, you buy something from something like a b-fast bar, it was nice, althouhg 8 USD for an omlett, kind a ripoff.

The hostel is the place to be in Vic Falls- Friday and Saturday is the party place :) turns into this cool disco, with live musci, local visitors, not only tourists.

Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmizorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This backpackers is excellently placed to get around Vic Falls, it has great decor and environment but sadly both need a bit of care and love. Durning our three night stay in the middle of the week there was a party every night with the music so loud our dorm room door rattled, the music does always get switched off at midnight but it can just be a bit much when you are trying to relax and get to know people. If I could suggest that the backpackers still holds these parties as they are fun but they are clear on what evenings there will be loud music and on the other evenings they hold quiz nights or game nights, so that there is still engagement for travellers and local people. Also the bathrooms in the main block whilst clean are very run down and could do with a little care and attention. It's a great place with a great atmosphere just seems to have gotten a little lost along the way :(.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Shannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

its just the place to relax beside the pool for a nice book after having breakfast.
the food was real good at any point of time, although it was a bit crowded yet they didn't keep you hungry :)
the guys at the bar are really friendly and always had the right music to put the whole group in the mood.
theirs an old pool table around beside the bar, enjoy your drink as you play (winners keeps playing till they are beaten up).
great place for kids too, planning to take my wife and daughter next time I travel this year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Chose Shoestrings because we were on a budget. The private rooms seemed overpriced given their condition so we went for the dorm - which was fine for the price. (Bring your bug spray: not all dorm beds had mosquito nets).

The commons area were spacious and the wifi, although not free, worked well.

Also has a pool, restaurant and activities desk.

There are three bathrooms for the dorm rooms to share, which seemed sufficient even though one of the three didn't properly lock.

If you're a light sleeper, be warned, this seemed to be the place to be after 9pm and the loud bar music goes strong till God knows when (we went to bed close to midnight - music was still bumpin').

Would have liked the guest kitchen to be a bit cleaner and better stocked too.

All that being said, it's a chill place and you can manage your needs there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

went there with a few friends and found it to have a great atmosphere, very relaxed and often had live music come and play at the bar, all activities easily accessible from the area. the rooms were good for how cheap they were and the bar similarly so!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1aur1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We spent new years 2014 here.
It's a real back packer vibe. But for the younger adventurous travellers, it's great fun though. Walking distance from town.

When we arrived it was extremely packed and all that was left were the campsite, which was really, just any spot you feel like using.

Zimbabwe in general is expensive, considering the dollar to the rand, but they are reasonable.

Not a bad stay, would go again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Victoria Falls Backpackers
#6 of 38 in Victoria Falls
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodge...
#11 of 38 in Victoria Falls
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flatdog Lodge
Flatdog Lodge
#10 of 38 in Victoria Falls
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 West Dr, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £11 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brightly coloured backpackers is a short five miniute walk from town. There is 24 hour security, a lively bar, a small restaurant that makes the best pizzas in town, self-catering kitchen, a swimming pool, DSTV and two very friendly dogs. The staff are very helpful and can assist you with all activity bookings and information on onward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing