We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good company to deal with!”

Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Whitewater Rafting on the Zambezi River from Victoria Falls
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Bungee Jump, Bridge Swing or Zipline from the Victoria Falls Bridge
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Sunset Cruises on the Zambezi River from Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Instead of immediately embarking on that arduous climb at the end of an amazing day of rafting adventure from rapids #1 to #21, seize the opportunity to camp overnight in the depths of the gorge on one of the pristine riverside beaches used exclusively for Shearwater clients. Enjoy complete peace and serenity as the light fades and the starry African blanket is revealed. Raft again next day.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked a whole load of excursions with Shearwater over the Christmas period & we enjoyed all the experiences greatly. Easy to book from hone via email & prompt response to queries etc.
Lion Walk was cancelled & they refunded promptly without fuss.
Only critism was that details on durations of trips & what to wear etc where lacking, so it was difficult to plan other things around their trips. Apart from that really good experience & would recommend.

2  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Chris,

thankyou kindly for your review - most constructive. As you say it is very plausible that visitors have activities booked with us at some point in the day, and maybe even with someone else later - and clothing requirements can vary significantly dependent on activity, time of day etc. It will be well worth our while establishing with customers their whole itinerary for the day so we can be proactive in clothing and other recommendations - no one wants to be shuttling back and forth to hotels. Very useful feedback, thanks a bunch.

Shearwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Shearwater staff are some of the friendliest and accommodating people I have had the pleasure of dealing with. I booked rafting, bungee and Livingston Island High Tea & Falls Swim through Snow, her enthusiasm made our experiences something to look forward to & we were not disappointed - being held by the ankles literally a few feet away from the edge of the Victoria Falls in the fast flowing current of the Zambezi must go down as one of the most exhilarating experiences I have had. I highly recommend Shearwater

1  Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for the complimentary review and delighted you had such a memorable experience - the falls at different times of year offer varying experiences. Right now it is high water so with 625 million litres of water crashing over the falls every minute, getting close to the edge as you did is impossible - it makes for a highly impressive spectacle however.

Yours in edginess,

Shearwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sunset cruise, Elelphant back safari and Rhino night drive combo, Lion encounter, Airport transfers.The Shearwater professionalism took me by surprise. On time for every activity, with well informed guides and they've got all their processes down pat. Security and safety briefings before each activity gave a sense of comfort.Highly recommended.

2  Thank johntui
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShearwaterVicFalls, Manager at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear John,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you.
Hope you can bring the whole family next time!
Have a lovely festive season.

Adventurous Regards,
The Shearwater Team



Shearwater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great time!
We have rafted in a few locations around the world and this was the best, so much fun but definitely challenging. We went in November when the water level is quite low. This means the rocks are quite exposed and apparently the rapids are more... well, rapid! We were challenged physically!
First the walk down is hard on the thighs if you are not fit. Its down a steep (at times) metal stairs, then over smooth volcanic rocks before slipping down in to the raft. My legs were a bit wobbly before we even hit the river!
Then the moment the guide starts his briefing you know you are in for a ride. The safety brief is terrifying in itself but they take safety very seriously and we were pleased to see the professionalism of our guide, Stuart. The safety kayakers came over and introduced themselves, also professional and friendly. Then we started and Stuart expertly guided through the rapids, each time giving a thorough briefling on how the rapid would look and the best way to attack it. He sometimes gave us options and the odds of us going for a swim. He classified each rapid and even the different ways we could go- class 5 here, class 3 there... he really knows this river inside and out. Fantastic guy, funny too with some (no doubt well worn) jokes to keep us laughing throughout.
All went well until we hit the Devils Toilet Bowl (really) and got well and truly FLUSHED. We capsized (no real idea what happened but one second we were paddling in to a white water maelstrom and then we were swimming!). Instantly their well practiced emergency procedures and our training sprang in to action. In seconds Stuart had climbed on top of the upside down raft and was giving us clear instructions, the kayakers rounded up the two who had drifted off and they were picked up by another raft. Our missing equipment was finally returned to us and we climbed back in to the raft, slightly wide eyed and buzzing on adrenalin. Talk about exciting!
We did 19 rapids and had two other minor swimming incidents. Stuart perefctly judged our group and saw we loved the buzz so hit some of the wilder parts of the river. He also co-ordinated us in rescue of other rafters from another operation who capsized some 4 times up river from us, in fact one of their rafters wanted to stay with us, she had no faith in their guide!
Interestingly the other raft from our group had older rafters, mostly first timers and in their 50's and 60's. Their guide was clearly taking care to avoid the big water and they had a great time too by not capsizing.
Finally we reached the end of the 35km ride and then the worst part. 250 vertical meters (750 feet) up a 3 in 1 slope that killed our thhighs again, in fact it took our legs 5 days to recover... need to invest in a Stairmaster!
At the top was a tasty lunch and drinks before we rode in a bumpy truck back to Vic Falls.
Make no mistake, this is a physically challenging adventure from start to finish. Our guide, Staurt, made a great river in to a fantastic experience and we made sure we tipped him (although sadly no-one else did).
Do it, you will never forget it!

2  Thank s1monmar5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Manager at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Simon,

Thank you so much for reliving the memories so vividly, the Zambezi is known to create lasting memories. We are pleased you had a fantastic time all round.
Wishing you a fun-filled festive season and an adventurous 2014!

The Shearwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Shearwater Adventures offers all the typical Victoria Falls excursions, including airport transfers, at a reasonable price with prompt, professional staff. From the start of booking Shearwater was easy to deal with. The various guides/drivers were knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend Shearwater Adventures.

2  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearwaterVicFalls, Manager at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Katherine,

Many thanks for taking the time to drop a review on our page. We continuously make efforts to meet and exceed clients' expectations therefore your pat on the back is much appreciated.

Have a great festive season.

Adventurous Regards,

The Shearwater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Shearwater Victoria Falls - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing