We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on our way back from the falls”

The Rainforest Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The perfect stop after a long, yet awe inspiring walk through the World Heritage Site.The Rainforest Cafe situated at the heart of the Victoria Falls Rainforest, offers sumptuous food, cool shade among the lush vegetation of this unique eco-system and a chance to relax before continuing onto your next adventure.Whether enjoying a delicious meal and much needed cold drink or simply sampling the divine coffee and heavenly homemade cakes, the powerful roar of this most majestic of waterfalls in the background enhances the ambiance of a tasty meal in a wonderful setting.Adjacent to the Cafe is the Interpretive Centre with information boards containing facts on the mighty Victoria Falls. There is also a lovely shop where visitors can purchase small gifts to remember their remarkable experience to the Victoria Falls.Groups are welcome and can book in advance. Those clients who merely wish to visit the restaurant or shop without proceeding to view the Falls will not be charged park fees.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food on our way back from the falls”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were just going to have a hot chocolate on the way back from being soaked by the Falls! The food looked so good and tasted the same

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Very gratifying you stopped and had lunch with us and that you have taken time to share your appraisal. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    217
    51
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality in the midst of Beauty”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After enjoying the beauty and majesty of the Victoria Falls, I held my breath as I approached the cafe in the park, thinking "Ok, get ready to overpay for mediocre food and drink". I was pleasantly and thankfully surprised. The food was delicious. I had a sweet potatoe soup and it was DELICIOUS. The service was excellent. Our waiter, Darlington, patiently and professionally answered questions and handled all concerns quickly and with class. I cannot say enough about this place. The assistant manager was friendly and shared helpful information about our next city, Bulowayo. The prices were not excessive and the quality of the coffee and meal just topped off a wonderful time at the falls. I could say because of Rainforest cafe that I had a perfect ending to a perfect outing. Thanks guys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank road_lover930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a thoroughly charming review, and certainly your comments concur with the standards we are seeking to set. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had lunch here on the advice of Vic Falls residents. After an enjoyable walk to the falls we were both hungry and thirsty. The Rainforest Cafe doesn't look very special but as a group of 8 adults we all enjoyed both the meal and the service we received here. We ordered a cross selection of salads, chicken wraps and burgers and chips - all delicious and well presented. We didn't have to wait too long and as it was busy, this was impressive. Our waitress was well mannered and had the most quirky sense of humour which was refreshing. I note that some reviews consider it to have been rather pricey but having eaten out at a few other spots, it's really on a par with most of them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Truly appreciate the review and it was decent of your local friends to recommend us - which is as good a commendation as you can get. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Riverside Café turned out to be a perfect place to start and end our visit to the falls.

The make very good coffee and the cappuccino was served on a wood board with a glass of water and a liquor. That's a first.

Our food was tasty and nicely presented.

Service was a bit slow at first but improved during our meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I would like to think finishing up at the cafe having stated their is as good a commendation as anyone could give. Appreciate the complimentary views - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A bit expensive, however the food is good and the atmosphere nice”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I ate a crocodile wrap after having spend 2,5 hrs by the falls. It tasted very nice, the staff was polite and I did not have to wait for too long. Besides, I used the waiting time watching the exhibition and shopping in the nice souvenir shop. The food is a bit expensive, but not more than expected.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indium_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at The Rainforest Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good of you to take time to share your observations, and very gratified you enjoyed your crocodile wrap. We do try and keep prices as competitive as possible, and I am sure you appreciate the extra costs involved with such a prime location. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing