We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$506
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,347)
Filter reviews
1,347 results
Traveller rating
799
470
69
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
470
69
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingsunset cruiseminute walk to the fallselephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,347 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good hotel in the centre of town. We were there for several nights and on one of the nights a herd of elephants wandered into the property and started feasting on the lush green follage on the trees. What a sight.

The food and service is very good. Prices are a little on the high side but you would expect this in a tourist dominated town. The rooms are actually a level below the restaurant, bar and pool but all the rooms open up onto the grassed area.

This was our second time to Victoria Falls and the first time we stayed at the Victoria Falls Hotel which I believe is the best in town. Ilala is a close second.

It is a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the entrance of the falls. The street sellers are starting to get a little annoying but we must remember where we are. In Africa in a very poor country.

Victoria Falls is a bucket list place to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Ilala Lodge and pleased you chose to stay with us on your return to Victoria Falls. Wild animals are often seen on our front lawns due to the hotel bordering the National Parks. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope you will return again for your third trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Kingdom which was OK as it's a great location. But we enjoyed a wonderful, alfresco evening of fine dining at Ilala Lodge which is across the road from the Kingdom. The service, food, ambiance & company great - topped off when we called over to look down onto the lower grassed area to watch a hippo and cape buffalo grazing. And then there was the piano player - and guest who joined him spontaneously with a harmonica and gently entertained us. Thank you to the special staff member who invited us to enjoy this special experience.

Room Tip: I am sorry we didn't stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experiences at Ilala Lodge even though you never stayed with us. The wild animals on our front lawn are a great attraction as we border with the National parks. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner with is and hope that you stay at Ilala Lodge on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The rooms look out onto a grass field through double glass doors. You see lots of wildlife, even from the room. The rooms are fairly plain and clean, comfortable beds. Breakfast is very good. A nice bar opening out of doors. Monkeys jump among the chairs. Friendly staff and a good tour reservation group. The advertisements make it sound as if the falls are right next door. Yes, you can see the fog of the falls in the distance. You can walk to the falls, but don't do it casually since you pay a fairly large admission charge for every entry. You can walk easily into the town, which is almost a frontier type of town, with a few souvenir shops and a grocery store. A couple of good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room on the open space- maybe all the rooms have this feature.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Your review of Ilala Lodge is appreciated and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to one day welcome you back to Victoria Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We didnt stay here, but we came and had dinner at their restaurant on our last night in the Falls. The food was absolutley delicious! The best meal we had while in the falls, and we ate at Safari Lodge, The Boma and Mama Afrika. The service was great, and it has a lovely view if you sit outside. The Lamb Shank was to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Ilala Lodge in September and would highly recommend it to anyone. Clean, comfortable rooms, great location, amazing food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We planned to eat at a few different restaurants at Victoria Falls, but after eating at Ilala on the first night, we couldn't see any reason to go elsewhere! Breakfast was equally enjoyable. Being so close to the entrance to the park was a bonus. We hoped to drop in there regularly, but as you pay each time you enter ($30 each for Aussies), we soon gave that idea a miss! Still, we did go in for a sunrise and an afternoon viewing. Afternoon was by far the best ... at that time of year, there are many rainbows across the falls in the arvo .. quite spectacular. Should we return to Victoria Falls, we would definitely choose to stay once again at Ilala Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ilala Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Ilala Lodge. We do hope that you will return to the Victoria Falls area and look forward to welcoming you back to Ilala Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews