We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, unhelpful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's central location is probably the best thing about this place. Dorm rooms were comfortable and clean.

The staff weren't helpful or overly friendly. I don't even know if this is a place to come for a party, it's just noisy. We only stayed one night but the music was stupidly loud with only the staff enjoying it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ccknight23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked into shoestrings over the new year and although we knew it would be basic we expected a higher standard of cleanliness and friendliness. We waited over 1 1/2hours for a pizza with rude staff glaring when we asked questions. Give a miss

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank OldLadyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent two wonderful nights at this place. The pool and garden area are really beautiful. Really nice art surrounding. Great priced spa with good Swedish massage.

Our double ebsuite room was small and clean. Big parties go on at night, but our room was far enough away that we weren't bothered! The atmosphere at night was fun with the World Cup.

Ask for the doubles the furthest away from the bar and the noise will be ok.

Leon went way above and beyond when my phone broke...he spent about an hour trying to fix it!

Everyone was incredibly kind and friendly! Great experience.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jen48043275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We camped for four nights at Shoestrings. We liked the vibe but if you want to fall asleep before 12 pm, it ain't happening, even if you have a room. The staff was accommodating, the location was convenient. The showers were basic/next to primitive but they shot hot water so that's a plus. Food was ok. Drinks were good and they work off a ticket system for the tab. We found it to be convenient this way. The kitchen was well stocked with basic utensils for cooking. I'm in my thirties and found I was probably a tad too old to be staying there but as a group, we weren't unhappy with the spot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are young and looking for a place to party with lots of other young travelers as well as locals, consider this place. If you value quiet and comfort, try someplace else. The place turns into the town's only bar at night and music is thumping until midnight or so. It is well located in the heart of town and the staff is very nice. They don't take credit cards though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a party pit. It may be great for some, but wasn't quite our style. Very rasta, which is cool, but the food was not good and I had to go up and ask after it and carry it to our table. We had to put a deposit on our towels. When we went to the room it was super small, had a board up for a bathroom door, and the mosquito net was in bad shape. There were no sheets on the bed, so we went outdoors and got some off the line. There appeared to be blood or something that looked suspiciously like it on the wall and it was pretty much dirty. It was a place to crash for the night, but we promptly got up and walked a short walk down to Victoria Falls Rest Camp and got a Chalet that was very nice for $10 cheaper a night! It may be for some (young backpackers that don't mind some filth), but wasn't for us, even though we love to camp and getting dirty is a-okay.

Room Tip: Our experience was pretty bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm for $10 per night. The location is about 30 mins walk from the Zimbabwean/Zambian border crossing, but there will be plenty of locals accommpanying (read: harrasing) you through the town so they'll show you the way while also showing you their trillion dollar notes! The setting itself is nice with some art and souvenir stands insdie the backpacker gates.

They have a bar and eating area. Drinks here are expensive compared to half an hour away in backpackers in Zambia. You pay $2 for a beer compared to down the town of Vic Falls, where in certain local bars they cost $1. Food seems like good value but the portions are served on very small plates. Paying $2 for a cup of tea or coffee is not backpacker style!

The music plays from about 10am til midnight and gets louder as the day goes by. Lots of local guys drink here at night (don't know how they can afford it, unless they get it at a chaper rate) and at one stage I was the only mzungu girl with about 15 local lads; other guests had moved on to another bar.

There is hot water, but some shower taps do not work so it's hit and miss - try them all out first.

They have lockers in the communal seating area but none in the rooms.

There are only a few keys for each room, so the first night I had to get off the top bunk to let in a late night partier knocking at 2am! (You can't leave the keys for roommates at reception as they close at midnight and pull the shutters down.) Then the cleaning staff start making noise and chatting around 7am, so no opportunity for a lie in.

The swimming pool defintiely is not clean! Generally the water in pools should reflect the colour of the sky, right? I'm sure people use the pool for other reasons.

Shoestrings is about a half hour walk to the falls.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryGirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Victoria Falls Backpackers
#6 of 40 in Victoria Falls
218 reviews
1 mi away
Mopani Lodge
Mopani Lodge
#4 of 9 in Victoria Falls
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shearwater Explorers Village
Shearwater Explorers Village
#5 of 40 in Victoria Falls
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoestrings Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 West Dr, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £21 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brightly coloured backpackers is a short five miniute walk from town. There is 24 hour security, a lively bar, a small restaurant that makes the best pizzas in town, self-catering kitchen, a swimming pool, DSTV and two very friendly dogs. The staff are very helpful and can assist you with all activity bookings and information on onward travel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing