We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely adored my stay at ilala”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely adored my stay at ilala”
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at the ilala lodge, the staff were so friendly and made your stay fun. The meals were excellent, especially the freshly cooked omelettes for breakfast. Breakfast and evening meals outside on verandah were great. The provisions and facilities in the room were really good. I did stay one night at the victoria falls safari lodge although setting very pleasant there it didn't have the same nice feel that the ilala lodge had.

  • Liked — its style
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    404
    59
    8
    0
See reviews for
196
588
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We really enjoyed Ilala Lodge. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. From our deck we could look out over the game park and see the mist rising from the Falls. The breakfasts were excellent as were the other meals we ate at Ilala. We visited friends staying at Kingdom and The Victoria Falls Hotels and were very thankful that we chose the intimacy of Ilala compared to the pomposity of the other two places.

The real star, of course, is Victoria Falls: Magnificent!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful room and proximity to the Falls
  • Disliked — It was not the fault of Ilala Lodge, but one cannot escape the ongoing tragedy of Zimbabwe.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I agree with the other reviewers that the lodge is good for the area. I did walk down to Victoria Falls, which was amazing. I had dinner in their resturaunt and the meal was good.

The room was okay. I posted picture so you can see for yourself.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank vamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

The Ilala has a great location being one of the closest hotels to Victoria Falls. Numerous tourist police nearby contribute to the safety of walking to and from the Falls and Zambia.
Food is overpriced and not very fresh in some instances, although the worst meal was at the Victory Casino across the street.
Beggars and street merchants are everywhere and very desparate for sales.
The rooms are pleasant (upstairs have a nicer view), the beds, linens and bathroom anemities are quite good. Mosquito nets are provided but we never felt a need for them.
Internet access is not readily available but the staff allowed us to use their computer (very slow access). I also used a computer in the town library and met a delightful librarian.
The local economy is in shambles but the people were friendly and helpful. During the day time we walked into town and the markets several times without worry. No gas available anywhere in town and a flourishing black market in currency.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Californiaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We have just returned from a two week trip to Africa which included 3 nights at the Ilala Lodge. Despite Zimbabwe's current problems, the hotel was fantastic and we really enjoyed our time there. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean and are great value for money. The style of the hotel is colonial and the staff are very friendly and polite. The restaurant was excellent with great food and wine (it was also extremely cheap!). The hotel is very close to the falls which you can walk to and has baboons and warthogs running around on the front lawn. The only criticism would be the hawkers which will hassle you to buy curios but a firm/polite "no thanks" does the trick and they are generally good humored. However, this is not unique to the hotel as tourists will get approached by hawkers everywhere in Vic Falls and you can't really blame them given the situation there. The falls themselves are beautiful and there are lots of activities to do. The hotel can sort these out for you very easily. We would recommend the white water rafting with Shearwater(what an experience!), the cruise on the Zambezi at sunset and the various gorge swings/jumps (terrifying!). We also did the elephant safari and helicopter ride which were a bit disappointing. We flew into Livingstone and ended up having to pay 2 visa fees (one for Zambia and one for Zimbabwe = +$250) so try and fly into Vic Falls airport itself if you can. All in all the Ilala Lodge is a great base to explore Vic Falls and we would definitely go again.

  • Liked — The restaurant and old colonial style
  • Disliked — The hawkers
  • Tips/Secrets — Book an upstairs room with a balcony and book a multi activity ticket for better value.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Scaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I stayed four nights at the Ilala Lodge from June 3rd to 6th. It was wonderful! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The lodge is conveniently location near the falls which is approx a 10 minute walk away. The food was excellent. Guests can book activities through the lodge (we booked a 30-minute scenic flight, elephant safari, jet-boating) - they accept USD travellers checks for the activities. I highly reccommend Ilala.

As two single women travellers, I did worry about the situation in Zimb but we had no problems at all. We walked everywhere. Some of the street vendors were persistent but we replied with a firm 'NO, thank you' and they were off.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2006

My wife and I stayed here for two nights just before the end of 2005 and we found the location to be great (closer to the falls and the market than the VF Hotel). The room was charming and pleasant and Jonah, the manager on premises, really went out of his way to be of service. When we ran into some local tour coordinators not wanting to allow us to use our credit cards (due to the economic situation), Jonah would hear nothing of it and put us in the back of his Landcruiser, drove us a couple of blocks into town to a tour company, talked with the proprietor, and sorted it out for us within a mater of minutes so that we could get our bookings before the afternoon was out! We picked this place because it was a little less expensive than VF Hotel, and really felt that it was a quite satisfying stay. The restaurant is very good by Zim standards, though vegetarian options were lacking somewhat due to supply interruption(again, the economy). Dining on the outside veranda is a must, and very convenient and pleasant, as there is not much else to do around here at night! We would without a doubt highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jasonnewto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing