We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lodge Near Victoria Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Lodge Near Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed with my wife and 2 teenage girls for 3 nights in July 2014. While I think most people probably visit this area just to see Victoria Falls, this lodge adds so much more to the experience. The lodge is about 30-40 minutes from the airport in Zimbabwe and you get to the lodge by safari vehicle and boat. On the way to the lodge we saw elephants and giraffes as well as other wildlife.The lodge is on the Zambezi river and you are virtually "in the wild". There are warthogs on the grounds as well as other animals. When dark, you need to be escorted to your room by the lodge staff. The luxury tents are beautiful. They are partially screened so you will hear the wildlife at night and you may have a few small bugs in the room but this only adds to a truly authentic experience. Be aware that the nights also get cool during the African winter. The view of the river from our tent was beautiful and we could see the spray from the falls from our back porch. They offer both water and land safaris and both supplied rewarding wildlife sightings. We had a gentleman named White as our boat captain who could not do more for us. When taking us to the airport by boat, White went out of his way to show us hippos and crocodiles as we departed. Our land safari ranger was Clever who also did an awesome job. One evening after dinner, Clever heard the roar of a lion and several of us jumped into a safari vehicle with Clever for an impromptu drive in search of the lion.The food was delicious and the drinks were plentiful.The manager Amanda was extremely helpful and accommodating as was Sabrina. Staying at the Zambezi Crescent is a great choice if you visit Zimbabwe and want to enhance your experience beyond just visiting Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    35
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
78
141
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

5 star accommodations all the way. This is the real deal!! Right on the Zambezi River with baboons, hippo, crocs, impala, kudu. Food is great and staff is very knowledgable and nice. I would love to go back. It doesn't get any better than this place. It could be very romantic also with private cabanas, or you can all hang out together in the common areas. Evening boat cruises are just beautiful.

They were very accommodating for our family of 12. Kids had a great time. If you're going to Victoria Falls, you won't find anything better. Book it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are private. Some have a cold dunk tank/jacuzzi tub on their balcony. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife, daughter and Self spent 3 nights at this lodge!
After battling the inane Immigration post (if you want to call it that) at the "ant-type airport" where 3 planes dis-gorged their passengers and 2 "officials" (I use the term loosely) were operating this post. After nearly 40 minutes of 1 person taking your passport and the other writing it up and collecting your entry visa money in US Dollars we were met by a very cheerful man who was going to transport us to Victoria Falls River Lodge.
We were taken to a river where we were met by a guide from the camp named "Clever"...and yes he most certainly was...we were going by river to our camp...what a treat!
Clever decided we were in need of cold water...or maybe a cold beer...I needed the cold beer where the girls had water...for now...the sooks!! What a way to travel...it was brilliant! After 20 minutes we arrived at the camp....talk about a bush camp...it was amazing..plus our first animals were to be seen...2 "camp warthogs" greeted us to by grunting and rooting around for weeds!
We were met at the wharf by 1 of the Manager named Sabrina and later by another Amanda. We were informed of all the good stuff that does happen and also the bad stuff...like after 5:30pm if you want to go walkies you don't ...well not by your own but with a guide...just in case an elephant, lion, nasty bush doggie..you get the point wants to eat you!
The reason being is because it's a National park to wild life...and these animals are not restricted to where they go...even through the camp area....NOW you know that this is a different ball game...the animals and NOT yours.
We were shown to our "tent or camp"...this camp or tent was bigger than our Unit...it was huge but fitted out to a 5 star tent or camp. Huge bathroom with and inside and outside showers, huge balconies to watch the Zambisie River go by but the tent was built up to about 4 ft...very very comfortable. Tea and coffee, biscuits, wash you bodies "smellies" for females and males and the fridge was stocked with soft drinks...and beers!
Meals....meals...meals....you cannot go hungry here...breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner...plus the bar was open or if it was not someone of the staff will make it so.
That afternoon we went of a afternoon river safari on their boat with some other guests....THIS is the life....hard as it maybe I began to love this life....we saw Hippos, crocs, elephants, birds...and another beer and some more food to much on whilst wetting your whistle...all of this with the smiling faces of the staff in "Clever and Justine" the boys done a wonderful job and always smiling...we got to poke fun at Justine and the mention of crocs....poor Justine could not swim to well but he informed us that he can "run on water really well!
Saw a magnificent sunset amongst the munching and drinking plus the 12-15 other boats on the river as well!
Mornings were early at 6am for a 6:30am start for a safari drive with the lead Ranger by the name of Nofias...who was a mass of info...he taught us a quick way of the animals and the tracks or footprints they leave when walking.
NOW people...it gets COLD in the morning so that's why our truck had nice warm blankets to keep us that way...mind you we had gloves and beanies with thick jackets on just to be sure....in keeping warm and comfortable.
The difference between a private game park and a National Game park is in a National Game Park YOU must stick to the set tracks set down...if you see some game of track you wait for it to come for you...or you have to find your game and hope it heads your way....in a private game park if you see some game of track you just do a left or right turn and go for it!!
Nofias was really full of info...and after 2 hours of seeing what we could see in birds, buffaloes, elephants, giraffes, zebra's we decided to have morning tea!!
Then we hit the trail again for another hour before getting back to the Lodge for breakfast...can have cereals, fruits, etc then finish with a hot breakfast...yeppo..eggs anyway you like them with bacon, meats sausages and then you can waddle back to your tent where the beds were made, blinds were pulled up and just flop into your chair!
This was the scenario for the afternoon safari but in reverse...afternoon tea and sunset...very civilized...gin n tonic anyone or a wine...maybe a beer...life's tough isn't it!
Dinner...3 courses with cheese n biscuits later if you desire...the staff got to know us by putting a couple bottles of champers in the fridge for us for pre-dinner drinks and dinner as well...we were on first name bases.....wonderful!!
The lodge has it's own swimming pool...bit to cold for swimming except for children....also a shuttle bus into Victoria Falls
itself to have a look around and maybe walk the Falls!
The staff...let me see. Sabrina, Amanda, Clever, Justine and Nofias...and please excuse me if I miss-spelt your names but were just everywhere to either help you along, serve you or just laugh and joke with you! ALl of the staff were the same...what fun it all was!!
Would I recommend the Victoria Falls River Lodge...SURE CAN!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2...but then again I have been told the numbering will be change as they are adding 2 new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAngryAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I kicked off our honeymoon with two wonderful nights at Victoria Falls River Lodge; it was the perfect beginning to our trip. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a drink and a friendly smile from Amanda (Lodge Manager) and the other staff members.

The view of the Zambezi River from the lobby/common area is lovely. Both the lobby/common area and our room, which was very spacious, are nicely decorated in a modern, but slightly rustic outdoor bush motif.

The river cruise was amazing; great game viewing (elephants, hippos, several species of birds, crocodiles, baboons, impalas, etc.) and our guide, White, was warm and knowledgeable.

The food was good; we were impressed by the richness and flavor of the soups served at dinner and I fell in love with the Crunchies, a breakfast bar similar to a granola bar.

It was exciting and nerve-racking to see animals wandering around the Lodge.

Overall, we had a relaxing and enjoyable experience at the Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Victoria Falls River Lodge was a wonderful experience and its location truly stunning. The accommodation was truly lovely and the beds so comfortable. The Staff were so welcoming from the time we stepped off the vehicle and our whole stay was a real delight, and we were made to feel so relaxed by the easy, welcome and engaging manner of all the staff and the service throughout was very personal. Well done and thank you to all the staff and Clever and White on the boat. The evening river cruises are truly stunning and in such a wonderful boat, one can only feel very pampered and special. The un-rushed and relaxed atmosphere made for a wonderful visit and set in the National Park made it very special and where we were lucky to see a large amount of game. The transport provided to reach the Victoria Falls was most appreciated and really made the whole stay very special. Already there is talk of "when to return". An inspired building Mark - we were so impressed. What vision you have. Thank you everyone for making our recent visit so memorable.

Room Tip: As the chalets are spaced well apart, so if walking a distance is a matter to consider, do ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Victoria Falls River Lodge provides an excellent experience in Victoria Falls. It's located 10 minutes away from the city but inside the national park where you can feel the wild life very closely. It offers game drives and boat cruises every day.
- the lodge arranges all the activities and guests don't need to worry about absolute nothing.
- staff is extremely kind, careful and worried about guests welfare.
- rooms are very large with beautiful resting area and a nice balcony to the zambezi river.

An unforgettable and relaxing experience that we want to repeat as soon as possible.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good but the nearest to the main area seem to be quieter with less animals wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wow! Amazing accommodations, delicious food, a beautiful setting, and amazing staff. There is not a better hotel in the area. We enjoyed first class service with personal attention to every detail. Sabrina, Kate, Shane, Clever and the rest of the team make you feel as if the lodge is yours! And the animals....the game drives and views are incredible. No better spot in Zimbabwe!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
362 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
803 reviews
4.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
198 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent

Property: Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Address: Zambezi National Park | Kandahar, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Zambezi River, within the Zambezi National Park (Zimbabwe), Victoria Falls River Lodge is the ideal place from which to explore Victoria Falls. The combination of fine dining, luxurious accommodation and an exceptional African Safari experience with one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World - the spray of which can be seen in the distance – ensures an unforgettable experience that will leave guests wanting to return again, and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing