We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit - avoid the local hawkers!”

Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist Village is a vibrant mix of local artists, retailers, artisan studios, all working within in the cool tropical garden courtyard. The funky Africa Cafe serves delicious light meals and drinks whilst the Nam Tok Restaurant upstairs offer afro asian traditional foods. There is a museum which shows the material and visual culture of the peoples of the region - entry is free. Crocodile Cage diving can be experienced, a visit with out local Nyanaga (witchdoctor) or you can just sit under the palm trees and watch the world go by!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - avoid the local hawkers!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This shopping area comprises if a number if craft and curio shops plus a cafe with very comfortable seating. To get to it first check a map.....once you are on the correct road (Adam Stander Drive) you must first "navigate" the locals who will point you in other directions - all quoting Crafts Centre! Just keep going and you will find the Elephant Walk immediately behind Soper's Curios. There is a really good selection of hand made items from sculpture, jewellery, leather etc and the quality is much higher than the items in sale at the other "Craft Centres" that the local lads point you to! Best of all, the stall holders let you look without pestering you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEW, Owner at Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for your review on our Shopping Village. We pride ourselves in ensuring that we represent some of the best arts and design that Zimbabwe has to offer and your recognition of this quality is much appreciated! We have beefed up our signage to our village in the form of a giant metal elephant pointing the way from the main road and our famous life sized Rhino - Twalumba - (built out of recycled cans) is positioned by our entrance. Please do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but not too well signposted”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This shopping area comprises if a number if craft and curio shops plus a cafe with very comfortable seating. To get to it first check a map.....once you are on the correct road (Adam Stander Drive) you must first "navigate" the locals who will point you in other directions - all quoting Crafts Centre! Just keep going and you will find the Elephant Walk immediately behind Soper's Curios. There is a really good selection of hand made items from sculpture, jewellery, leather etc and the quality is much higher than the items in sale at the other "Craft Centres" that the local lads point you to! Best of all, the stall holders let you look without pestering you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CfabEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEW, Owner at Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for you extremely nice review and your observation about Elephant's Walk not being easy to find. You galvanised us into action and our skilled group of artists had great fun re-purposing a life size scrap metal elephant who now stands proudly on the junction of the main road. She is holding a huge arrow with her trunk, proudly pointing the way to our Village! The foot traffic has improved, feedback has been great, so thank you for pointing this out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The best place to shop in Vic Falls”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Shopping in Victoria Falls is frequently exhausting and full of hassles. This place is the exception. The prices are marked, so no haggling is required. The shops are clean, spacious, and full of an amazing array of local art and crafts. The staff in each store are friendly and will leave you alone to browse. The visitor should be cautioned that to get here is not so straightforward. It is located behind the post office, immediately downhill from the train tracks. However, once past the post office you have to walk past a number of other shops and kiosks to get to the place, and as you do so, expect to be accosted by a large number of very pesky vendors. Just keep walking, giving them a polite "no thank you", and you will make it to this place without further trouble. This array of shops also includes a very nice cafe where you can have anything from a simple cold drink to a full meal. Be sure to visit the display of the arts and crafts of local tribes, where there is not much for sale but with some very informative materials.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEW, Owner at Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and review on Elephant's Walk. I am sorry it has taken so long to respond to your review, but I have only just managed to work out how to do it! You will be pleased to know that your comment about finding us has been taken to heart and we have had great fun with our artists re-purposing a life size scrap metal elephant who proudly stands on the junction of the main road pointing the way to Elephant's Walk. We hope to have you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Take cash or travelers cheques!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There is great shopping to be had in the open air market in Victoria Falls, and this is the closest "traditional" shopping area near it. I'm still craving some items that I wanted to buy there, but was not able to due to a long drawn-out rigamarole regarding credit cards. Even though the shops may post credit card signs on their doors, my experience was that they will do anything to avoid taking them -- even if it means losing $700 in sales. One store maintained on a Sunday morning that the phone lines were down, which was not illogical considering the state of the infrastructure in the country. But when another store said they'd take my cc but only for a 20% surcharge -- I realized that the shopkeepers are still paranoid from the not-long-ago days of hyper-inflation. (Even the Fed Ex office wanted cash.) That said -- there are wonderful crocodile handbags and belts, silver elephant-hair bracelets etc. to be had here -- totally different merchandise than the open-air market, which concentrates on carved pieces -- Shona stone, wood etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was an over priced mall so stick with the other shops. That being said, if you are looking for the beautiful bead work seen in Cape Town, head straight to the back and there is a small shop selling lots of the beautiful beads at half the price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank keepmovin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing