We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Wild Horizons Vic Falls Canopy Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vic Falls Canopy Tours offer a network of slides, trails and rope bridge walkways within the canopy of the hardwood forest of the Zambezi gorges. This exciting and scenic activity offers amazing views of the turbulent rapids, the Victoria Falls Bridge and spray of the Falls. The Vic Falls Canopy Tour offers family fun and a unique birds-eye view of one the seven natural wonders of the world.
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What an incredible zip-line experience! Wild Horizons and the guides were incredibly professional and never once did we feel unsafe. The Canopy Tour was amazing and thoroughly enjoyed by our party of 5 that ranged in ages from 10 years to 46 years of age. The views were fabulous and we would do it all again, and again , and again.... fabulous photos and video at the end to remember it all by. TK and Michael were a dream team. Thank you!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank sabgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Canopy tour - plus Weeeeee!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was really fun. The Wild Horizons guides are professional and despite the rustic look and feel of everything, they are very organized, friendly and safety oriented. We were a group of seven and did all of the adrenaline experiences. We did them in order of crazy, starting with the canopy tour, which is very low key and introduces you to the spectacular views of the gorge and lower Zambezi River. You then move on to the Flying Fox, which is a modest zip line that you do with the harness on backwards so you're looking down on the river. Next is the big zip line, which rockets you across the gorge at 60+ mph (100 kph). This definitely blows your hair back and brings on the urge to pee, but the big enchelada is the gorge swing. This has a very high "pucker factor". They put you in two harnesses (safety first) and you're hooked to three lines that travel out to a cable strung across the middle of the gorge, which looks like dental floss, but you try not to think about that. You stand on a platform at the edge of a 230-foot drop and the guide, who looks exactly like Don Cheadle, gives you a safety briefing and some instructions, which you can't hear because you're standing at the edge of a 230-foot drop. Don Cheadle quickly counts down 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 and before you can say Hotel Rwanda he hucks you off the edge. At first you think you've made a terrible mistake as you freefall past the gorge wall just a few feet away and the ground starts coming up fast. Then you have a gigantic rush of relief as your reach the end of the line and start to swing. You are relieved because your last words will not be "oh sh**" and instead you giggle like a little girl and screem "Weeeeeee". They drag you back up panting and wheezing, everyone pats you on the back and someone you can't see thorugh the tears of joy hands you a beer. (I made up that last part, I had to go buy a beer.) I did this one tandem, as in with another person hooked on to me. It's great this way because no one wants to die alone, and the added weight means you fall faster and swing farther. The whole thing was a great time and combined with the exotic beauty of Zimbabwe and Vic Falls, it's the experience of a lifetime. When you get there, tell Don that Steve said hi.

Visited August 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank StephenT303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Very professional and trustable tour operator. I really recommend.
Aaaaaaa cpme and do it. We really enjoied it!

Helpful?
Thank prando79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We walked the falls and bridge in the morning and wanted an activity that wAs fun and a bit adventurous. Bungee n giant swings were a little outside our comfort zone, and not being as young as we once were didn't fancy finding our selfs injured or sore. The canopy tour was just perfect. Looking down the gorge whilst zipping over it was great. The guides helpful. A great end to the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable activity”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The canopy tour consists of nine slides through the canopy of the gorge forest and a short hike through the forest back to the starting point. The two guides who assist you are skilled and most helpful. The trees and the views are wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Horizons Vic Falls Canopy Tour also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Wild Horizons Vic Falls Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing