We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Again”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was my second stay at Ilala Lodge and I enjoyed it as much as the first time. I only stayed overnight. The staff was kind and considerate. My room was very comfortable, and I see no real need for renovation. The barman remembered me from 5 years ago and we had an enjoyable conversation. I needed a new pair of binoculars and was able to find a good pair just up the street. The Falls are a short walk away. My own complaint is that the water in swimming pool is cold. It was nice to see that Victoria Falls had far more tourists than five years ago, and it felt far more "normal."

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Ilala Lodge! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am please to tell you that the weather has warmed up so the swimming pool is more welcoming! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived in the morning coming from Kasane and first we were welcomed by a very friendly team. We checked in and get our room earlier as expected.
Our room with a nice view towards the Vic Falls offered lots of space. I would say the Lodge was built somewhere in the sixties or seventies, but anywhere it is well maintained, clean and proper.
Our walk to the falls was only a 10 minutes stroll.

In the evening we started with a drink at the open bar and had a table on the terrace of the restaurant.
Only with the experience of the next destinations in Zimbabwe we can imagine the quality, superb kitchen, value for money and an outstanding friendly service.
The menue was exeptional and the waiter very intentiv. The wine - most of them from South Africa - very good sortet and fair priced.

The next morning started with a good buffet, fresh made eggs and we later checked out at the friendly desk. All in one and very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelsSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. We at Ilala greatly appreciate the lovely comments you have posted and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. The restaurant has great food and the bar is a good place to relax and have a gin and tonic. The Ilala is within walking distance to Victoria Falls and the Victoria Falls Hotel. There are several banks with ATMs adjacent to the lodge. Be advised the ATMs distribute $100 bills. I was bale to exchange the large bills for smaller ones at the casino across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your your exprience with us and for all you comments.We are more than happy hear that you found Ilala relaxing.We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked our Vic Falls stay and Safari with Expert Africa who were fantastic, really helpful.

Ilala lodge is very nice, great location very clean and well kept. The reception area was very colonial the whole place has this feel and it works perfectly, its very smart and has a lovely atmosphere.

The rooms are slightly dated but this works as the fittings are still of a high quality and reflect the old style colonial feel the place has. Again this works really well. The only thing is the patio doors resemble bars on a door and could be changed to full glass to enhance the views and let more light in. They open onto a deck/grass patio which is open/shared but has nice views and you can see the Vic Falls mist too. We hoped to see some animals here but sadly none were present on our short stay.

Its just a 10-15 min walk to the Vic falls which is great but we did get pestered a little by some street vendors who left us alone after a polite No was repeated. I did see some police type officials who were meant to deter these vendors but they didnt seem to be around when needed. All ok but be aware you are in another country and they don't have much at all but you do.

Vic falls - Truly stunning so glad we went !

After we had a sundowner or two in the lovely open bar at Ilala by the small but smart pool and large open terrace area we watched the sun go down behind the mists of the falls !! Superb...

We had dinner on the terrace of the restaurant and it was excellent, great waiters and no complaints at all.

Its better than we had read and imagined

Room Tip: I prefer higher up but really all ok as you are not in them for long there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking you time to a write a review.We truly appreciate your feedback and we sorry
you did not see the animals during your stay,but just a week ago we had some Bushbucks and our nightly visitor the Hippo coming out to graze.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Ilala for the first two nights of our honeymoon and were treated like royalty! The extra touches were superb and all-round service was exceptional. The food at The Palm Restaurant was 5-star and a real highlight. Very conveniently located and the staff were friendly and helpful. The quality service started before we left thanks to our agent Imagine Africa, who were enormously helpful throughout and we cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFDVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you recieved from the Ilala team.Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Place is nice and clean. Rooms are spacey. Food is very nice. One of the best breakfasts I had in Africa. Very close to the waterfalls and the market. Area might feel a bit dodgy at night but hotel is great. Wi-Fi access to Internet is through scratch cards and you have to log on every time you start yur phone or laptop. Niot that is so important but is nuisance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have changed the internet system at Ilala Lodge to make it more user friendly and scratch cards are no longer necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Ilala! Rooms were very comfortable with great views! Location was superb for all Vic Falls activities. We ate dinner there two nights in a row (unusual for us while traveling) since we enjoyed the food and relaxed ambiance on the patio so much! Breakfasts were delicious with great selection!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed our food at ilala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,485 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £208 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing