We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great ending..”

The Rainforest Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The perfect stop after a long, yet awe inspiring walk through the World Heritage Site.The Rainforest Cafe situated at the heart of the Victoria Falls Rainforest, offers sumptuous food, cool shade among the lush vegetation of this unique eco-system and a chance to relax before continuing onto your next adventure.Whether enjoying a delicious meal and much needed cold drink or simply sampling the divine coffee and heavenly homemade cakes, the powerful roar of this most majestic of waterfalls in the background enhances the ambiance of a tasty meal in a wonderful setting.Adjacent to the Cafe is the Interpretive Centre with information boards containing facts on the mighty Victoria Falls. There is also a lovely shop where visitors can purchase small gifts to remember their remarkable experience to the Victoria Falls.Groups are welcome and can book in advance. Those clients who merely wish to visit the restaurant or shop without proceeding to view the Falls will not be charged park fees.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having spent the last two hours viewing the Falls in all their glory, imagine our surprise when we came across this delightful cafe. I remember the controversy this cafe caused, but I can only say that surely it must benefit all who ultimately visit. The cafe blends in perfectly with the surroundings. The staff are welcoming and offer towels with which to dry yourself off. Ablutions are convenient and clean. A far cry from 25 yrs. before. We ordered two large cappuccinos and one crocodile tail wrap. I loved the presentation of both - the coffee on a teak board with a amarula shot, chocolate biscotti and glass of water. The wrap with chilli, garlic and ketchup. Total $21 - value for money. Thank you for such a pleasant experience.

Thank Zickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thankyou so much for such a complimentary review, it helps keeps everyone focused and motivated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Falls are fantastic....but wet. Great to have a cup of coffee -- with some Amarula cream-- when you reach the end of the trail.

1  Thank SANDRA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank-you for positive observations, the coffee is Zimbabwean grown and has proved very popular with customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stopped by the cafe for lunch between walks along Victoria Falls. The cafe has a nice variety of options available & our food/drinks were great.

1  Thank Tracy8012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for taking time to provide a review - and for being so complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived here very wet after touring the falls . The waitress offered us towels to dry down , offered us coffee with amarula, something we would not have thought of but which was great, and then we had two chicken options which were lovely. Could not fault it. Then it went wrong. Our waitress explained another waitress( waitress2)had rung the sales to us through the till, (she mentioned something about a thumbprint)and therefore would collect our payment. Waitress 2 was therefore entitled under house rules to the tip. Waitress 1 then asked us not to tip waitress 2 but pay the bill and then signal secretly to waitress 1 to come over and pick up the tip. I got to admit I was laughing out loud at this, but did ask waitress 1 why they didn't share tips. I was told that wasn't the way it worked. I suggest the management look closely at this as this is team culture problem. I found it funny but it places customers in an awkward position and shows a poor management culture

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Couldn't agree more - this is a disappointing occurence, and has served to turn what would have otherwise been a good experience on your behalf (and no doubt a good review), into a negative experience. Seems a bit of a farce, so will have management investigate to ensure we don't get a repetition. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After the hike along the falls we were soaking wet and I was hungry. When we got to the Cafe we were immediately offered fresh towels to dry out, a nice gesture. There are places in the sun, under shade trees or under the roof to choose from. I had pasta and my companions had different types of coffee. Everything was perfect, and the service was excellent, although a bit slower than what we are used to, but this is Africa, and we were on vacation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WolfyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share such a positive review. The high water will continue to be with other for a bit, so a place of refuge and dryness is still much in demand at this time. As the water levels drop and temperatures increase, many are in need of a rest and refreshment due to soaring temperatures. Either way we seem to operate as a kind of Oasis - on top of all else we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing