We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilala Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
761
461
68
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
461
68
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingminute walk to the fallssunset cruiseelephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Kingdom which was OK as it's a great location. But we enjoyed a wonderful, alfresco evening of fine dining at Ilala Lodge which is across the road from the Kingdom. The service, food, ambiance & company great - topped off when we called over to look down onto the lower grassed area to watch a hippo and cape buffalo grazing. And then there was the piano player - and guest who joined him spontaneously with a harmonica and gently entertained us. Thank you to the special staff member who invited us to enjoy this special experience.

Room Tip: I am sorry we didn't stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experiences at Ilala Lodge even though you never stayed with us. The wild animals on our front lawn are a great attraction as we border with the National parks. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner with is and hope that you stay at Ilala Lodge on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The rooms look out onto a grass field through double glass doors. You see lots of wildlife, even from the room. The rooms are fairly plain and clean, comfortable beds. Breakfast is very good. A nice bar opening out of doors. Monkeys jump among the chairs. Friendly staff and a good tour reservation group. The advertisements make it sound as if the falls are right next door. Yes, you can see the fog of the falls in the distance. You can walk to the falls, but don't do it casually since you pay a fairly large admission charge for every entry. You can walk easily into the town, which is almost a frontier type of town, with a few souvenir shops and a grocery store. A couple of good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room on the open space- maybe all the rooms have this feature.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your review of Ilala Lodge is appreciated and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day welcome you back to Victoria Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We didnt stay here, but we came and had dinner at their restaurant on our last night in the Falls. The food was absolutley delicious! The best meal we had while in the falls, and we ate at Safari Lodge, The Boma and Mama Afrika. The service was great, and it has a lovely view if you sit outside. The Lamb Shank was to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Ilala Lodge in September and would highly recommend it to anyone. Clean, comfortable rooms, great location, amazing food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We planned to eat at a few different restaurants at Victoria Falls, but after eating at Ilala on the first night, we couldn't see any reason to go elsewhere! Breakfast was equally enjoyable. Being so close to the entrance to the park was a bonus. We hoped to drop in there regularly, but as you pay each time you enter ($30 each for Aussies), we soon gave that idea a miss! Still, we did go in for a sunrise and an afternoon viewing. Afternoon was by far the best ... at that time of year, there are many rainbows across the falls in the arvo .. quite spectacular. Should we return to Victoria Falls, we would definitely choose to stay once again at Ilala Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ilala Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Ilala Lodge. We do hope that you will return to the Victoria Falls area and look forward to welcoming you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I really liked this hotel, our initial impression was of an establishment full of African character with it's thatched roof, high open ceilings and walls hung with memorabilia. The staff were a delight, helpful and friendly which set the tone for an enjoyable stay. Our room was on the main level and from our terrace we could see the spray from the falls and hear the water (muted thank goodness). Local wildlife was abundant with wart hogs grazing on the turf in front of the lower bedrooms, baboons looking to raid rooms or tables (one got as far as our patio door, cue loud scream from my wife!) and at supper on our first evening a hippo grazing near the lower bedrooms. The terrace where we ate breakfast (which was excellent - better than the much vaunted spread at the Royal Livingstone across the river) and dined was very attractive as was the bar next to the pool. Apart from breakfast and bar snacks which we really enjoyed I was not wild about the food at dinner, good but not notable.
The lodge definitely is the nearest to the falls on the Zimbabwe side, a 10 minute stroll along the main road would bring you to the entrance. We were picked up in a minibus from the hotel and given a guided tour which saved time but you could easily walk around by yourselves. There is always water on the Zimbabwe side and the spray in August was refreshing rather than drenching which meant no problem taking photos. The lack of railings, particularly as you get to the end, means that you need to be careful.
The lodge is very central to the town of Victoria Falls. As you leave the main entrance there are a couple of banks and the post office behind which lie many soapstone carving and curio shops plus bigger and more sophisticated shops. Across the way from the hotel is the Victoria Falls Hotel, very grand, it reminded me of a large British Army Oficers' Mess plonked down in a magnificent setting in the middle of Africa. Afternoon tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel is a must, delicious, superb service and a bargain compared to London hotels. Along the main street are numerous shops and cafes, the people were warm and friendly and my wife and I felt very relaxed strolling around. Victoria Falls is a pleasant and welcoming town. I have recommended the Ilala Lodge to friends planning to visit the falls next year. I think it is an excellent hotel in a superb location, well run (the manager frequently did his rounds to keep things just right) and with staff who know their job and take pleasure in carrying out their duties.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiltshiremoonraker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your review of Ilala Lodge and your feedback is appreciated. Given our boundry is with the National Parks, the hippo is often seen on our front lawns at night time as is with other wild animals during the day. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day welcome you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews