We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
840
482
72
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
840
482
72
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floortourist policeclosest hotelmist risingminute walk to the fallssunset cruiseelephant walkwonderful stayhelicopter rideour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We didnt stay here, but we came and had dinner at their restaurant on our last night in the Falls. The food was absolutley delicious! The best meal we had while in the falls, and we ate at Safari Lodge, The Boma and Mama Afrika. The service was great, and it has a lovely view if you sit outside. The Lamb Shank was to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Ilala Lodge in September and would highly recommend it to anyone. Clean, comfortable rooms, great location, amazing food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We planned to eat at a few different restaurants at Victoria Falls, but after eating at Ilala on the first night, we couldn't see any reason to go elsewhere! Breakfast was equally enjoyable. Being so close to the entrance to the park was a bonus. We hoped to drop in there regularly, but as you pay each time you enter ($30 each for Aussies), we soon gave that idea a miss! Still, we did go in for a sunrise and an afternoon viewing. Afternoon was by far the best ... at that time of year, there are many rainbows across the falls in the arvo .. quite spectacular. Should we return to Victoria Falls, we would definitely choose to stay once again at Ilala Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ilala Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Ilala Lodge. We do hope that you will return to the Victoria Falls area and look forward to welcoming you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I really liked this hotel, our initial impression was of an establishment full of African character with it's thatched roof, high open ceilings and walls hung with memorabilia. The staff were a delight, helpful and friendly which set the tone for an enjoyable stay. Our room was on the main level and from our terrace we could see the spray from the falls and hear the water (muted thank goodness). Local wildlife was abundant with wart hogs grazing on the turf in front of the lower bedrooms, baboons looking to raid rooms or tables (one got as far as our patio door, cue loud scream from my wife!) and at supper on our first evening a hippo grazing near the lower bedrooms. The terrace where we ate breakfast (which was excellent - better than the much vaunted spread at the Royal Livingstone across the river) and dined was very attractive as was the bar next to the pool. Apart from breakfast and bar snacks which we really enjoyed I was not wild about the food at dinner, good but not notable.
The lodge definitely is the nearest to the falls on the Zimbabwe side, a 10 minute stroll along the main road would bring you to the entrance. We were picked up in a minibus from the hotel and given a guided tour which saved time but you could easily walk around by yourselves. There is always water on the Zimbabwe side and the spray in August was refreshing rather than drenching which meant no problem taking photos. The lack of railings, particularly as you get to the end, means that you need to be careful.
The lodge is very central to the town of Victoria Falls. As you leave the main entrance there are a couple of banks and the post office behind which lie many soapstone carving and curio shops plus bigger and more sophisticated shops. Across the way from the hotel is the Victoria Falls Hotel, very grand, it reminded me of a large British Army Oficers' Mess plonked down in a magnificent setting in the middle of Africa. Afternoon tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel is a must, delicious, superb service and a bargain compared to London hotels. Along the main street are numerous shops and cafes, the people were warm and friendly and my wife and I felt very relaxed strolling around. Victoria Falls is a pleasant and welcoming town. I have recommended the Ilala Lodge to friends planning to visit the falls next year. I think it is an excellent hotel in a superb location, well run (the manager frequently did his rounds to keep things just right) and with staff who know their job and take pleasure in carrying out their duties.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiltshiremoonraker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your review of Ilala Lodge and your feedback is appreciated. Given our boundry is with the National Parks, the hippo is often seen on our front lawns at night time as is with other wild animals during the day. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day welcome you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can't speak highly enough of the Ilala Lodge, everything from the friendly staff, great location, clean and spacious rooms to the fantastic choice at breakfast just made us want to stay longer. We were here for two nights but would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The falls are so close you can see the spray above the trees - and we were there in the dry season. It wasn't just the hotel staff who were friendly, everyone we met on the street, the tour guides and in the shops and restaurants of Victoria Falls were lovely, friendly people. The only downside for us was the tipping system (which is the same everywhere not just the Ilala Lodge). We had paid a huge amount for our travel package and were left wondering who pockets all the money, as the wonderful staff rely on tips to supplement their wages and we couldn't really afford to tip them as generously as is expected and we would have liked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelowes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for the positive review of Ilala Lodge and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to one day welcome you back to the area and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

At the end of a remarkable safari in Botswana, we went on to see Victoria Falls. While Zimbabwe is not the most stable of places to go, tourism remains strong, the people are friendly and we felt very safe. This lodge is awesome! The room was well appointed, accommodations were comfortable and clean, staff was friendly and the restaurant was excellent for both the venue - great views with very nice outdoor eating and the great food. The lodge is also within walking distance to the falls. During the night we stayed there, a hippo grazed outside our window! We would definitely stay there again. Dave and Therese

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge and appreciate your positive reviews. The hotel borders with the National Parks so animals are often seen on our front lawns - especially our nightly Hippo visitor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews