We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

The Rainforest Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The perfect stop after a long, yet awe inspiring walk through the World Heritage Site.The Rainforest Cafe situated at the heart of the Victoria Falls Rainforest, offers sumptuous food, cool shade among the lush vegetation of this unique eco-system and a chance to relax before continuing onto your next adventure.Whether enjoying a delicious meal and much needed cold drink or simply sampling the divine coffee and heavenly homemade cakes, the powerful roar of this most majestic of waterfalls in the background enhances the ambiance of a tasty meal in a wonderful setting.Adjacent to the Cafe is the Interpretive Centre with information boards containing facts on the mighty Victoria Falls. There is also a lovely shop where visitors can purchase small gifts to remember their remarkable experience to the Victoria Falls.Groups are welcome and can book in advance. Those clients who merely wish to visit the restaurant or shop without proceeding to view the Falls will not be charged park fees.
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Riverside Café turned out to be a perfect place to start and end our visit to the falls.

The make very good coffee and the cappuccino was served on a wood board with a glass of water and a liquor. That's a first.

Our food was tasty and nicely presented.

Service was a bit slow at first but improved during our meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I would like to think finishing up at the cafe having stated their is as good a commendation as anyone could give. Appreciate the complimentary views - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 457 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I ate a crocodile wrap after having spend 2,5 hrs by the falls. It tasted very nice, the staff was polite and I did not have to wait for too long. Besides, I used the waiting time watching the exhibition and shopping in the nice souvenir shop. The food is a bit expensive, but not more than expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Indium_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good of you to take time to share your observations, and very gratified you enjoyed your crocodile wrap. We do try and keep prices as competitive as possible, and I am sure you appreciate the extra costs involved with such a prime location. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Usually a restaurant adjacent to a tourist attraction is nothing more than a cafetaria serving some sandwiches, pasta and steaks. So with a lot of doubts we stepped into this place. The choice on the menu was however very diversified so we tried our luck. Fish (bream), steak (medium rare was medium rare), burger (kids you know), and chicken were remarkably well presented and accompanied by veggies, taste was great. Service was accurate and friendly. And not more expensive than anywhere else in town. We didn't regret it.

2  Thank 111HelenGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Our objective is always to try and surpass expectations - so thrilled we managed to achieve that. Truly appreciative of the praiseworthy comments - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were soaked after the visit to the Victoria Falls, which was expected as we stood practically next to the falls. We were expecting just a simple sandwich and coffee but were pleasantly surprised at the variety of vegetarian options on the menu. All freshly made, too. We ordered one veg wrap to try and as soon as it came, we had to add another to the order. Lovely cappuccino to go with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Beejay_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Very pleasing you found the Rainforest Cafe so serendipitous, and we do unashamedly pride our selves on hand made everything - bread, pasta, juices. The vegetarian options are very good and we do get many compliments on them - not just from meat avoiders. Appreciate the review - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We thought it looked nice so in we went and were pleasantly surprised by the good coffee with a liquor. We also had some cake, all nicely presented and friendly staff. Despite some of the other reviews we thought it was it was a good choice especially as you are a captive audience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the compliments, we remain focused on achieving the highest standards in all we do. Juices are freshly squeeze, fresh Zimbabwean coffee for our grinders, all rolls paninis and bread baked fresh from dough made ourselves, and all pasta made by hand by our chefs. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing